Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 07:27:40 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 6990 rig setup help (b)  (Read 1120 times)
Sjalq
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2011, 07:33:22 PM
 #1

I have a 1200W CoolerMaster gold. This thing emits enough power to run support hardware and 3x6990s (Club 3Ds). Problem is the cables do not match with the graphics hardware PCI-e connectors. The PSU has 4xPCI-e 6+2 connectors and 2xPCI-e 6 connectors. The cards have 2xPCI-e 6+2 connectors each. So now I can power 2 cards, but not the 3rd one...

Does anyone know whether the cards can run on one PCI-e 6+2 connector and one PCI-e 6 connector like normal cards seem to?

Cheesy mine mine mine mine mine mine mine Cheesy
*Image Removed*
18WMxaHsxx6FuvbQbeA33UZud1bnmD7xY3
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481311660
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481311660

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481311660
Reply with quote  #2

1481311660
Report to moderator
1481311660
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481311660

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481311660
Reply with quote  #2

1481311660
Report to moderator
kloinko1n
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 10:01:30 AM
 #2

This thing emits enough power to run support hardware and 3x6990s (Club 3Ds).

I dare to disagree with you on that.
Or, at least I have some serious doubts.
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
June 04, 2011, 10:07:28 AM
 #3

Use a molex to 8 pin adapter or a 8 pin to 6 pin converter and a molex to 8 pin..

NetTecture
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 10:10:33 AM
 #4

This thing emits enough power to run support hardware and 3x6990s (Club 3Ds).

I dare to disagree with you on that.
Or, at least I have some serious doubts.

He does what I do.... try to mimic the 3x6990 setup from https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_rig#Three_ATI_6990s,_Approximately_2.1_Ghash/s

It says 1200w Wink And 3x6990 Wink
Maxxx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
June 04, 2011, 10:26:52 AM
 #5

This thing emits enough power to run support hardware and 3x6990s (Club 3Ds).

I dare to disagree with you on that.
Or, at least I have some serious doubts.

He does what I do.... try to mimic the 3x6990 setup from https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_rig#Three_ATI_6990s,_Approximately_2.1_Ghash/s

It says 1200w Wink And 3x6990 Wink

Have you got yours running yet or still ordering?

Time is money. This means that if you have spare time, you can use it to make money.

Modular, open, and stack-able miner case.
NetTecture
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 10:46:49 AM
 #6

This thing emits enough power to run support hardware and 3x6990s (Club 3Ds).

I dare to disagree with you on that.
Or, at least I have some serious doubts.

He does what I do.... try to mimic the 3x6990 setup from https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_rig#Three_ATI_6990s,_Approximately_2.1_Ghash/s

It says 1200w Wink And 3x6990 Wink

Have you got yours running yet or still ordering?

Currently getting quotes and asking wild here - if I get the stuff sorted out, I would order next week, put it in poduction after the following weekend (because I bet some parts do not arrive till end of the week). Would be 1 of x Wink
Sjalq
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2011, 09:13:18 PM
 #7

Well I am learning a lot. Feels like I'm 14 again Cheesy

I also have my doubts if the power supply will supply a 3rd card now, but we'll test and see, maybe have them all under-perform until we can source more juice.

Great fun this mining business!


Cheesy mine mine mine mine mine mine mine Cheesy
*Image Removed*
18WMxaHsxx6FuvbQbeA33UZud1bnmD7xY3
NetTecture
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 09:22:43 PM
 #8

Actually it should. Going through some other posts it looks like people get the cards down quite a lot pwoer wise by selectively tuning the frequencies.

Moving memory to 300mhz seems to be recommended with people saying cards run around 65 degree centigradem, and IIRC i read somewhere someone said fans at 30% Wink - this indicates the card may run hot on a point (the processors) but memory and shader units are not busy at all... which makes sense Wink
bcpokey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 09:34:43 PM
 #9

Even without downclocking memory a 1200W is enough to power 3x 6990s, though it is pushing the envelope a little bit. 6990s use ~375Watts per card (300 from 2x 8pin and 75 from PCI-E slot). That's 1125Watts max to be within ATX specifications. In reality they pull less but anyway I digress.

To power 3 6990s you will have to get an 8-pin adapter cable. 8Pin PCIE cables supply 150Watts, 6Pin 75, so do not simply try to plug a 6 pin into the 8pin socket. There are 2 extra ground cables iirc in the 8pin.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!