Bitcoin Forum
April 30, 2024, 02:37:21 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Failing at installing Bitcoin on USB linux: "Disk space is low" - crashing  (Read 1853 times)
FTL_Ian (OP)

Activity: 54
Merit: 0

View Profile WWW
October 24, 2012, 07:26:43 AM

I am running Slacko 5.3.3

I have installed with a 4GB slackosave.2fs file.

Most of the blockchain loads, but then crashes out to "Warning: Disk space is low!"

However, according to the setup utility for Slacko, my disk space is not low.  I have 2.6GB free out of 4GB.  The USB drive I'm using has another 26GB free outside of that.

According to a GDMap of the filesystem, blk0001.dat is 806.7MB and blkindex.dat is 320.3MB.

Why am I getting this error, and what can I do about it?  I tried to tell Slacko to increase the size of the slackosave.2fs file to 8GB, but it is not working - I suspect because the drive is Fat32.

I'm a linux noob - please help.  I have no idea why this is happening, when I have plenty of space.  I'm totally open to reinstalling the OS or a different distro. 

Thanks in advance! 

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
RaTTuS

Activity: 792
Merit: 1000

Bite me

View Profile
October 24, 2012, 07:31:45 AM

I think the block chain is approx 3Gb now so your going to need at least 8Gb probably close to 16Gb for a fully functional linux system also

In the Beginning there was CPU , then GPU , then FPGA then ASIC, what next I hear to ask ....

1RaTTuSEN7jJUDiW1EGogHwtek7g9BiEn
FTL_Ian (OP)

View Profile WWW
October 24, 2012, 07:44:33 AM