Bitcoin Forum
December 16, 2017, 03:58:32 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Multi PSU S7 Question  (Read 1118 times)
surfariver
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
November 04, 2015, 12:11:01 PM
 #1

Hello,
I'm sorry if this is buried in the 300+ pages of the S7 page, search wasn't very helpful.  Trying to power an S7 without having to wire my home with 220.  Since the Gekko people are sold out for now, I'm considering using my existing PSU and buying a second one. 

I see from Dogie's review that I need 10 PCIE ports.  I currently have a CX750M which claims to have 4x ports, but really has 2 ports and 2 splitter cables.  So, should I go with something that has 6 ports, like the AX760 or something with 8 ports like the RM1000?  How do I know these PSU's actually have the number of ports they claim to have, vs half and splitter cables?  Is there just a better single PSU I should just buy for a similar cost?

Thanks!
Mark
1513396712
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513396712

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513396712
Reply with quote  #2

1513396712
Report to moderator
1513396712
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513396712

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513396712
Reply with quote  #2

1513396712
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414



View Profile
November 04, 2015, 12:34:56 PM
 #2

Hello,
I'm sorry if this is buried in the 300+ pages of the S7 page, search wasn't very helpful.  Trying to power an S7 without having to wire my home with 220.  Since the Gekko people are sold out for now, I'm considering using my existing PSU and buying a second one. 

I see from Dogie's review that I need 10 PCIE ports.  I currently have a CX750M which claims to have 4x ports, but really has 2 ports and 2 splitter cables.  So, should I go with something that has 6 ports, like the AX760 or something with 8 ports like the RM1000?  How do I know these PSU's actually have the number of ports they claim to have, vs half and splitter cables?  Is there just a better single PSU I should just buy for a similar cost?

Thanks!
Mark

I would not use "splitter cables".  Chances are unless you bought them on the forum here and know gauge of wire it's to cheap.

Also don't cheap out on PSU's it's a investment to keep your miner going.   Also it lasts multiple generations of miners.   Best thing is to have one with enough PCIe, I would not look into splitters.  Instead look at server PSU's and breakout board.  Or even antminer PSU if you have a 220/240.
surfariver
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
November 04, 2015, 12:54:08 PM
 #3

I'm with you, I'm not asking to use splitter cables and I'm trying to avoid it, but what I did say is, from what I can tell, the people who make the server PSUs and breakout boards are sold out (this was my first option) and its going to be a huge pain to wire my house for 220, so I'm looking to use standard 110 PC PSUs.

It sounds like what you're saying is to go with the 8 PCIe port PSU and only use the two direct ports on my CX750 and no splitters.  I'm still concerned though that when the RM1000 comes it will only have 4 ports and 4 sets of splitter cables.  Is that the case, or will it actually come with 8 ports?

Thanks,

Hello,
I'm sorry if this is buried in the 300+ pages of the S7 page, search wasn't very helpful.  Trying to power an S7 without having to wire my home with 220.  Since the Gekko people are sold out for now, I'm considering using my existing PSU and buying a second one. 

I see from Dogie's review that I need 10 PCIE ports.  I currently have a CX750M which claims to have 4x ports, but really has 2 ports and 2 splitter cables.  So, should I go with something that has 6 ports, like the AX760 or something with 8 ports like the RM1000?  How do I know these PSU's actually have the number of ports they claim to have, vs half and splitter cables?  Is there just a better single PSU I should just buy for a similar cost?

Thanks!
Mark

I would not use "splitter cables".  Chances are unless you bought them on the forum here and know gauge of wire it's to cheap.

Also don't cheap out on PSU's it's a investment to keep your miner going.   Also it lasts multiple generations of miners.   Best thing is to have one with enough PCIe, I would not look into splitters.  Instead look at server PSU's and breakout board.  Or even antminer PSU if you have a 220/240.
pj40
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 183


View Profile
November 04, 2015, 02:39:31 PM
 #4

I'm with you, I'm not asking to use splitter cables and I'm trying to avoid it, but what I did say is, from what I can tell, the people who make the server PSUs and breakout boards are sold out (this was my first option) and its going to be a huge pain to wire my house for 220, so I'm looking to use standard 110 PC PSUs.

It sounds like what you're saying is to go with the 8 PCIe port PSU and only use the two direct ports on my CX750 and no splitters.  I'm still concerned though that when the RM1000 comes it will only have 4 ports and 4 sets of splitter cables.  Is that the case, or will it actually come with 8 ports?

Thanks,

Hello,
I'm sorry if this is buried in the 300+ pages of the S7 page, search wasn't very helpful.  Trying to power an S7 without having to wire my home with 220.  Since the Gekko people are sold out for now, I'm considering using my existing PSU and buying a second one.  

