Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 10:37:42 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Two 5830 @ 280Mhash/s, can I get more out of it?  (Read 3324 times)
gyzer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 03:34:10 PM
 #1

I just got my XFX 5830 last night and got it in my rig. I underclocked the ram down to 500Mhz and overclocked the GPU from 800Mhz to 980Mhz. I was getting about 290 using GUIMiner with the flags -v -w 256 but I had some odd problems staying connected to BTCGuild while using it. I decided to try the phoenix miner for the first time.

My current settings with phoenix miner are the following:

-k poclbm DEVICE=0 VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=11

Are there any additional or different settings I can play with to get past 280Mhash/s?

The block chain is the main innovation of Bitcoin. It is the first distributed timestamping system.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480891062
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480891062

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480891062
Reply with quote  #2

1480891062
Report to moderator
1480891062
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480891062

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480891062
Reply with quote  #2

1480891062
Report to moderator
1480891062
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480891062

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480891062
Reply with quote  #2

1480891062
Report to moderator
Genrobo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 03:40:05 PM
 #2

I get 280Mh/s on my 5830 using only a 970 Mhz OC
poclbm with flags -v -w 128

I hear you're supposed to get more with Phoenix, so maybe you're doing something wrong.

Also, you could try mining in Linux, I hear that helps.

17YwW6cuSbXLT8cvvdAcfy1iHyPkhVE7CG
Donations welcome, not required.
I'll be honest, any donations aren't used for a good cause, they go directly to booze, food, herbal substances Wink, and computer hardware.
I will squander the money, but hell, at least you know one person is having a good time.
Freakin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 03:56:01 PM
 #3

Getting 295 out of my sapphire 5830 @ 981/327 on Slush using poclbm 4/28


-v VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=12 WORKSIZE=256
mitak64
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 236


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 03:57:04 PM
 #4

add "worksize=256" and maybe try "phatk" kernel
simplecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile WWW
June 03, 2011, 03:58:29 PM
 #5

You might get more out of a linux install running hashkill or phoenix. The difference is fairly negligible at this point though.

Donations: 1VjGJHPtLodwCFBDWsHJMdEhqRcRKdBQk
Freakin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 04:07:06 PM
 #6

yeah just finally switched to phoenix + phatk and now getting 307 out of my 5830 @ 990/330.

with identical flags as before
poclbm - 295
phatk - 307

dieselfury
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 04:29:00 PM
 #7

when i over-clock any of my 5830s i start have strange problems where it goes up to 270mh/s but then drops to like 15mh/s and goes back up...... and i look at afterburner and it scales back overclock way way down and then goes back up..... whats the deal? i did this on sapphires and xfx cards
innervisi0nn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Tutorials, guidelines, optimizations for all!


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 04:46:58 PM
 #8

975/300  (-v -w128 -f0) f0 really makes a 1% diff i think (not sure tho)

running GUIminer, getting 289 mhash/s I have four of these running Smiley

ne1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2011, 05:03:28 PM
 #9

Hi guys, I have a few saphire 5830s poclbm -v -w256 but only getting 222Mhash/s. Do you no of any good tutorials on overclocking/underclocking memory tutorials?  Also I know people are adjusting their fan speed, but I don't understand if they are raising the speed to increase cooling or lowering the fan speed to decrease power consumtion.  Any help would be much appreciated.

innervisi0nn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Tutorials, guidelines, optimizations for all!


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 05:07:29 PM
 #10

Hi guys, I have a few saphire 5830s poclbm -v -w256 but only getting 222Mhash/s. Do you no of any good tutorials on overclocking/underclocking memory tutorials?  Also I know people are adjusting their fan speed, but I don't understand if they are raising the speed to increase cooling or lowering the fan speed to decrease power consumtion.  Any help would be much appreciated.

Read my tutorial here:

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=10948.msg156921#msg156921

Drop your -w256 to -w128

If ts the sapphire card, you need to set it to 950 core clock/600 mem clock, i have my fan manually set to 80%

After you follow instructions and set what I just said above, close msi afterburner and reopen it.
Then drop your MEM clock to 330-340 (pref 340) and make sure you see no artifacts on your screen or buzzing anywhere.

You should get 288 mhash/s - just make sure to keep the card cool (hence why I have it at 80%
runs 64-68 celcius which is fine.

ne1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2011, 05:12:29 PM
 #11

Thanks innervisi0nn for the quick response.  I'm running linux.  Linuxcoin live to be specific.  Any advice?  What are you keeping your temps at?

innervisi0nn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Tutorials, guidelines, optimizations for all!


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 05:44:19 PM
 #12

Thanks innervisi0nn for the quick response.  I'm running linux.  Linuxcoin live to be specific.  Any advice?  What are you keeping your temps at?

Sorry not running Linux. I can keep 60 celcius if I have my home fan on it, if not, its about 65-68 celcius with stock fans + 2 extra 140mm fans at 80%

twitcoins
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 07:05:22 PM
 #13

I've got my 5830's up to about 320 Mhash/s each... That's around 1025/320 and 80% fan I think, no voltmods only RBE.  280 is right around where they are naturally stable, takes a fair bit of babysitting to get over 1000.
ne1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2011, 08:34:34 PM
 #14

thanks guys, I'm gonna dig into the RBE tutorial this weekend Smiley

Freakin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 08:38:32 PM
 #15

I've got my 5830's up to about 320 Mhash/s each... That's around 1025/320 and 80% fan I think, no voltmods only RBE.  280 is right around where they are naturally stable, takes a fair bit of babysitting to get over 1000.

That is quite impressive.  Glad you bumped you thread.

Going to try phatk any time soon?
ne1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2011, 09:23:17 PM
 #16

sorry for the noob questions, but can someone tell me what the "1025/320" numbers are and why lowering the memory clock would increase the hash speed?

Serge
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 09:30:21 PM
 #17

sorry for the noob questions, but can someone tell me what the "1025/320" numbers are and why lowering the memory clock would increase the hash speed?

thats 1025MHz gpu core clock and  320MHz mem clock. lower mem clock helps to keep temps down enabling to bump up core clock
ne1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2011, 09:39:12 PM
 #18

thank you so much for clearing that up.

innervisi0nn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Tutorials, guidelines, optimizations for all!


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 10:08:06 PM
 #19

I've got my 5830's up to about 320 Mhash/s each... That's around 1025/320 and 80% fan I think, no voltmods only RBE.  280 is right around where they are naturally stable, takes a fair bit of babysitting to get over 1000.

how hot are the cards running?

twitcoins
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 10:51:25 PM
 #20

Bottom one runs around 80c (hotter than I'd like, need to get a mobo that allows better spacing).  Top one hovers around 70c generally.  Am thinking of investing in an improved cooling / power / mobo solution rather than just a random desktop I had lying about.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!