Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2019, 05:05:04 PM *
News: 10th anniversary art contest
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Setting up bitcoin to run over tor?  (Read 1743 times)
bitthrow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 04:28:54 AM
 #1

Hi,

I'm trying to understand how to configure Bitcoin to run over Tor but I am not having any luck, or I don't think I am.  I check the Wiki and couldn't get a definitive answer.

I have the app to run on 127.0.0.1 port 9050 but I do not see traffic on my Tor bandwidth monitor when connected.  Yes, Tor says there are two connections, but where am I connecting?  How can I verify this is via Tor?

Thanks.
1571850304
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571850304

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571850304
Reply with quote  #2

1571850304
Report to moderator
1571850304
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571850304

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571850304
Reply with quote  #2

1571850304
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1bitc0inplz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 04:42:25 AM
 #2

Does your bitcoin client have connections?

Connecting like you are over Tor is simply routing your TCP/IP traffic out to some random place in the world. When it pops out, you are still connecting to IRC like everyone else. The bitcoin client is unaware it's being routed over Tor.

Mine @ http://pool.bitp.it - No fees, virtually 0 stales, what's not to love!
Chat with us @ #bitp.it on irc.freenode.net
Learn more about our pool @ http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=12181.0
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!