Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 01:33:57 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mt Gox and Google Authenticator?  (Read 1186 times)
RyanRed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
October 15, 2012, 04:32:47 PM
 #1

Can you pair Google Authenticator with Mt Gox's 2 form security? I tried scanning the QR code, and it never would accept it. Just kept searching for the displayed code.

I've setup Blockchain, and a few other things with Google Authenticator just last night with no issue at all, and the android tablet im using is brand new. Bought it yesterday.

Any incite would be very helpful! Thanks!

-Ryan
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513560837
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513560837

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513560837
Reply with quote  #2

1513560837
Report to moderator
1513560837
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513560837

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513560837
Reply with quote  #2

1513560837
Report to moderator
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


✪ NEXCHANGE | BTC, LTC, ETH & DOGE ✪


View Profile
October 15, 2012, 05:26:38 PM
 #2

Any incite would be very helpful! Thanks!

Does the display show a reflection from overhead track lighting or some kind of problem like that?

Also which app are you using to do the scan? Barcode Scanner 4.3.1 from ZXing does a pretty good job even in low light or poor focus conditions.

RyanRed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
October 15, 2012, 09:41:00 PM
 #3

It's barcode scanner. I'm pretty new to tablets in genreal. This is the first one I've ever owned . I tried  lighting the room up more but that didn't help. I'll keep trying Smiley. The main thing I wanted was just to make sure Google authentication was able to be used.. but yeah.. not sure what the deal is.
RyanRed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
October 15, 2012, 09:45:47 PM
 #4

Also no reflection that I can tell. It just keeps searching for it even though it's in the window frame.  I notice 3 flashing yellow dots on the corners of the qr code, but it never accepts it  I'm stumped lol 
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


✪ NEXCHANGE | BTC, LTC, ETH & DOGE ✪


View Profile
October 15, 2012, 09:57:06 PM
 #5

I notice 3 flashing yellow dots on the corners of the qr code, but it never accepts it  I'm stumped lol 

I think that's normally a focus and/or lighting problem.    Is the screen display opaque?   Perhaps try printing it out and scanning?

I believe you can upload the QR code here, to test and make sure the problem is not with the code itself.
 - http://www.onlinebarcodereader.com/
(Just don't use that code ...  treat it as having been compromised after.)

RyanRed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
October 15, 2012, 10:23:03 PM
 #6

I appreciate you taking the time to offer advice for sure, but I just ended up adding the code in manually. It worked, and is all setup now Smiley I would guess its something with the QR code being generated because I scanned everything else just fine. Blockchain, Google account, Dropbox, etc all had no issue at all. Heck, I barley had to even hold the view finder frame on those other qr codes for more than half a second, and it picked them right up. But who knows.. lol Smiley But yeah, I gave in and just did it manually. All set! I also made a physical copy of the manual code I entered for my records in case anything ever were to happen to this tablet. it gets stolen, breaks, whatever. Don't want be locked out of MT Gox if that were to happen Smiley

Again, I do appreciate you trying to help though! Cheesy

-Ryan
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


✪ NEXCHANGE | BTC, LTC, ETH & DOGE ✪


View Profile
October 16, 2012, 03:34:28 AM
 #7

I just ended up adding the code in manually. It worked,

Great to hear.

I also made a physical copy of the manual code I entered for my records in case anything ever were to happen to this tablet. it gets stolen, breaks, whatever. Don't want be locked out of MT Gox if that were to happen Smiley

That is an often overlooked step of setting up OTP.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!