Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 12:02:33 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Triple 6990 under windows  (Read 2200 times)
bbminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 08:50:48 AM
 #1

Is it possible to run a 3 card 6990 bitcoin mining system under Windows? I am seeing a lot of guides for linux. I would prefer Windows if it's possible.

Thanks
1481457753
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481457753

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481457753
Reply with quote  #2

1481457753
Report to moderator
1481457753
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481457753

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481457753
Reply with quote  #2

1481457753
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481457753
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481457753

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481457753
Reply with quote  #2

1481457753
Report to moderator
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
June 04, 2011, 09:01:59 AM
 #2

Nope..I'm afraid not. 3 6990s = 6 total GPU cores. Windows can address only 4 max.

Maybe it might be more efficient and cheaper to run 2 separate rigs with 2 x 6990s?


haploid23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile WWW
June 04, 2011, 09:11:54 AM
 #3

Nope..I'm afraid not. 3 6990s = 6 total GPU cores. Windows can address only 4 max.

nope, this is totally wrong. i was folding with 3 gtx295 in the same rig, for a total of 6 GPUs in win7 and XP. you can do the same with HD6990. i think you're confusing it with SLI and crossfire. you can't SLI or crossfire more than 4 GPUs, but that would not apply for mining anyways

allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
June 04, 2011, 09:47:26 AM
 #4

oooppss...yes my bad I was indeed confusing it with crossfire..

as a side note under linux you can see 6+ GPU cores..I've seen some 4 x 5970 rigs..

1.21gigawatts
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 02:38:49 PM
 #5

Windows can only support 4 ATI GPUs.  I am not sure what the limit is with Nvidia, but that's the reason why you were able to get Windows to recognize 4+ Nvidia GPUs
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
June 04, 2011, 10:27:45 PM
 #6

Aha! So I have been vindicated. Well I should've had more confidence in my own words.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!