Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 10:49:39 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: I did not set an Electrum password  (Read 995 times)
Jack94
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
November 03, 2015, 02:20:25 PM
 #1

I didn't set a password...

I just downloaded Electrum, deposited my coins into my wallet, went to send them... And it asked for a password. I didn't set a password... I've tried every variation of my commonly used passwords and nothing. What the hell?
1513378179
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513378179

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513378179
Reply with quote  #2

1513378179
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
pattu1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 675


View Profile
November 03, 2015, 02:23:16 PM
 #2

I didn't set a password...

I just downloaded Electrum, deposited my coins into my wallet, went to send them... And it asked for a password. I didn't set a password... I've tried every variation of my commonly used passwords and nothing. What the hell?

Did you copy down the seed which was generated?
Jack94
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
November 03, 2015, 02:28:56 PM
 #3

I didn't get one. I have a notepad open to write down everything as this is one of my first times using bitcoin so if I was given any codes I would have written them down for future notice. I used the installer, clicked it in my Chrome downloads bar, it installed and disappeared. I had to search and open it. Didn't think twice about a password.
achow101
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


17kKQppUsngUiByDsce4JXoZEjjpvX9bpR


View Profile WWW
November 03, 2015, 02:31:36 PM
 #4

I didn't get one. I have a notepad open to write down everything as this is one of my first times using bitcoin so if I was given any codes I would have written them down for future notice. I used the installer, clicked it in my Chrome downloads bar, it installed and disappeared. I had to search and open it. Didn't think twice about a password.
Did you not go through the new wallet wizard?

Jack94
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
November 03, 2015, 02:35:06 PM
 #5

Not that I know of... I just opened it and found the receiving address.

I've basically lost £20. Bleh.
Jack94
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
November 03, 2015, 02:45:08 PM
 #6

P.S. This is the installer I used: https[Suspicious link removed]

EDIT: Windows installer on the official website
torusJKL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 623


View Profile
November 03, 2015, 02:52:42 PM
 #7

Do you use a computer that does not belong to you or belonged to someone else in the past?

It could be that another person already created an Electrum wallet in the past and it stayed on the computer.

If you find my post useful send some BTC: 167XM1Za8aG9CdbYuHFMpL2kvPsw6uC8da
Bitrated || bitcoin-otc || Moon Bitcoin Faucet
Jack94
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
November 03, 2015, 02:55:19 PM
 #8

No, this is a new laptop I've reformatted multiple times. I may have downloaded Electrum in the past and the folder remained but I never deposited funds into it. It wasn't installed on my PC and I had to reinstall. Either way, one of my passwords would work. Damnit.
torusJKL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 623


View Profile
November 03, 2015, 02:56:22 PM
 #9

Did you download the client from electrum.org?

Did you write the seed down at any time of the previous installations?

If you find my post useful send some BTC: 167XM1Za8aG9CdbYuHFMpL2kvPsw6uC8da
Bitrated || bitcoin-otc || Moon Bitcoin Faucet
Jack94
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
November 03, 2015, 03:03:45 PM
 #10

Yes and no. I've scoured my PC for a seed. I have a seed on another PC but that's for another wallet, which makes me think I haven't used Electrum on this one before.

I've tried every password I've ever used. Doesn't make sense. I would have had to confirm it twice.
pattu1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 675


View Profile
November 03, 2015, 03:07:28 PM
 #11

Seems to be a strange case.
It would be difficult to recover coins without seed / password.
torusJKL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 623


View Profile
November 03, 2015, 03:08:28 PM
 #12

Did you try to enter no password, meaning leaving it empty?

It would be difficult to recover coins without seed / password.
Almost impossible.

If you find my post useful send some BTC: 167XM1Za8aG9CdbYuHFMpL2kvPsw6uC8da
Bitrated || bitcoin-otc || Moon Bitcoin Faucet
Jack94
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
November 03, 2015, 03:10:45 PM
 #13

Yeah, incorrect password. I guess I'll just have to take this one as a lesson.
torusJKL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 623


View Profile
November 03, 2015, 05:41:54 PM
 #14

Sorry to hear.

Backup your wallet file.
Maybe one day you'll remember the password.
(or computers are fast enough to brute force the password)

If you find my post useful send some BTC: 167XM1Za8aG9CdbYuHFMpL2kvPsw6uC8da
Bitrated || bitcoin-otc || Moon Bitcoin Faucet
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!