Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 06:07:54 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: LTC & BTC on one machine  (Read 1088 times)
Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 800



View Profile WWW
October 19, 2012, 10:19:07 PM
 #1

Can I run LTC or BTC on the one machine not simultaneously. I ask as my main miner has 2 FPGA attached but I want to dabble in an LTC set up to determine if I want to built an LTC only rig.

Will this corrupt eithers block chain or something strange?

1513534074
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513534074

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513534074
Reply with quote  #2

1513534074
Report to moderator
1513534074
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513534074

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513534074
Reply with quote  #2

1513534074
Report to moderator
1513534074
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513534074

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513534074
Reply with quote  #2

1513534074
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513534074
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513534074

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513534074
Reply with quote  #2

1513534074
Report to moderator
canubis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
October 20, 2012, 03:19:24 AM
 #2

Yes you can run BTC and LTC on the same machine with no problems. You can even do it simultaneously. It will not corrupt the block chain or anything. Smiley
meebs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588



View Profile
October 20, 2012, 04:00:30 AM
 #3

you can mine simultaneously, you MUST run a different instance of the miner for each coin though.

    ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   
   ████████████████████████████████   
     ▀██████████████████████████▀     
        ▀████████████████████▀       
          ████████████████▀         
            █████████████           
            ▀████████████▀           
             ▀██████████▀             
              ██████████             
               ████████               
               ▀██████▀               
                ██████               
                  ▀                   
.
.trade.io.
██████
██████
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
██████
██████

▄██████████████████▄
███       ▀███████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███              ██
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███              ███
███▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███
██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
███████████▀ ███████
█████████▀   ███████
███████▀     ██▀ ███
███ ▀▀       █▄▄████
███          █▀▀▀▀██
███ ▄▄       ███████
██████▄     █▄ ▀███
█████████▄   ███▄███
███████████▄ ███████
▀██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
████████████████████
███████████████▀▀ ██
█████████▀▀     ███
████▀▀     ▄█▀   ███
███▄    ▄██      ███
█████████▀      ▄██
█████████▄     ████
█████████████▄ ▄████
████████████████████
▀██████████████████▀
██████
██████
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
██████
██████
.
.Join the Trading Revolution.
DiCE1904
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1088

NotPaidForMySig


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2012, 04:04:30 AM
 #4

yes you can, I use BFGminer to mine BTC with my FPGAs and cgminer to mine litecoins with my GPU

just make sure when your using cgminer your config looks something like this

Quote
cgminer-2.8.4-win32\cgminer.exe --scrypt -o http://ltc.r00t3d.com:9327

--scrypt being the important part!

ExchangeD.I2p  First Ever Darknet CryptoCurrency Exchange. Trade altcoins anonymously.
http://ylmulgfskl6uiwac4hw4ecwqdzd3oxtwaemzj25zc6k5q4rkexra.b32.i2p
Official Thead: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1092682.0
Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 800



View Profile WWW
October 20, 2012, 11:52:36 AM
 #5

yes you can, I use BFGminer to mine BTC with my FPGAs and cgminer to mine litecoins with my GPU

just make sure when your using cgminer your config looks something like this

Quote
cgminer-2.8.4-win32\cgminer.exe --scrypt -o http://ltc.r00t3d.com:9327

--scrypt being the important part!

can i run cgminer for BTC and another instance for LTC? I dont have to have differnt miners...sounds kool...will start playing

BitcoinOxygen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile WWW
October 20, 2012, 04:57:35 PM
 #6

yes you can, I use BFGminer to mine BTC with my FPGAs and cgminer to mine litecoins with my GPU

just make sure when your using cgminer your config looks something like this

Quote
cgminer-2.8.4-win32\cgminer.exe --scrypt -o http://ltc.r00t3d.com:9327

--scrypt being the important part!

can i run cgminer for BTC and another instance for LTC? I dont have to have differnt miners...sounds kool...will start playing

yes you can run two instance of CGminer but you have to keep --scrypt for litecoin's

BTCOxygen PPS Mining Pool 2% Fee  <<<  Join Now
DiCE1904
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1088

NotPaidForMySig


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2012, 09:08:08 PM
 #7

yes you can, I use BFGminer to mine BTC with my FPGAs and cgminer to mine litecoins with my GPU

just make sure when your using cgminer your config looks something like this

Quote
cgminer-2.8.4-win32\cgminer.exe --scrypt -o http://ltc.r00t3d.com:9327

--scrypt being the important part!

can i run cgminer for BTC and another instance for LTC? I dont have to have differnt miners...sounds kool...will start playing

yes you can run two instance of CGminer but you have to keep --scrypt for litecoin's

yes you can run two of cgminer, if you want to run two heres the link for bfgminer https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78192.0

ExchangeD.I2p  First Ever Darknet CryptoCurrency Exchange. Trade altcoins anonymously.
http://ylmulgfskl6uiwac4hw4ecwqdzd3oxtwaemzj25zc6k5q4rkexra.b32.i2p
Official Thead: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1092682.0
Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 800



View Profile WWW
October 21, 2012, 08:05:12 AM
 #8

mining BTC & LTC on single rig now...thnx

2 * 6770s for LTC
2 * CM1 FPGAs for BTC

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!