Bitcoin Forum
April 21, 2014, 02:02:49 AM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Litecoin cpuminer config setup?  (Read 20943 times)
SleezyPet
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile

Ignore
October 07, 2012, 03:26:52 PM
 #1

So I am extremely new to all of this. I have done some research into mining and currently have my gpu mining for bitcoins. The only probably is it is a 680 and well, we all know nvidia cards simply aren't worth it.

So I wanted to try messing around with litecoin mining on my 5ghz 3930k. There seems to be very little "newb" help for setting this up. I have the latest version of cpuminer (2.2.3 64-bit for windows). I know I need to create some kind of config file but honestly I have no idea where to start.

I found this on the site of the pool I want to join. So I created this with all my info and put it in the same folder as the cpuminer...

Create a cfg.json like so:

{
        "_comment1" : "Any long-format command line argument ",
        "_comment2" : "may be used in this JSON configuration file",

        "url" : "http://ltc.kattare.com:9332/",
        "user" : "YOUR_USERNAME.1",
        "pass" : "x",
        "quiet" : true
}

So I did this (with my username and pass of course), but I am still receiving a "HTTP request failed" and "json_rpc_call failed" when trying to run the program.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
1398045769
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398045769

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398045769
Reply with quote  #2

1398045769
Report to moderator
Unbeatable Service & Product Support
Grab Your Miners at GAWMiners.com
Order Before April 25th to receive
Double your Hashing Power for 1 week!

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1398045769
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398045769

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398045769
Reply with quote  #2

1398045769
Report to moderator
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile

Ignore
October 11, 2012, 06:56:21 AM
 #2

getting same thing with two known different working pools

scrypt gui miner works but it only allows up to 8 threads

this one opens and says 12 threads started then gives the error:

json_rpc_call failed

Donations: 13qvP8vSEKPxLHXNPeHtCE4TGgZFaZU6am - LTC: LUN2zTCEVScDJxccZQujB9Aph8EFjn5M6q
CoinLenders cost me $5,000 - Know where your BTC are!
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527


View Profile

Ignore
October 11, 2012, 07:45:12 AM
 #3

So I created this with all my info and put it in the same folder as the cpuminer...

Create a cfg.json like so:
[...]

Did you tell cpuminer to use your configuration file?
Code:
./minerd -c cfg.json
(This is described in the --help output, by the way.)
If you don't specify arguments, cpuminer will just use the default connection settings, and will try to connect to localhost:9332 without credentials.

If that is not the problem, please post the full output given by minerd.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile

Ignore
October 11, 2012, 07:48:53 AM
 #4

So I created this with all my info and put it in the same folder as the cpuminer...

Create a cfg.json like so:
[...]

Did you tell cpuminer to use your configuration file?
Code:
./minerd -c cfg.json
(This is described in the --help output, by the way.)
If you don't specify arguments, cpuminer will just use the default connection settings, and will try to connect to localhost:9332 without credentials.

If that is not the problem, please post the full output given my minerd.

oh. thought the executable automatically loads it

i put a script with minerd -c cfg.json in the folder

now it crashes when i open it

EDIT: put the url and stuff in bat fine now its working but still around <70Khash/s

Donations: 13qvP8vSEKPxLHXNPeHtCE4TGgZFaZU6am - LTC: LUN2zTCEVScDJxccZQujB9Aph8EFjn5M6q
CoinLenders cost me $5,000 - Know where your BTC are!
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 16, 2012, 01:19:28 AM
 #5

Try the CPUMinerLTC easy launcher in my "BTC/LTC Newbie Tools for Windows" package: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=113707.0

Instructions are in the included "README".

BTC: 1ECB5zdaYfcXtSJoBXTcLMMj4vTzSjngH8 - LTC: LZBZoH4uEEv82p2BpxRgw6fvgEvCFXXN4x
BTE: 8LPsSFdzAmPQU1uFPSsG9UiRFzTgBQ4FU1 - BQC: bXSkxRq9tzFu5G9VrTfRcX6y1XH7W1wBPn
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile

Ignore
October 16, 2012, 06:22:22 AM
 #6

Try the CPUMinerLTC easy launcher in my "BTC/LTC Newbie Tools for Windows" package: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=113707.0

Instructions are in the included "README".

still seems difficult. i got cpu mining. now i want my gpu mining

Donations: 13qvP8vSEKPxLHXNPeHtCE4TGgZFaZU6am - LTC: LUN2zTCEVScDJxccZQujB9Aph8EFjn5M6q
CoinLenders cost me $5,000 - Know where your BTC are!
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 16, 2012, 06:31:47 AM
 #7

Try the CPUMinerLTC easy launcher in my "BTC/LTC Newbie Tools for Windows" package: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=113707.0

Instructions are in the included "README".

still seems difficult. i got cpu mining. now i want my gpu mining

Use the cgminerLTC.bat launcher in that same package. Instructions are in the "README" file.

