Bitcoin Forum
March 26, 2017, 09:26:45 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Sapphire 6950 v2 non-reference performance  (Read 5915 times)
Il tetini
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12



View Profile
June 05, 2011, 06:10:50 AM
 #1

Hi, i just want to know how much Mhash/s and what configuration you have, to know what´s the limit of this cards i have (2 atm). Smiley
My numbers are:
-355 Mhash/s with 900/300 frequencies. Temp 74º and 78º with fan 66% (i have them on 1 mobo, like crossfire but without the bridge)
-330 mhash/s with stock frequencies. I never use them on this config.

Sorry if this have been posted, but im not talking about normal 6950´s, this ones cant be unlocked.
And also sorry for my bad English.  Tongue
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1490520405
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490520405

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490520405
Reply with quote  #2

1490520405
Report to moderator
mattpker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 05, 2011, 06:13:46 AM
 #2

Is that 355 Mhash/s each or together?

Il tetini
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12



View Profile
June 05, 2011, 06:14:40 AM
 #3

Oh good point, srry. Its each.  Tongue
mattpker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 05, 2011, 06:17:46 AM
 #4

Wow, that is some decent speeds without the unlock. As you can see here you are around what the unlocked ones are doing:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

My two 6950's are unlocked and do about 370 Mhash/s each with a small overclock. I am not overclocking them to much yet as it is my main computer and the drivers are currently unstable.

Il tetini
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12



View Profile
June 05, 2011, 06:26:33 AM
 #5

Ty for the info, i have seen that before. I tryed diferent clocks and that seems the best combination for me, but maybe someone else have a better one.
I have the cards in my main computer too, but i use the IGP for windows general use and dummy plugs to make them work 100% without losing performance.
mattpker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 05, 2011, 06:29:26 AM
 #6

I can't get the on-board video to work if I have a video card plugged in. Did you have to change something in the BIOS?

Il tetini
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12



View Profile
June 05, 2011, 06:32:29 AM
 #7

Yes, i changed the VGA priority on BIOS, depends on your mobo, but many times is on Advanced tab.
mattpker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 05, 2011, 06:33:21 AM
 #8

I will look for this when I get home. Thanks for the info!

Il tetini
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12



View Profile
June 05, 2011, 06:34:57 AM
 #9

Np, good luck with that. And thanks for your info too.
zamarok
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 05:29:52 PM
 #10

430 Mhash/s
Temps: 75 C, fan speed: 80%,  core voltage: 1.275 mV
1,000Mhz, unlocked shaders, underclocked RAM.

How does one know if it's a 'reference card' or not?
Il tetini
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12



View Profile
June 06, 2011, 12:19:51 AM
 #11

Reference model:

http://www.jmsinfo.com/images/Sapphire_HD_6950.jpg


Non-reference model:

http://www.wmcomputer.com.co/sitio_nuevo/admin/image/HD6950.jpg
zamarok
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 12:51:33 AM
 #12

Thanks! I guess I have a reference model. Is this something special? Is this why I can get 430 Mhash/s with it? I hear that that's a lot for a 6950.
mattpker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 06, 2011, 01:24:42 AM
 #13

That is a lot because I can't get my core clock above 950Mhz. When I have both cards in the machine it is even more unstable and I cant get them above 900Mhz without crashing.

Il tetini
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12



View Profile
June 06, 2011, 01:27:10 AM
 #14

Thanks! I guess I have a reference model. Is this something special? Is this why I can get 430 Mhash/s with it? I hear that that's a lot for a 6950.

Reference model can be unlocked (shaders unlock) but non-reference can´t. You are lucky  Wink
frontsidebus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 01:29:34 AM
 #15

How do you overclock the non-reference board.
Il tetini
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12



View Profile
June 06, 2011, 08:07:32 AM
 #16

With MSI Afterburner (the one i use), or Sapphire trixx wich is more easy to use.
Shades
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 06, 2011, 08:24:36 AM
 #17

I use a non-reference 6950 on my home PC. It was not intended for mining because I have separate mining rigs, but I told myself "Why not?!". It's currently mining along with a reference 5850 on the second PCI-E slot. 355 is the most I could get from it for a 24/7 work. Not great considering the 5850 does exactly the same.

Post helpful? Please consider tipping Smiley
1L5UtcKxm5S1NPSc68TJMH4eN9wF1mzDS3
itsagas
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 12:21:51 PM
 #18

I am getting about 360mhash out of a single powercolor 6950 1GB with mem at 1250 and GPU @ 890.  Under linux and Diablo with -f 1 and -v 3 -w 128.

Sounds great, but can't get 4 of them in one rig to come even close to that.  Cards are spaced wide, tons of powerful fans and can't get them to do even 300mhash each (<1.2Ghash for all four).

Any suggestions?  Build a windows machine and try to flash bios, change voltage and mess with memory settings?

randomdude
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 01:45:04 PM
 #19

430 Mhash/s
Temps: 75 C, fan speed: 80%,  core voltage: 1.275 mV
1,000Mhz, unlocked shaders, underclocked RAM.

How does one know if it's a 'reference card' or not?

zamarok, could you please post the exact model and manufacturer of your card? I am highly interested.
Yanz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 133


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 02:31:23 PM
 #20

I get 410 MH at 940 core and 1.2volts. It's a reference model by MSI though all reference models are built at the same factory.

With great video cards comes great power consumption.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!