Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 08:14:17 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: At 1169 khash/sec, is it worth mining?  (Read 6085 times)
Threshold
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88



View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 05:17:20 PM
 #1

Is there any chance of making any bitcoins when my computer chugs along at 1169 khash/sec?

I don't know how good/bad that is.  I know it is nothing compared to dedicated mining machines.  Smiley

Earn free bitcoins at:  http://www.freebitcoins.org/4296
1481055257
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481055257

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481055257
Reply with quote  #2

1481055257
Report to moderator
1481055257
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481055257

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481055257
Reply with quote  #2

1481055257
Report to moderator
1481055257
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481055257

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481055257
Reply with quote  #2

1481055257
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481055257
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481055257

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481055257
Reply with quote  #2

1481055257
Report to moderator
ttk2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 05:18:31 PM
 #2

Is there any chance of making any bitcoins when my computer chugs along at 1169 khash/sec?

I don't know how good/bad that is.  I know it is nothing compared to dedicated mining machines.  Smiley

NO

Just in case i do something worthwhile: 12YXLzbi4hfLaUxyPswRbKW92C6h5KsVnX
Pieter Wuille
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 05:19:57 PM
 #3

If you mine solo with this, it'd take you on average 50 years for a block.

If you mine in a pool with this, you'll make 0.0027 BTC per day.

Up to you to decide whether that's worth it to you - but i assume it's way less than your power costs.

aka sipa, core dev team

Tips and donations: 1KwDYMJMS4xq3ZEWYfdBRwYG2fHwhZsipa
Threshold
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88



View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 05:20:46 PM
 #4

Pieter, how does one join a pool?

Earn free bitcoins at:  http://www.freebitcoins.org/4296
gaaaaaaav
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 05:24:22 PM
 #5

www.deepbit.net is the mining pool I use.

Donate if you want Smiley - 1PxVmJTyk7UtkrFk2v7cQ15bNfodHUzsEH
NetTecture
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 05:33:00 PM
 #6

Is there any chance of making any bitcoins when my computer chugs along at 1169 khash/sec?

I don't know how good/bad that is.  I know it is nothing compared to dedicated mining machines.  Smiley

The main question is - why that crappy rate? What ancient graphics card do you have? Download a GPU miner.
Threshold
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88



View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 05:47:57 PM
 #7

That rate was with the mac bitcoin client -- so it wasn't an optimized GPU miner.

I just tried getting diablo to work, but it doesn't see my graphics card for some reason:


[6/5/11 12:47:40 PM] Started
[6/5/11 12:47:40 PM] Connecting to: http://deepbit.net:8332/
[6/5/11 12:47:40 PM] ERROR: OpenCL platform Apple contains no devices
Did something go wrong? Relaunch and enter the Set up wizard by pressing 1 and Enter during start-up, and check your configuration.
logout

Earn free bitcoins at:  http://www.freebitcoins.org/4296
theboos
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 06:26:42 PM
 #8

What graphics card do you have? OpenCL is supported on most recent graphics cards.
Threshold
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88



View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 06:36:51 PM
 #9

I am using a ATI,RadeonHD2600

Earn free bitcoins at:  http://www.freebitcoins.org/4296
Vladimir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812


-


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 06:43:22 PM
 #10

Quote
At 1169 khash/sec, is it worth mining?

If you rephrase your question as

Quote
At 0.001 Ghash/sec, is it worth mining?


Than it kind of answers itself, isn't it?



-
Threshold
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88



View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 06:46:38 PM
 #11

Thanks for everyone's responses.

I just didn't know if my speed was good or bad.  Now I know it is bad.  Smiley

Earn free bitcoins at:  http://www.freebitcoins.org/4296
Threshold
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88



View Profile WWW
June 06, 2011, 03:19:31 AM
 #12

My machine may be wimpy, but it still works.  In the background while working on my computer, it calculated a bit:  0.00564658 BTC from deepbit!

That at $5 could buy me a latte!

Earn free bitcoins at:  http://www.freebitcoins.org/4296
steelhouse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 06:27:03 AM
 #13

My machine may be wimpy, but it still works.  In the background while working on my computer, it calculated a bit:  0.00564658 BTC from deepbit!

That at $5 could buy me a latte!

google bitcoin hardware.
Astro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 242



View Profile
June 06, 2011, 06:29:25 AM
 #14

Sell the computer to your grandmother and buy bitcoins with the money.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!