BTC: 1ECB5zdaYfcXtSJoBXTcLMMj4vTzSjngH8 - LTC: LZBZoH4uEEv82p2BpxRgw6fvgEvCFXXN4x
BTE: 8LPsSFdzAmPQU1uFPSsG9UiRFzTgBQ4FU1 - BQC: bXSkxRq9tzFu5G9VrTfRcX6y1XH7W1wBPn
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile

Ignore
October 16, 2012, 06:40:29 AM
 #8

Try the CPUMinerLTC easy launcher in my "BTC/LTC Newbie Tools for Windows" package: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=113707.0

Instructions are in the included "README".

still seems difficult. i got cpu mining. now i want my gpu mining

Use the cgminerLTC.bat launcher in that same package. Instructions are in the "README" file.

my hashrate is very slow

Donations: 13qvP8vSEKPxLHXNPeHtCE4TGgZFaZU6am - LTC: LUN2zTCEVScDJxccZQujB9Aph8EFjn5M6q
CoinLenders cost me $5,000 - Know where your BTC are!
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 16, 2012, 06:42:32 AM
 #9

Try the CPUMinerLTC easy launcher in my "BTC/LTC Newbie Tools for Windows" package: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=113707.0

Instructions are in the included "README".

still seems difficult. i got cpu mining. now i want my gpu mining

Use the cgminerLTC.bat launcher in that same package. Instructions are in the "README" file.

my hashrate is very slow

what is your card?

BTC: 1ECB5zdaYfcXtSJoBXTcLMMj4vTzSjngH8 - LTC: LZBZoH4uEEv82p2BpxRgw6fvgEvCFXXN4x
BTE: 8LPsSFdzAmPQU1uFPSsG9UiRFzTgBQ4FU1 - BQC: bXSkxRq9tzFu5G9VrTfRcX6y1XH7W1wBPn
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile

Ignore
October 16, 2012, 06:50:00 AM
 #10

gtx 680

and of course it crashes when i close it

Donations: 13qvP8vSEKPxLHXNPeHtCE4TGgZFaZU6am - LTC: LUN2zTCEVScDJxccZQujB9Aph8EFjn5M6q
CoinLenders cost me $5,000 - Know where your BTC are!
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 16, 2012, 06:55:57 AM
 #11

gtx 680

Nvidia's aren't very good for mining. I don't know what a gtx 680 is supposed to get on litecoin but I wouldn't expect more than about 80 KH/s from it at peak performance.

You can adjust the intensity in the .bat file, simply edit it with notepad and change the intensity to a higher number up to 10.

Also change the gpu-threads value, try 1, 2 and 4 - see which works best.

BTC: 1ECB5zdaYfcXtSJoBXTcLMMj4vTzSjngH8 - LTC: LZBZoH4uEEv82p2BpxRgw6fvgEvCFXXN4x
BTE: 8LPsSFdzAmPQU1uFPSsG9UiRFzTgBQ4FU1 - BQC: bXSkxRq9tzFu5G9VrTfRcX6y1XH7W1wBPn
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile

Ignore
October 16, 2012, 07:31:36 AM
 #12

gtx 680

Nvidia's aren't very good for mining. I don't know what a gtx 680 is supposed to get on litecoin but I wouldn't expect more than about 80 KH/s from it at peak performance.

You can adjust the intensity in the .bat file, simply edit it with notepad and change the intensity to a higher number up to 10.

Also change the gpu-threads value, try 1, 2 and 4 - see which works best.

4 threads dont help

Donations: 13qvP8vSEKPxLHXNPeHtCE4TGgZFaZU6am - LTC: LUN2zTCEVScDJxccZQujB9Aph8EFjn5M6q
CoinLenders cost me $5,000 - Know where your BTC are!
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 16, 2012, 07:42:30 AM
 #13

gtx 680

Nvidia's aren't very good for mining. I don't know what a gtx 680 is supposed to get on litecoin but I wouldn't expect more than about 80 KH/s from it at peak performance.

You can adjust the intensity in the .bat file, simply edit it with notepad and change the intensity to a higher number up to 10.

Also change the gpu-threads value, try 1, 2 and 4 - see which works best.

4 threads dont help

Then try 1 or 2 and use the one that works best.

BTC: 1ECB5zdaYfcXtSJoBXTcLMMj4vTzSjngH8 - LTC: LZBZoH4uEEv82p2BpxRgw6fvgEvCFXXN4x
BTE: 8LPsSFdzAmPQU1uFPSsG9UiRFzTgBQ4FU1 - BQC: bXSkxRq9tzFu5G9VrTfRcX6y1XH7W1wBPn
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 16, 2012, 07:44:54 AM
 #14

Also, try setting the thread-concurrency to 1536 and increase in multiples of 1536 (3072, 4608, etc...) until you find which value works best for you.

