Bitcoin Forum
June 17, 2024, 06:10:31 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Sgminer 5.1.1 Quark problems  (Read 2018 times)
Cryptozillah (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687
Merit: 502


View Profile
October 02, 2015, 06:57:08 AM
 #1

My AMD rigs are behaving really random. They sometime stops a couple of times (waiting for work to be available from pools) per day and i have to restart sgminer manually. No reboot is needed to get full hashrate again.

Does anyone know how to write up a loop in the config ? To make sgminer restart every third hour or so.
This only happends when i am mining Quark, while mining ETH the same rig can go on forever without babysitting it. I guessing that it is sgminer messing up somehow.
kahir
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 02, 2015, 06:00:05 PM
 #2

but why would u mine quark with AMD rig ?
Cryptozillah (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687
Merit: 502


View Profile
October 02, 2015, 10:10:10 PM
 #3

but why would u mine quark with AMD rig ?
Well, ETH is not that hot anymore.
Too many mining it and price is going down.

Right now i make more daily profit on quark with my AMD/Nvidia rigs combined.

When mining ETH i have around 170Mhs and it gives me around 10 ETH daily. Thats like 0.028BTC.
When mining Quark i have 134Mhs and it gives me around 0.045BTC daily mining at Nicehash.

Longterm ETH is probably the winner but right now i need some daily profits to keep my mining going.
qaaq
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 03, 2015, 09:30:35 AM
 #4

i had the same probem, i fixed it by writing this noob script:p

Code:
:loop

cd c:\miner
start powershell.exe c:\miner\start_sgminer.bat
TIMEOUT 3600
taskkill /im sgminer.exe /F >nul
taskkill /im powershell.exe /F >nul

goto loop


it restarts sgminer every 1h



Cryptozillah (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687
Merit: 502


View Profile
October 03, 2015, 12:53:31 PM
 #5

i had the same probem, i fixed it by writing this noob script:p

Code:
:loop

cd c:\miner
start powershell.exe c:\miner\start_sgminer.bat
TIMEOUT 3600
taskkill /im sgminer.exe /F >nul
taskkill /im powershell.exe /F >nul

goto loop


it restarts sgminer every 1h




Thanks, i will try it out.
Cryptozillah (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687
Merit: 502


View Profile
October 04, 2015, 06:21:35 AM
Last edit: October 04, 2015, 06:45:20 AM by Cryptozillah
 #6

i had the same probem, i fixed it by writing this noob script:p

Code:
:loop

cd c:\miner
start powershell.exe c:\miner\start_sgminer.bat
TIMEOUT 3600
taskkill /im sgminer.exe /F >nul
taskkill /im powershell.exe /F >nul

goto loop


it restarts sgminer every 1h




I am trying this out now but i cant get it to work.
Not sure if i am doing it right though.

I placed a copy of my sgminer folder in c:\miner
Inside it i made a new batch file called loop with:

loop

cd c:\miner
start powershell.exe c:\miner\start_sgminer.bat
TIMEOUT 3600
taskkill /im sgminer.exe /F >nul
taskkill /im powershell.exe /F >nul

goto loop

When i fire loop batch file up it would launch sgminer right ? and restart it in 60 minutes.
But all that happends is that the countdown starts without sgminer launches.

If i start sgminer first and the loop up after it will kill sgminer when the countdown ends but not start it up again.

What am i doing wrong here ?

EDIT. I found another solution that is working here: http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1796598&page=74
Post: 1466
qaaq
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 04, 2015, 10:06:13 AM
 #7

you can put this script whatever you want, but second script c:\miner\start_sgminer.bat is your sgminer script containing:

Code:
C:\miner\sgminer.exe --kernel quarkcoin -o stratum+tcp://quark.eu.nicehash.com:3345 -u xxx

Remember to delete sgminer.conf file, otherwise it won't run
Cryptozillah (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687
Merit: 502


View Profile
October 04, 2015, 01:57:11 PM
 #8

you can put this script whatever you want, but second script c:\miner\start_sgminer.bat is your sgminer script containing:

Code:
C:\miner\sgminer.exe --kernel quarkcoin -o stratum+tcp://quark.eu.nicehash.com:3345 -u xxx

Remember to delete sgminer.conf file, otherwise it won't run
Ok, thanks.
It is running fine now.
fury420
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 04, 2015, 05:18:21 PM
 #9

I've always used CGwatcher for stuff like this, has adjustable monitoring & miner restart features.
Unfortunately no longer updated, but still works just fine.
Eastwind
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 06, 2015, 09:31:45 AM
 #10

but why would u mine quark with AMD rig ?
Well, ETH is not that hot anymore.
Too many mining it and price is going down.

Right now i make more daily profit on quark with my AMD/Nvidia rigs combined.

When mining ETH i have around 170Mhs and it gives me around 10 ETH daily. Thats like 0.028BTC.
When mining Quark i have 134Mhs and it gives me around 0.045BTC daily mining at Nicehash.

Longterm ETH is probably the winner but right now i need some daily profits to keep my mining going.

What is the combination of your cards?

I have 8 GPUs (underclocked 4X7990), doing 150Mh on ETH, and 80Mh on Quark.
Cryptozillah (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687
Merit: 502


View Profile
October 06, 2015, 12:19:15 PM
 #11

I've always used CGwatcher for stuff like this, has adjustable monitoring & miner restart features.
Unfortunately no longer updated, but still works just fine.
I have thought of trying it a couple of times. I might take another look at it.

but why would u mine quark with AMD rig ?
Well, ETH is not that hot anymore.
Too many mining it and price is going down.

Right now i make more daily profit on quark with my AMD/Nvidia rigs combined.

When mining ETH i have around 170Mhs and it gives me around 10 ETH daily. Thats like 0.028BTC.
When mining Quark i have 134Mhs and it gives me around 0.045BTC daily mining at Nicehash.

Longterm ETH is probably the winner but right now i need some daily profits to keep my mining going.

What is the combination of your cards?

I have 8 GPUs (underclocked 4X7990), doing 150Mh on ETH, and 80Mh on Quark.
My total:
12x750Ti
4x280x

Around 170Mhs @ ETH and around 135Mhs @ Quark
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!