Bitcoin Forum
April 22, 2018, 04:58:49 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Getting Maximum performance from Windows is it possible?  (Read 1499 times)
BTCBuyer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 06:34:18 PM
 #1

Windows 7 32bit, is only picking up 3 GPUs, 2x 6950 1x 5850,

I have 1 more 5850 plugged in and now powered up, but windows is still not detecting it. Any ideas or solutions?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524373129
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524373129

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524373129
Reply with quote  #2

1524373129
Report to moderator
1524373129
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524373129

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524373129
Reply with quote  #2

1524373129
Report to moderator
MiningBuddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 926
Merit: 1000


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 06:51:30 PM
 #2

Windows is shit, acquire Linux, live happily ever after.  Cool

bcpokey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 05, 2011, 07:03:58 PM
 #3

If you have a question it's helpful to provide as much info as possible. What motherboard? What power supply? How are they connected? To what PCI-E slots? With what power connections?  Does windows see the card in device manager or nothing at all? Have you tried detect hardware changes? Have you installed the latest catalyst drivers? Are your cards in crossfire? Are you using dummy plugs?

Actually that's probably it right there. No dummy plug. Build a dummy plug or plug your monitor in and see if the card works. Done. /thread.

BTCBuyer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 07:10:32 PM
 #4

If you have a question it's helpful to provide as much info as possible. What motherboard? What power supply? How are they connected? To what PCI-E slots? With what power connections?  Does windows see the card in device manager or nothing at all? Have you tried detect hardware changes? Have you installed the latest catalyst drivers? Are your cards in crossfire? Are you using dummy plugs?

Actually that's probably it right there. No dummy plug. Build a dummy plug or plug your monitor in and see if the card works. Done. /thread.




Windows 7 32bit,

monitor is plugged into the 1st 6950
the rest of the cards have dummy plugs
mother board is msi 890fxa-g70
1000W kingwin 80 plus (everything powers up fine)
they are all connected to pcie x16 slots, this last card uses molex to pcie to power (it fires up fine)

I have not check device manager yet, I have not tried to detect hardware changes

I have the latest catalyst driver yes,

the cards are not in cross fire

Any other suggestions?
kr105
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


Blockchain Just Entered The Real World


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 08:30:56 PM
 #5

I would love to use linux on my miner box, but I can't underclock the memory of my EAH5850 on the penguin platform. So, for me, Windows gives me better performance than linux at the end.

      ███████████████████████
     ███▄ ▄▄▄▄   ▄▄▄█▀▀  █████
    ███  █▀  ▀█▀▀▀       ▐█ ███
   ███  ▄██▄▄█▀▄▄▄        █▌ ███
  ███ ▄█▀  █     ▀█▄▄     ▐█  ▐██
 ███▄█▀    █        ▀█▄▄  ▄▄▄ ██
████▀      █           ▀██▀   ▀█ ██
 ██▀█▄     █          ▄█▀▀█▄▄▄█▀██
  ██ ▀█▄   █      ▄▄█▀▀    ▐█  ██
   ██  ▀█▄█▀▀█▄▄█▀▀        █▌ ██
    ███  █▄  ▄█▀█▄▄▄      █▌███
     ███  ▀▀▀▀     ▀▀▀█▄▄▐████
      ███████████████████████

 ▄▄       ▄▄▄        ▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄ 
  ▀█▄   ▄█▀ ▀█▄    ▄█▀ ▄█▀▀   ▀▀█▄
    ▀█▄█▀     ▀█▄▄█▀  ▐█         █▌
    ▄█▀█▄      ▄█▀    ▐█         █▌
  ▄█▀   ▀█▄  ▄█▀       █▄       ▄█
▄█▀       ▀██▀          ▀▀█▄▄▄█▀▀


Network
BLOCKCHAIN JUST ENTERED THE REAL WORLD
..Decentralized Crypto-Location Oracle Network.
.........GET WHITELISTED FOR TOKEN SALE ( Limited )..........

.WHITE PAPER.  ││  ANN Thread  Telegram   Medium   Twitter   Reddit
brunoshady
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 264
Merit: 250

Dubs Get


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 08:37:49 PM
 #6

Windows is shit, acquire Linux, live happily ever after.  Cool


how much is the gain with linux?

😆
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1002


Waves | 3PHMaGNeTJfqFfD4xuctgKdoxLX188QM8na


View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 08:41:18 PM
 #7

If you have a question it's helpful to provide as much info as possible. What motherboard? What power supply? How are they connected? To what PCI-E slots? With what power connections?  Does windows see the card in device manager or nothing at all? Have you tried detect hardware changes? Have you installed the latest catalyst drivers? Are your cards in crossfire? Are you using dummy plugs?

Actually that's probably it right there. No dummy plug. Build a dummy plug or plug your monitor in and see if the card works. Done. /thread.




