Bitcoin Forum
December 16, 2017, 09:39:50 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: BFL 60 on Rasberry Pi?  (Read 924 times)
tipex
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13



View Profile
October 12, 2012, 05:30:49 PM
 #1

Would anyone know how many, if any, 60s you could run on a Rasberry Pi?  Have a few and would be great if it was possible.

“We don’t stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.”

- George Bernard Shaw
1513460390
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513460390

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513460390
Reply with quote  #2

1513460390
Report to moderator
1513460390
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513460390

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513460390
Reply with quote  #2

1513460390
Report to moderator
1513460390
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513460390

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513460390
Reply with quote  #2

1513460390
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
zomnut
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
October 12, 2012, 06:22:03 PM
 #2

If power is your concern, get a powered USB hub. The USB bus would likely max out before CPU was an issue.
tbcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994



View Profile WWW
October 13, 2012, 03:18:39 AM
 #3

If power is your concern, get a powered USB hub. The USB bus would likely max out before CPU was an issue.

Single SC (60Gh) has its own power supply.

About USB device limit see this: http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=13858

Sorry for my bad english Wink
Bitcoin card for deposit and payment + Little POS
Donations:1N65efiNUhH6sEQg7Z6oUC76kJS9Yhevyf
gdbutler
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
October 13, 2012, 06:07:06 AM
 #4

First I have heard of a Raspberry Pi. Very Cool! Guess I have been out of the nerd loop for a couple of years.... easing my way back in.
WaterTrooper
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60

LOOKCOIN


View Profile
October 13, 2012, 06:08:56 AM
 #5

I'm going to do the same thing but with the android one. Its has a case and cords already for only $50.
frograven
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
October 13, 2012, 06:56:07 AM
 #6

I have a raspberry pi and it is a great bit of gear - but one limitation to work with is its somewhat underpowered USB implementation, due to it itself being powered from a USB power supply. This makes it sensitive with which USB devices work with it. Raspberry pi forums discussions on power supply quality, compatible devices, which powered hubs play well with it, are worth further reading.
RaTTuS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 781


Bite me


View Profile
October 13, 2012, 07:03:17 AM
 #7

a Raspberry should be fine...
powered hubs are teh way to go
if your going to buy one get from element14 / farnell not RS / allied as the former has good stocks and the latter are having distributional problems

In the Beginning there was CPU , then GPU , then FPGA then ASIC, what next I hear to ask ....

1RaTTuSEN7jJUDiW1EGogHwtek7g9BiEn
Fcx35x10
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
October 13, 2012, 07:09:20 AM
 #8

i'm planning on ordering off element 14 Smiley
tipex
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13



View Profile
October 13, 2012, 07:26:54 AM
 #9

Thanks for all the great advice.  Have one from RT but will be needing a few more as we are planning to get 10 60's.  Just trying to work out how many devices we will need to run the from.

Watertrooper -  where are you getting the android ones from, havent seen them around... will definitely look into that.


“We don’t stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.”

- George Bernard Shaw
thatbluedude
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 193


View Profile
October 13, 2012, 11:10:34 AM
 #10

according to a bfl email I recieved some days ago the SCs will use common miners like CGMiner or
BFGMiner, but BFL have not tested if the mining software runs on ARM themselves so you won't get a compiled version from bfl as it seems
zeb00
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
October 13, 2012, 01:32:24 PM
 #11

i'm planning on ordering off element 14 Smiley

I still type farnell every time  Roll Eyes

make sure you get a decent power supply a lot of phone chargers are only 500ma but it is not hard to find a 1A one as long as you know that is what you are looking for.
tipex
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13



View Profile
October 13, 2012, 01:56:40 PM
 #12

So no standard miners that would run on Pi's?  And for android?  I am sure if there is not one yet, there will be someone working on it, makes more sense than running them from PCs no?

Have one 1A but thanks for reminding me, will definitely need to a few more  Cool

“We don’t stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.”

- George Bernard Shaw
thatbluedude
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 193


View Profile
October 13, 2012, 03:34:00 PM
 #13

So no standard miners that would run on Pi's? 
well there is at least one youtube video about a rhaspberry pi used for fpga mining, but as I mentioned you might have to compile the miner from sourcecode yourself
RaTTuS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 781


Bite me


View Profile
October 16, 2012, 07:10:21 AM
 #14

re raspberry PI's
they now ship with 512Mb RAM

In the Beginning there was CPU , then GPU , then FPGA then ASIC, what next I hear to ask ....

1RaTTuSEN7jJUDiW1EGogHwtek7g9BiEn
HolyScott
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178



View Profile
October 17, 2012, 09:09:13 PM
 #15

I love my raspberry pi running a Single FPGA.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!