Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:26:18 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: MotherBoard pci-e 1x  (Read 1320 times)
sanchaz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 12:47:59 AM
 #1

Will i be able to fit 3 5850 on this motherboard?
I think i can fit 2 but i dont know about a third since the two pci-e 1x are next to each other.
what do u think?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813121517&cm_re=lga_775-_-13-121-517-_-Product

Anonymous Cash-By-Mail Exchange: https://www.bitcoin2cash.com
1481228778
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481228778

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481228778
Reply with quote  #2

1481228778
Report to moderator
1481228778
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481228778

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481228778
Reply with quote  #2

1481228778
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 12:54:09 AM
 #2

Only with extenders. http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
And make sure that motherboard is capable of initializing x16 on a x1 slot
michaelmclees
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 629


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 01:30:02 AM
 #3

I have a board with a 1x slot like that and it refuses to see the card, even when I have only one card in that slot.  The fan spins, but no video and no windows recognition of it.  How do I find out if the slot, with my riser, is compatible with a 5850?
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 01:38:08 AM
 #4

michaelmclees, it's usually in the manufacture's specification.

On some motherboards pcie x16 and x1 share bandwidth and once you plug something into pcie x16, x1 gets disconnected, but in your case I'd bet the problem is elsewhere. If you you plug only one card in x1 and it doesn't get detected it is probably because you need to short A1 and B17 Pins to trick "Presence Detection". Read about it here http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=42
michaelmclees
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 629


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 01:04:40 PM
 #5

Hmm... I tried that shorting solution last night with no effect.  Although it's difficult to tell if the wire is actuall touching the metal correctly...  Hmm...  Might need to just ask Asus.  I never would have figured that putting in two cards on the 16x slot would disable my 1x slot.
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 01:12:15 PM
 #6

You can test it if you remove the cards from x16 and leave only the one in x1. It should boot up ok.
The same happened to me - got few cards to add as third cards to my rigs, but found out that it's not possible. Oh well - more computers on the way..  Smiley
michaelmclees
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 629


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 02:08:17 PM
 #7

See, even if I only run 1 card out of the 1x slot, Windows still won't see it.  It's driving me mad.

I'm halfway tempted to attempt to trade my two 5850's for something more substantial, so I can run only 2 cards in slots that I know work.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!