I see from Dogie's review that I need 10 PCIE ports.  I currently have a CX750M which claims to have 4x ports, but really has 2 ports and 2 splitter cables.  So, should I go with something that has 6 ports, like the AX760 or something with 8 ports like the RM1000?  How do I know these PSU's actually have the number of ports they claim to have, vs half and splitter cables?  Is there just a better single PSU I should just buy for a similar cost?

Thanks!
Mark

I would not use "splitter cables".  Chances are unless you bought them on the forum here and know gauge of wire it's to cheap.

Also don't cheap out on PSU's it's a investment to keep your miner going.   Also it lasts multiple generations of miners.   Best thing is to have one with enough PCIe, I would not look into splitters.  Instead look at server PSU's and breakout board.  Or even antminer PSU if you have a 220/240.

You need 1200W to power the S7 (Well, 1210 from their specs page or 1160 if you have the 4.66Th version at 575Mhz).  The CM750 does not have enough PCIe connectors to power one of the boards as you need 3 per board +1 for the controller.  I use 3 HX850's to power my S7, 1 per board with the controller on the last one.  But I plan on getting the 4.66Th S7 if I can scrounge up the btc to get it before it sells out.  Then I will simply power 2 boards with 1 HX850 using 6 PCIe cables and the other board+controller using another HX850 with 4 cables.

At most your CX750 can power just the controller board since you shouldn't mix and match power to the boards using more than 1 PSU.  1 PSU per board is fine, 1 PSU for 2 boards is fine, but 2 PSU for 1 board should never be done.

The RM1000 should have 8 PCIe cables, so you can power 2 boards + controller with the device, but you still need another PSU that has 3 PCIe cables to power the third board.

Free faucet + lotto!  http://freebitco.in/?r=420364
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1540

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
November 04, 2015, 03:32:57 PM
 #5

If you're looking for Gekkoscience's Dell 750W boards, I believe Holybitcoin.com has some stock for sale. I had a whole bucket but a bulk customer came in looking for more boards than we had. PCBs and connectors are long-lead parts so it'll be December before we're back in stock but some reseller websites still have a few. I don't really know enough about ATX supplies to make recommendations.

Dalkore
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


ASIC Miner Hosting: www.bitcoinasichosting.com


View Profile WWW
November 04, 2015, 07:08:09 PM
 #6

Just installed one yesterday.    The client specced a Corsair 1500 watt which has 7 PCI-e (used 6 though) and a Corsair 750 watt for the additional 4.   Do not spit hash board between PSUs.   Each board takes 3 inputs so you need to have 6 on one PSU and 4 on the other.


[Winter Fire Sale] Hosting: $60.00 per KW) [6-month contracts] - Link
Transaction List: jayson3 +5 - ColdHardMetal +3 - Nolo +2 - CoinHoarder +1 - Elxiliath +1 - tymm0 +1 - Johnniewalker +1 - Oscer +1 - Davidj411 +1 - BitCoiner2012 +1 - dstruct2k +1 - Philj +1 - camolist +1 - exahash +1 - Littleshop +1 - Severian +1 - DebitMe +1 - lepenguin +1 - StringTheory +1 - amagimetals +1 - jcoin200 +1 - serp +1 - klintay +1 - -droid- +1 - FlutterPie +1
Rikim4ru
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169


View Profile
November 04, 2015, 08:20:21 PM
 #7

I'm about to receive my S7 soon...

I was under the impression that I would be fine with 4x 500w psu... 1 for each board and 1 for the controller only...

am I disillusioned?
pj40
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 183


View Profile
November 04, 2015, 08:33:56 PM
 #8

I'm about to receive my S7 soon...

I was under the impression that I would be fine with 4x 500w psu... 1 for each board and 1 for the controller only...

am I disillusioned?

As long as those PSU's have 3 PCIe connectors it should work...except for the 1 for the controller.  Most 500W PSU's don't come with 3 PCIe connectors at least from my experience.

Free faucet + lotto!  http://freebitco.in/?r=420364
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1540

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
November 04, 2015, 08:41:53 PM
 #9

And as long as those PSUs can each provide about 400W of 12V on a single rail.

Rikim4ru
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169


View Profile
November 04, 2015, 08:59:17 PM
 #10

I'm about to receive my S7 soon...

I was under the impression that I would be fine with 4x 500w psu... 1 for each board and 1 for the controller only...

am I disillusioned?

As long as those PSU's have 3 PCIe connectors it should work...except for the 1 for the controller.  Most 500W PSU's don't come with 3 PCIe connectors at least from my experience.

I have some adapter indeed. The voltage is the same I can't see why It would not work... ?

3x HX850 is like 600$ Bucks Tongue Even at my reseller cost... Thats seems exaggerated to me Sad
Anyone have a cheaper working alternative?
pj40
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 183


View Profile
November 04, 2015, 09:39:40 PM
 #11

I'm about to receive my S7 soon...

I was under the impression that I would be fine with 4x 500w psu... 1 for each board and 1 for the controller only...

am I disillusioned?

