Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 06:43:31 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Two clients giving different getdifficulty values  (Read 1012 times)
martok
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 04:53:29 AM
 #1

Hi,

I have one client getdifficulty reading 434882 and another (git) at 434877. Gribble thinks 434882 is correct but why the divergent readings?
1480747411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747411
Reply with quote  #2

1480747411
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480747411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747411
Reply with quote  #2

1480747411
Report to moderator
1480747411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747411
Reply with quote  #2

1480747411
Report to moderator
1480747411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747411
Reply with quote  #2

1480747411
Report to moderator
max in montreal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 04:56:21 AM
 #2

http://www.alloscomp.com/bitcoin/calculator.php
max in montreal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 04:56:57 AM
 #3

434882.72175
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 04:59:54 AM
 #4

Those difficulty numbers are never used internally by the network: they are only used as an easy way of expressing the current difficulty. How it is derived from the actual "difficulty" (a very large target number) varies by version.

If two sources give you difficulty numbers within 100 or so, they probably refer to the same difficulty.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
Pieter Wuille
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2011, 10:11:23 AM
 #5

There was a rounding error in the way the old difficulty was calculated, the one calculated by git head is actually more correct.

And indeed, it's only converted to a floating-point number for showing it to the user - internally it's all integers, where nothing was changed.

aka sipa, core dev team

Tips and donations: 1KwDYMJMS4xq3ZEWYfdBRwYG2fHwhZsipa
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!