Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 09:52:46 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining on external computer?  (Read 769 times)
Xtra_Coin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 11:46:43 AM
 #1

Hi,

I'm currently wondering if the following is possible:
I have 2 computers A and B.
Can I run a mining program on computer A and tell it to do the calculations on computer B?
I.e. running a mining program on computer B without installing it.

Edit: If it is possible, would it even work if computer A runs with Windows and B with a Unix distribution?

Thanks in advance!

Best regards,
X.C.

Professional poker coaching:
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=14439.0

Feel free to try out the "Send Coins" button:
1ARoiU3Wk4JhEEU5ecBFEo1jTxuTpHxduY
1481190766
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481190766

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481190766
Reply with quote  #2

1481190766
Report to moderator
1481190766
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481190766

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481190766
Reply with quote  #2

1481190766
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481190766
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481190766

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481190766
Reply with quote  #2

1481190766
Report to moderator
1481190766
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481190766

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481190766
Reply with quote  #2

1481190766
Report to moderator
1481190766
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481190766

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481190766
Reply with quote  #2

1481190766
Report to moderator
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
June 04, 2011, 12:14:51 PM
 #2

No and no is pretty much the answer.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
June 04, 2011, 12:58:09 PM
 #3

Remote desktop.

But it wont obv. work if the program doesn't exist on the other machine.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
supa
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 10:18:33 PM
 #4

Kind of and sort-of-ish.

You can certainly install (for most miners - this is just copying the .exe) on computer A.

You can then run that program from computer B using Windows file sharing or Linux file sharing (CIFS/SMB/NFS).

Example:

From Computer B:

\\computerA\c$\bitcoin\poclbm.exe --<my args go here>

For all intents and purposes, poclbm.exe is "installed" on computer A but being run from computer B.  poclbm.exe is not the best example here, though - it has quite a few supporting files that are required.  This method will probably not work with poclbm, but will work with ufasoft's miner or something similar.

For poclbm, you would need to map a network drive on computer B like this:

net use Z: \\computerA\c$\bitcoin\
Z:
poclbm.exe <my args here>

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!