Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 12:55:59 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [GUIDE] How to prevent 100% CPU usage in Windows when mining  (Read 5940 times)
Wepp
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 03:11:01 PM
 #1

My mining rig is also my database server, so I can't have the mining processes consuming 100% of the CPU. Unfortunately, this driver issue is as yet unresolved by AMD.

However, the problem can be alleviated, though not completely eliminated, if your processor has more than one core. In the screenshot below, you can see my mining processes are very low now. They still fully consume the resources of one core, however.

Furthermore, this action may increase the hashing rate on some systems. In my case, I went from 1.3Ghash/s to 1.5Ghash/s (dual 6990) with this change, because the database server was competing with poclbm.exe for CPU resources.

Here's how:




BTC: 1HkwwvShZWQbW4NZ8qtUBesEQxJ46je2Wa
LTC: LffG9SF9fAxA1MaSUjD2hWaGd8xuTz8H9y
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480942559
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942559

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942559
Reply with quote  #2

1480942559
Report to moderator
Zagitta
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 03:24:54 PM
 #2

If people are on windows 7 (i imagine this would work on vista and server 2008 as well) they can place this in the start of their bat file: start /affinity X and replace X with the core they want to start set affinity to  Smiley
joulesbeef
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


moOo


View Profile
August 18, 2011, 08:40:54 PM
 #3

you can also use process lasso and set up some rules

mooo for rent
joulesbeef
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


moOo


View Profile
August 18, 2011, 09:03:27 PM
 #4

damn you slippy pinky


thanks myself.. link fixed


BTW.. i use 11.6 cats with cgminer and I have no cpu bug.. My cpus sit at about 9%

mooo for rent
Blackout
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
August 18, 2011, 10:36:43 PM
 #5

What about phoenix though?  I use AOCLBF 1.74 with the modified phatk kernal because I get so miuch more performance.


http://blackout.com
Insane writings for an Outsane world: http://blackoutsblog.com

Blackout Radio on android or iphone DL TuneIn APP & search for Blackout Radio http://tunein.com/tuner/?StationId=136506

https://secure.btcontilt.com/register.php?referred=Blackout (BTC Poker)
phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
August 18, 2011, 10:48:33 PM
 #6

GUIMiner has this feature built in and it saves your settings so you never have to do anything manually again.
PcChip
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
August 19, 2011, 03:22:15 AM
 #7

On my lower-end dedicated single-core miner, I actually sometimes get higher performance by settings the phoenix.exe's to below-normal process priority.

A bit anti-intuitive, but it works.


(start /belownormal phoenix.exe ... )

All rates with Phoenix 1.50 / PhatK
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5850 - 400 MH/s  |  5850 - 355 MH/s | 5830 - 310 MH/s  |  GTX570 - 115 MH/s | 5770 - 210 MH/s | 5770 - 200 MH/s
Blackout
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
August 19, 2011, 09:12:28 AM
 #8

GUIMiner has this feature built in and it saves your settings so you never have to do anything manually again.

I have guiminer but I get much better performance out of aolcbf for whatever reason.  my 5830s run 320 to 330 mhash each no problem... in guiminer I just can't get past 280 to 300

http://blackout.com
Insane writings for an Outsane world: http://blackoutsblog.com

Blackout Radio on android or iphone DL TuneIn APP & search for Blackout Radio http://tunein.com/tuner/?StationId=136506

https://secure.btcontilt.com/register.php?referred=Blackout (BTC Poker)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!