Windows 7 32bit,

monitor is plugged into the 1st 6950
the rest of the cards have dummy plugs
mother board is msi 890fxa-g70
1000W kingwin 80 plus (everything powers up fine)
they are all connected to pcie x16 slots, this last card uses molex to pcie to power (it fires up fine)

I have not check device manager yet, I have not tried to detect hardware changes

I have the latest catalyst driver yes,

the cards are not in cross fire

Any other suggestions?

Check the device manager.

Sign up for the REWARDMOB ICO and receive 100 RMOB for free! Use the referral 8MIFS57P
https://ticketsale.rewardmob.com
jme621
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 353
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 09:21:34 PM
 #8

If you have a question it's helpful to provide as much info as possible. What motherboard? What power supply? How are they connected? To what PCI-E slots? With what power connections?  Does windows see the card in device manager or nothing at all? Have you tried detect hardware changes? Have you installed the latest catalyst drivers? Are your cards in crossfire? Are you using dummy plugs?

Actually that's probably it right there. No dummy plug. Build a dummy plug or plug your monitor in and see if the card works. Done. /thread.




Windows 7 32bit,

monitor is plugged into the 1st 6950
the rest of the cards have dummy plugs
mother board is msi 890fxa-g70
1000W kingwin 80 plus (everything powers up fine)
they are all connected to pcie x16 slots, this last card uses molex to pcie to power (it fires up fine)

I have not check device manager yet, I have not tried to detect hardware changes

I have the latest catalyst driver yes,

the cards are not in cross fire

Any other suggestions?

Check the device manager.


Now windows is detecting all 4 cards,but GUI miner won't load up now..... 1 problem after another... Any more help would be greatly appreciated and given a 1 BTC reward for the person who solves it.

make sure its not running hidden, aka look in process manager
couple times when closing mine it removed icon from tray but kept running for some reason, had to manually kill it.
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 09:25:15 PM
 #9

Run 4 different poclbm(?) threads, changing -d0 to -d1 then -d2 etc.

BTCBuyer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 09:28:04 PM
 #10

If you have a question it's helpful to provide as much info as possible. What motherboard? What power supply? How are they connected? To what PCI-E slots? With what power connections?  Does windows see the card in device manager or nothing at all? Have you tried detect hardware changes? Have you installed the latest catalyst drivers? Are your cards in crossfire? Are you using dummy plugs?

Actually that's probably it right there. No dummy plug. Build a dummy plug or plug your monitor in and see if the card works. Done. /thread.




Windows 7 32bit,

monitor is plugged into the 1st 6950
the rest of the cards have dummy plugs
mother board is msi 890fxa-g70
1000W kingwin 80 plus (everything powers up fine)
they are all connected to pcie x16 slots, this last card uses molex to pcie to power (it fires up fine)

I have not check device manager yet, I have not tried to detect hardware changes

I have the latest catalyst driver yes,

the cards are not in cross fire

Any other suggestions?

Check the device manager.


Now windows is detecting all 4 cards,but GUI miner won't load up now..... 1 problem after another... Any more help would be greatly appreciated and given a 1 BTC reward for the person who solves it.

make sure its not running hidden, aka look in process manager
couple times when closing mine it removed icon from tray but kept running for some reason, had to manually kill it.



I would restart the computer, then when it boots up, i try to load the GUI up, and it'll show the Icon on the bottom right, then the GUI doesn't load up, as I scroll to the GUi it just disapears... And windows does detect all 4 cards, and catalyst shows all 4 cards too... any idea how to fix this?
BTCBuyer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 09:28:35 PM
 #11

If you have a question it's helpful to provide as much info as possible. What motherboard? What power supply? How are they connected? To what PCI-E slots? With what power connections?  Does windows see the card in device manager or nothing at all? Have you tried detect hardware changes? Have you installed the latest catalyst drivers? Are your cards in crossfire? Are you using dummy plugs?

Actually that's probably it right there. No dummy plug. Build a dummy plug or plug your monitor in and see if the card works. Done. /thread.




Windows 7 32bit,

monitor is plugged into the 1st 6950
the rest of the cards have dummy plugs
mother board is msi 890fxa-g70
1000W kingwin 80 plus (everything powers up fine)
they are all connected to pcie x16 slots, this last card uses molex to pcie to power (it fires up fine)

I have not check device manager yet, I have not tried to detect hardware changes

I have the latest catalyst driver yes,

the cards are not in cross fire

Any other suggestions?

Check the device manager.


Now windows is detecting all 4 cards,but GUI miner won't load up now..... 1 problem after another... Any more help would be greatly appreciated and given a 1 BTC reward for the person who solves it.

make sure its not running hidden, aka look in process manager
couple times when closing mine it removed icon from tray but kept running for some reason, had to manually kill it.



I would restart the computer, then when it boots up, i try to load the GUI up, and it'll show the Icon on the bottom right, then the GUI doesn't load up, as I scroll to the GUi it just disapears... And windows does detect all 4 cards, and catalyst shows all 4 cards too... any idea how to fix this?
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 09:33:20 PM
 #12

If GUIMiner doesn't work, check my sig Wink
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!