BTC: 1ECB5zdaYfcXtSJoBXTcLMMj4vTzSjngH8 - LTC: LZBZoH4uEEv82p2BpxRgw6fvgEvCFXXN4x
BTE: 8LPsSFdzAmPQU1uFPSsG9UiRFzTgBQ4FU1 - BQC: bXSkxRq9tzFu5G9VrTfRcX6y1XH7W1wBPn
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile

Ignore
October 16, 2012, 07:48:39 AM
 #15

Also, try setting the thread-concurrency to 1536 and increase in multiples of 1536 (3072, 4608, etc...) until you find which value works best for you.

still about 10Khash

Donations: 13qvP8vSEKPxLHXNPeHtCE4TGgZFaZU6am - LTC: LUN2zTCEVScDJxccZQujB9Aph8EFjn5M6q
CoinLenders cost me $5,000 - Know where your BTC are!
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 16, 2012, 07:51:05 AM
 #16

Also, try setting the thread-concurrency to 1536 and increase in multiples of 1536 (3072, 4608, etc...) until you find which value works best for you.

still about 10Khash

I'm going to go out on a limb here and venture a guess that you are trolling me. Surely a Hero Member has been around long enough to know how to work cgminer and knows that the gtx 680 isn't going to be all that great for mining...

BTC: 1ECB5zdaYfcXtSJoBXTcLMMj4vTzSjngH8 - LTC: LZBZoH4uEEv82p2BpxRgw6fvgEvCFXXN4x
BTE: 8LPsSFdzAmPQU1uFPSsG9UiRFzTgBQ4FU1 - BQC: bXSkxRq9tzFu5G9VrTfRcX6y1XH7W1wBPn
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile

Ignore
October 16, 2012, 08:11:04 AM
 #17

Also, try setting the thread-concurrency to 1536 and increase in multiples of 1536 (3072, 4608, etc...) until you find which value works best for you.

still about 10Khash

I'm going to go out on a limb here and venture a guess that you are trolling me. Surely a Hero Member has been around long enough to know how to work cgminer and knows that the gtx 680 isn't going to be all that great for mining...

680 92khash/s
https://github.com/litecoin-project/litecoin/wiki/Mining-hardware-comparison

Donations: 13qvP8vSEKPxLHXNPeHtCE4TGgZFaZU6am - LTC: LUN2zTCEVScDJxccZQujB9Aph8EFjn5M6q
CoinLenders cost me $5,000 - Know where your BTC are!
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 16, 2012, 08:19:34 AM
 #18

Also, try setting the thread-concurrency to 1536 and increase in multiples of 1536 (3072, 4608, etc...) until you find which value works best for you.

still about 10Khash

I'm going to go out on a limb here and venture a guess that you are trolling me. Surely a Hero Member has been around long enough to know how to work cgminer and knows that the gtx 680 isn't going to be all that great for mining...

680 92khash/s
https://github.com/litecoin-project/litecoin/wiki/Mining-hardware-comparison

Ok, try adding "-w 256" and change the thread-concurrency to 8192

BTC: 1ECB5zdaYfcXtSJoBXTcLMMj4vTzSjngH8 - LTC: LZBZoH4uEEv82p2BpxRgw6fvgEvCFXXN4x
BTE: 8LPsSFdzAmPQU1uFPSsG9UiRFzTgBQ4FU1 - BQC: bXSkxRq9tzFu5G9VrTfRcX6y1XH7W1wBPn
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile

Ignore
October 16, 2012, 08:20:56 AM
 #19

hey i got it. getting 84khash which is same as my cpu was getting

Donations: 13qvP8vSEKPxLHXNPeHtCE4TGgZFaZU6am - LTC: LUN2zTCEVScDJxccZQujB9Aph8EFjn5M6q
CoinLenders cost me $5,000 - Know where your BTC are!
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 16, 2012, 08:24:46 AM
 #20

hey i got it. getting 84khash which is same as my cpu was getting

Was it the -w 256 and thread concurrency of 8192 that did it for you?

BTC: 1ECB5zdaYfcXtSJoBXTcLMMj4vTzSjngH8 - LTC: LZBZoH4uEEv82p2BpxRgw6fvgEvCFXXN4x
BTE: 8LPsSFdzAmPQU1uFPSsG9UiRFzTgBQ4FU1 - BQC: bXSkxRq9tzFu5G9VrTfRcX6y1XH7W1wBPn
Pages: [1] 2  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!