Bitcoin Forum
November 27, 2022, 06:45:29 PM *
News: Reminder: do not keep your money in online accounts
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Looking for decent motherboard in stock to run 5-8 cards  (Read 1306 times)
Cablesaurus (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 06:00:29 PM
 #1

Filtering on Newegg is a bit wonky for this.
I'm looking for a board with a total of 5-8 PCIe slots of any size and am trying to judge cost effectiveness.

I know a lot have gone out of stock on eBay, is anyone up on some decent choices in stock?

PCIe Extender Cables; Dummy Plugs, Fans; PSU Cables; Cases & More
Visit www.Cablesaurus.com and our forum thread at http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
1669574729
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1669574729

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1669574729
Reply with quote  #2

1669574729
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1669574729
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1669574729

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1669574729
Reply with quote  #2

1669574729
Report to moderator
1669574729
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1669574729

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1669574729
Reply with quote  #2

1669574729
Report to moderator
trentzb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 251


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 06:10:13 PM
 #2

Here is a 5 slot that we use:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128431
Cablesaurus (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 06:17:27 PM
 #3

Out of stock sadly like a lot of them.

PCIe Extender Cables; Dummy Plugs, Fans; PSU Cables; Cases & More
Visit www.Cablesaurus.com and our forum thread at http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
metallicaband
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 06:21:29 PM
 #4

I see people hanging their GPUs all over the place via adapters to those x1 slots, can someone please explain to me how that works? is it safe or even reduces performance since you're not using a x16 2.0 slot?
Sukrim
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1006


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 06:30:28 PM
 #5

It reduces bandwidth - however mining uses far less than PCIex1 can provide.

Gaming would not be advisable with this though...

https://www.coinlend.org <-- automated lending at various exchanges.
https://www.bitfinex.com <-- Trade BTC for other currencies and vice versa.
Thor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 06:35:35 PM
 #6

pm sent.
Cablesaurus (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 06:39:08 PM
 #7

I see people hanging their GPUs all over the place via adapters to those x1 slots, can someone please explain to me how that works?

When it comes to mounting, check out the Chassis in my thread.

PCIe Extender Cables; Dummy Plugs, Fans; PSU Cables; Cases & More
Visit www.Cablesaurus.com and our forum thread at http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 05, 2011, 09:09:28 PM
 #8

That chassis looks awesome, but bit out of my price range.  Any thoughts on selling plans for the chassis for folks that want to DiY?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!