As long as those PSU's have 3 PCIe connectors it should work...except for the 1 for the controller.  Most 500W PSU's don't come with 3 PCIe connectors at least from my experience.

I have some adapter indeed. The voltage is the same I can't see why It would not work... ?

3x HX850 is like 600$ Bucks Tongue Even at my reseller cost... Thats seems exaggerated to me Sad
Anyone have a cheaper working alternative?


The only thing that matters is a 12V rail, 400W (I think they stated 410) of power, and 3 PCIe cables per board, and 1 extra for the controller.  Personally, if I had the right wiring, I would just use https://bitmaintech.com/productDetail.htm?pid=000201505040743496917U7kGsCm0694.

But since I'm stuck with standard US residential wiring at 110V, I'm stuck using standard PSU's.  You could get by with 2 HX850's which is what I am going to do when I get my other S7, 2 HX850 for each one.  I have extra psu's since I was running 8 S3's at one time and had the extra PSU's hanging around.

Free faucet + lotto!  http://freebitco.in/?r=420364
Keninishna
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 556



View Profile WWW
November 04, 2015, 10:08:15 PM
 #12

Would this PSU work? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA25V2SC4692

granted it has 4 12v rails so I'm not sure how to wire it up exactly but its all the same psu.
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


View Profile
November 04, 2015, 11:20:49 PM
 #13

Would this PSU work? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA25V2SC4692

granted it has 4 12v rails so I'm not sure how to wire it up exactly but its all the same psu.

 Check the JohnnyGuru review, they usually check to see which connectors tie to which rails, then make sure each of the hash boards in on a seperate rail and see if you can tie the controller board connector to the 4'th rail - though at 50 amps a rail you should be able to get away with running the controller from one of teh same rails that one of your hash boards it tied to if the 4'th rail is CPU/Peripheral specific or some such.

 For that kind of money though, I'd spring a little extra for a Seasonic 1200 platinum, or drop down to the Seasonic X-1250 or EVGA 1300 G2 gold units. Did the math a while back, and the extra cost of a platinum PS takes many YEARS to pay off unless your electric is expensive (and in that case you'll probably be losing money on mining anyway).



Rikim4ru
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169


View Profile
November 05, 2015, 03:39:26 AM
 #14

Just installed one yesterday.    The client specced a Corsair 1500 watt which has 7 PCI-e (used 6 though) and a Corsair 750 watt for the additional 4.   Do not spit hash board between PSUs.   Each board takes 3 inputs so you need to have 6 on one PSU and 4 on the other.



I think I'll go with 3x Corsair 750 then..   the Antec EA-750 is seems also a good choice..
Price wise, its pretty much the best deals.
Finksy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile
November 05, 2015, 04:52:31 AM
 #15

Use server PSU's.  That way you know the quality of cable you are getting is good, they are considerably cheaper, can be as efficient, and tend to last longer.  If you have 240V hookup you can go with the larger, 2000 or 2880W PSU's, or if not there are good alternatives for 120V. I wouldn't waste money on another ATX PSU if you plan on mining for the long term

IBM 2880W PSU Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=966135 IBM 4K PSU Breakout Boards & Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1308296 
Server PSU-powered GPU rig solutions! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1864539  Wallet address: 1GWQYCv22cAikgTgT1zFuAmsJ9fFqq9TXf 
OregonMines.com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105

OregonMines Official Account


View Profile WWW
November 05, 2015, 04:56:42 AM
 #16

We use 3 Dell 750's, the setup works flawlessly and is very easy to balance on our 3 phase PDU's.

For under the price of 1 of Bitmains PSU's you can get 3 dells with 2250w of power.

OregonMines - Co-located Hosting of Bitcoin and GPU miners. https://www.oregonmines.com - S9 @ $100 / mo, L3+ @ $70 / mo , 4U GPU units start @ $100 / mo in co-location fees. No setup fees. Limited space available today!
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1540

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
November 05, 2015, 07:11:11 AM
 #17

Two would do the trick. Judging from the first post, he was looking for those at the start.

dleader
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 601


View Profile
November 18, 2015, 06:39:32 AM
 #18

We use 3 Dell 750's, the setup works flawlessly and is very easy to balance on our 3 phase PDU's.

For under the price of 1 of Bitmains PSU's you can get 3 dells with 2250w of power.

Do you have  link for the Dell's?

Thanks!

.
.
.
▬◇
▬◇▬◆
▬◇▬◇▬◆
.
.







███
███░░░███
███░░░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███
██████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██████
██░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███░██░░░
██░░░░█░░███░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███░░░███░░░
███░░░░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░███
██████░░░░░░░░░███░░░███░░░░░░░░░██████
██░░░░███░░░░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░███░░░░██
███░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███░░█░░░░██
███░░░░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░░░███░░░███░░░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░░░███
███░░░███
███
.
.
.
◇▬
◆▬◇▬
◆▬◇▬◇▬
.
.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!