Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2017, 02:37:12 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Running bitcoind in pruning mode  (Read 1838 times)
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
November 04, 2015, 06:09:33 AM
 #1

Hi all,

I'm trying to run a bitcoin node (satoshi 0.11) in pruning mode. If I want to keep the blockchain size at 30gb, should I just restart bitcoind with the command 'bitcoind -prune=30000' ?

Cheers,
John

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

1513046232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513046232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513046232
Reply with quote  #2

1513046232
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513046232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513046232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513046232
Reply with quote  #2

1513046232
Report to moderator
1513046232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513046232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513046232
Reply with quote  #2

1513046232
Report to moderator
1513046232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513046232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513046232
Reply with quote  #2

1513046232
Report to moderator
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
November 04, 2015, 06:17:26 AM
 #2

Also, is there any benefit in running a pruned node? Would that still contribute to the bitcoin network as a whole?

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
November 04, 2015, 06:32:56 AM
 #3

Hi all,

I'm trying to run a bitcoin node (satoshi 0.11) in pruning mode. If I want to keep the blockchain size at 30gb, should I just restart bitcoind with the command 'bitcoind -prune=30000' ?

Cheers,
John

Went through the code on github, yep I was doing it correctly.

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

shorena
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


ALL escrow is signed! https://keybase.io/verify


View Profile WWW
November 04, 2015, 10:09:10 AM
 #4

Also, is there any benefit in running a pruned node? Would that still contribute to the bitcoin network as a whole?

You still verify and relay transactions. Other nodes can no longer get block from you though, at least for now.

You can also add prune=30000 to the bitcoin.conf file.

John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
November 04, 2015, 04:08:03 PM
 #5

Also, is there any benefit in running a pruned node? Would that still contribute to the bitcoin network as a whole?

You still verify and relay transactions. Other nodes can no longer get block from you though, at least for now.

You can also add prune=30000 to the bitcoin.conf file.

Gotcha, thanks!

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

Carlton Banks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848



View Profile
November 04, 2015, 04:20:02 PM
 #6

Note that only the blocks component of the database can be chosen, so -prune=30000 is specifying the size of that portion only. I'm not sure if the rest of the database remains the same size or grows at a tiny rate, not familiar with running in pruned mode long-term.

Vires in numeris
gmaxwell
Moderator
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366



View Profile
November 04, 2015, 04:31:57 PM
 #7

You still verify and relay transactions. Other nodes can no longer get block from you though, at least for now.
If you run git master (to be 0.12 later) instead of 0.11 you will also relay new blocks as they are found while pruning.

Bitcoin will not be compromised
mezzomix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


View Profile
November 04, 2015, 06:50:26 PM
 #8

Did somebody already create an address index patch (UTXO and mempool) that is working in pruned mode?
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
November 08, 2015, 10:35:37 PM
 #9

You still verify and relay transactions. Other nodes can no longer get block from you though, at least for now.
If you run git master (to be 0.12 later) instead of 0.11 you will also relay new blocks as they are found while pruning.


Hmm... so the server is up to date with the newest blocks now, but I'm still not getting more connections then 8. I've verified that it can be reachable from outside networks.

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
November 08, 2015, 11:21:41 PM
 #10

You still verify and relay transactions. Other nodes can no longer get block from you though, at least for now.
If you run git master (to be 0.12 later) instead of 0.11 you will also relay new blocks as they are found while pruning.


Hmm... so the server is up to date with the newest blocks now, but I'm still not getting more connections then 8. I've verified that it can be reachable from outside networks.

Never mind, I got it working now. Gonna find the time to update it to 0.12 next. Cheesy

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
November 09, 2015, 08:19:34 PM
 #11

Did somebody already create an address index patch (UTXO and mempool) that is working in pruned mode?

No idea, but the relay block service is active now with the latest git master.

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!