Bitcoin Forum
April 28, 2017, 06:12:18 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Dummy plugs in win7?  (Read 1051 times)
enmaku
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
June 03, 2011, 06:12:22 PM
 #1

I've been mining on a few PCs around the house, but so far every GPU I've mined on actually has a monitor plugged into it. I just got a third video card for my quad-PCIe motherboard but don't have a third monitor. Are dummy plugs required on Win7 with the latest CCC/OpenCL/Drivers? They seem easy enough to build, I just want to know if I should plan for a trip to Radio Shack before my new card arrives.

Thanks!

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493403138
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493403138

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493403138
Reply with quote  #2

1493403138
Report to moderator
1493403138
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493403138

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493403138
Reply with quote  #2

1493403138
Report to moderator
1493403138
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493403138

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493403138
Reply with quote  #2

1493403138
Report to moderator
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 06:22:43 PM
 #2

Yes
http://www.overclock.net/folding-home-guides-tutorials/384733-30-second-dummy-plug.html
enmaku
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
June 03, 2011, 06:30:26 PM
 #3

Yeah, that's the same guide I was looking at and it all seems simple enough. I guess I'll make my Radio Shack trip on the way home then.

mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 06:45:49 PM
 #4

You can also do it with one 75 ohm resistor
http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=11
enmaku
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
June 03, 2011, 06:48:38 PM
 #5

Very nice! Still I think I'd rather whip together a dummy plug than insert leads directly into my card. At least if I break a wire off in the dummy plug it's only a $5 adapter I've ruined  Grin

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!