Bitcoin Forum
January 24, 2017, 01:04:42 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Checking if a transaction is going to require the 0.01BTC transaction fee.  (Read 984 times)
dgamer5000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 07:29:05 AM
 #1

There doesn't seem to be an API Call that can do this. At least, I can't find one. Yet, the bitcoin client is able to do it. Any idea how I can do it?
1485219882
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485219882

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485219882
Reply with quote  #2

1485219882
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1485219882
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485219882

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485219882
Reply with quote  #2

1485219882
Report to moderator
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 07:41:00 AM
 #2

The selected coins are randomized with each send, so an estimate wouldn't be entirely reliable. Someone recently published a patch that added "prepared" transactions, though.

Generally, if you're sending more than a few BTC and the amount you're sending is much less than the total amount of BTC in your wallet, there will be no required fee.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
Gavin Andresen
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652


Chief Scientist


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2011, 10:58:57 AM
 #3

What theymos said.  There's another thread about this, too, and I'll ask here what I asked there:  what is the use case for an 'estimate transaction fee' function? What if the estimate is wrong, what would your application do?

How often do you get the chance to work on a potentially world-changing project?
Pieter Wuille
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2011, 11:03:40 AM
 #4

See the 3rd commit here: https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/pull/289

It introduces RPC calls to prepare a transaction, inspect it, and then choose to send or cancel it.

aka sipa, core dev team

Tips and donations: 1KwDYMJMS4xq3ZEWYfdBRwYG2fHwhZsipa
Dude65535
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 01:49:50 PM
 #5

The estimate being wrong would not be a big problem if there were a way to resend an existing transaction with a fee (or a bigger fee) attached. For the gui I would think the right place for such a command would either be right clicking the 0 confirmation transaction or in the window brought up by double clicking the transaction.

1DCj8ZwGZXQqQhgv6eUEnWgsxo8BTMj3mT
redshark1802
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 03:18:16 PM
 #6

Wouldn't it be possible to send X and the client automatically calculates the fees(Y) for it?
Resulting in X(new) = X(old)-Y?

regards, redshark1802

If the post above is something worth to you, please consider donating Wink.
1HYek9jXvbMDYyYwN7rxy9i3oDWgCYhATx
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!