Bitcoin Forum
October 22, 2017, 03:50:34 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: my system's are 1.6kwh?!  (Read 2275 times)
ddd1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
October 17, 2012, 03:33:31 PM
 #1

I got my usual electricity bill and found a slight shock that my powerconsumption for 1 aug 2012 - 1 sep 2012 was 1330 kWh and 1 sep 2012 - 1 okt 2012 1138 kWh.

I'm using 200kwh/month for non mining related costs, so basicaly during augusth my mining rigs where: 1330 -200 = 1130kwh.
1130kwh/30/24 = 1.57kw each hour.

I used to have this setup:
Rig 1: Aircooled tripple(3) AMD 7950 clocked at 1055core/625memory 1093mv, powerusage was 660w at wall using kill-a-watt
Rig 2: Watercooled double(2) AMD 7950 clocked at 1100core/800memory 1100mv/1168mv, I need to find logged data but according my electricity bill this amounts to 500w(?)
Rig 3: Watercooled single(1) AMD 7970 clocked at 1268core/1000memory 1243mv, I need to find logged data but according my electricity bill this amount to 400w(?)

I guess it's possible that my Rig 2 and Rig 3 used together 900w considering the overvolts?
1508687434
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508687434

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508687434
Reply with quote  #2

1508687434
Report to moderator
1508687434
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508687434

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508687434
Reply with quote  #2

1508687434
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
MiningBuddy
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 935


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
October 17, 2012, 03:43:40 PM
 #2

Sounds about right.

joshv06
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 743


View Profile
October 17, 2012, 04:08:58 PM
 #3

My Quad 7970 watercooled Rig uses 1KWh, memory at 170, core at 1160, stock clocks. Here's a video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n-A_NlkGvbM

You should invest in a Kill-A-Watt


 
         ▄▄█████████▄▄
      ▄█████████████████▄
   ▄████▀            ▀████▄
  █████                █████▄
 ███████████████████████████▄
████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███▄
████        ██████        ████
████        ██████        ████
████        ██████        ████
████        ██████        ████
 ████▄      ██████      ▄████
  ▀████     ██████    ▄████▀
    ▀████▄▄▄██████▄▄▄████▀
      ▀▀██████████████▀▀
TIDEX



crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
October 17, 2012, 04:14:00 PM
 #4

Overclocking to the max rarely gets you the most profits. Usually some minor undervolting is in order. On my single 7970 (air cooled) gaming comp, underclocking the RAM and going from 1200MHz @ 1250mV to 1050MHz @ 1050mV can be the difference of 380W down to 245W. I get ~90% of the hashrate for ~65% of the power cost.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
aqrulesms
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301


Autonio token sale starts September 22


View Profile
October 17, 2012, 05:23:20 PM
 #5

That should be fine.  My rig consumes 400W at the wall which means it consumes around 288 kW per month.

|
   
 
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░█████░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░███████░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░█████████░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░███████████░░░░░░░
░░░░░░█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░███░░░░░░░░░███░░░░
░░░█████░░░░░░░█████░░░
░░███████░░░░░███████░░
█████████░░░█████████
██████████████████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
AUTONIO
   
   
 
   
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

WEBSITE / WHITEPAPER
TWITTER / FACEBOOK / ANN

▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

|
ddd1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
October 17, 2012, 05:37:37 PM
 #6

Well I guess in december none of this matters Smiley
Jack1Rip1BurnIt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Trust me, these default swaps will limit the risks


View Profile
October 17, 2012, 07:11:47 PM
 #7

Crazyates is right about underclocking your memory. If you just use MSI afterburner to underclock them to around at least the 300 mhz range you should see a decent drop in heat and power, and you really shouldn't see a noticeable drop in hashrate.

Successful trades with bels, misterbigg, ChrisNelson, shackleford, geniusboy91, and Isokivi.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
October 17, 2012, 07:18:05 PM
 #8

Crazyates is right about underclocking your memory. If you just use MSI afterburner to underclock them to around at least the 300 mhz range you should see a decent drop in heat and power, and you really shouldn't see a noticeable drop in hashrate.
I actually see an increase in hashrate dropping my memory down. I keep it ~410. Too low, and it starts hurting performance. Idk how people run it in the 160 ranges.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
jojo69
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 826


no FOMO


View Profile
October 17, 2012, 07:20:22 PM
 #9

what?  you mean this lunch is not free?

