Bitcoin Forum
May 01, 2017, 06:30:19 AM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Triple 6990 under windows  (Read 2234 times)
bbminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 08:50:48 AM
 #1

Is it possible to run a 3 card 6990 bitcoin mining system under Windows? I am seeing a lot of guides for linux. I would prefer Windows if it's possible.

Thanks
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493620219
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493620219

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493620219
Reply with quote  #2

1493620219
Report to moderator
1493620219
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493620219

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493620219
Reply with quote  #2

1493620219
Report to moderator
1493620219
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493620219

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493620219
Reply with quote  #2

1493620219
Report to moderator
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2142



View Profile
June 04, 2011, 09:01:59 AM
 #2

Nope..I'm afraid not. 3 6990s = 6 total GPU cores. Windows can address only 4 max.

Maybe it might be more efficient and cheaper to run 2 separate rigs with 2 x 6990s?


haploid23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile WWW
June 04, 2011, 09:11:54 AM
 #3

Nope..I'm afraid not. 3 6990s = 6 total GPU cores. Windows can address only 4 max.

nope, this is totally wrong. i was folding with 3 gtx295 in the same rig, for a total of 6 GPUs in win7 and XP. you can do the same with HD6990. i think you're confusing it with SLI and crossfire. you can't SLI or crossfire more than 4 GPUs, but that would not apply for mining anyways

allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2142



View Profile
June 04, 2011, 09:47:26 AM
 #4

oooppss...yes my bad I was indeed confusing it with crossfire..

as a side note under linux you can see 6+ GPU cores..I've seen some 4 x 5970 rigs..

1.21gigawatts
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 02:38:49 PM
 #5

Windows can only support 4 ATI GPUs.  I am not sure what the limit is with Nvidia, but that's the reason why you were able to get Windows to recognize 4+ Nvidia GPUs
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2142



View Profile
June 04, 2011, 10:27:45 PM
 #6

Aha! So I have been vindicated. Well I should've had more confidence in my own words.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!