This is not some pseudoeconomic post-modern Libertarian cult, it's an un-led, crowd-sourced mega startup organized around mutual self-interest where problems, whether of the theoretical or purely practical variety, are treated as temporary and, ultimately, solvable.
Censorship of e-gold was easy. Censorship of Bitcoin will be… entertaining.
JinTu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 133



View Profile
October 17, 2012, 10:03:54 PM
 #10

Crazyates is right about underclocking your memory. If you just use MSI afterburner to underclock them to around at least the 300 mhz range you should see a decent drop in heat and power, and you really shouldn't see a noticeable drop in hashrate.
I actually see an increase in hashrate dropping my memory down. I keep it ~410. Too low, and it starts hurting performance. Idk how people run it in the 160 ranges.

I saw the same thing with my 6990 rig. Dropping the memory down to 150 made a huge difference in power consumption. I second the comment about using a Kill-A-Watt or equivalent. Being able to see the power usage in real-time will help you to tune your system to maximize profit. I went a little overboard with this for my setup (using the iMeter), but it really fills in some gaps to tell how your rigs are doing:



Gatorhex
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
October 17, 2012, 10:41:55 PM
 #11

Like others said, sounds about right.

A useful bitcoin profit calculator
http://bitcoinx.com/profit/
.
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
November 20, 2012, 08:16:31 AM
 #12

Hehe, I love these people that are shocked that these insanely high power use computer components running 24x7 are actually using a lot of power.

Welcome to the party. Smiley
michaelmclees
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 629


View Profile
November 20, 2012, 01:42:58 PM
 #13

Exactly. "Help, my money making super computer costs money to run!"
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile
November 20, 2012, 02:33:28 PM
 #14

I got my usual electricity bill and found a slight shock that my powerconsumption for 1 aug 2012 - 1 sep 2012 was 1330 kWh and 1 sep 2012 - 1 okt 2012 1138 kWh.

I'm using 200kwh/month for non mining related costs, so basicaly during augusth my mining rigs where: 1330 -200 = 1130kwh.
1130kwh/30/24 = 1.57kw each hour.

I used to have this setup:
Rig 1: Aircooled tripple(3) AMD 7950 clocked at 1055core/625memory 1093mv, powerusage was 660w at wall using kill-a-watt
Rig 2: Watercooled double(2) AMD 7950 clocked at 1100core/800memory 1100mv/1168mv, I need to find logged data but according my electricity bill this amounts to 500w(?)
Rig 3: Watercooled single(1) AMD 7970 clocked at 1268core/1000memory 1243mv, I need to find logged data but according my electricity bill this amount to 400w(?)

I guess it's possible that my Rig 2 and Rig 3 used together 900w considering the overvolts?

Get yourself one of these:

http://www.amazon.com/P3-International-P4400-Electricity-Monitor/dp/B00009MDBU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1353421948&sr=8-1&keywords=killawatt

Jack1Rip1BurnIt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Trust me, these default swaps will limit the risks


View Profile
November 20, 2012, 05:01:15 PM
 #15


That link showed a pic of a burned up looking wattmeter, is that for real? Would someone really buy one looking like that?

Successful trades with bels, misterbigg, ChrisNelson, shackleford, geniusboy91, and Isokivi.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
November 20, 2012, 05:09:21 PM
 #16

That link showed a pic of a burned up looking wattmeter, is that for real? Would someone really buy one looking like that?
Haha you don't need to buy that one. Those little buggers are actually pretty popular, and quite reliable.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Buffer Overflow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652



View Profile
November 20, 2012, 05:15:36 PM
 #17

You can pick up cheap second-hand electric meters from eBay. Modern or the old mechanical ones with the spinning disc. You'll tell exactly how much your consuming then.

Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
November 20, 2012, 05:26:51 PM
 #18

You can pick up cheap second-hand electric meters from eBay. Modern or the old mechanical ones with the spinning disc. You'll tell exactly how much your consuming then.

Cheap second hand and electric meters are two phrases that might as well be "Likely firestarter"
Buffer Overflow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652



View Profile
November 20, 2012, 05:38:42 PM
 #19

No. Electric companies periodically change them, because they become inaccurate not because they are dangerous. I'm talking about ones perhaps 10 years old, not antiques made of bakelite.

meebs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532



View Profile
November 21, 2012, 01:08:55 AM
 #20

Overclocking to the max rarely gets you the most profits. Usually some minor undervolting is in order. On my single 7970 (air cooled) gaming comp, underclocking the RAM and going from 1200MHz @ 1250mV to 1050MHz @ 1050mV can be the difference of 380W down to 245W. I get ~90% of the hashrate for ~65% of the power cost.

these days us GPU folk need every BTC we can grab before having/asics!

Also, if one uses their computers to keep their living quarters heated verses using a heater.. the electricity almost becomes "free" (or at least "very cheap", due to offsetting a normal heating bill)

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!