Bitcoin Forum
February 24, 2020, 09:39:07 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PCI-E mess  (Read 1468 times)
MZZM
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 09:07:06 PM
 #1

I read a lot of forum, and gonna build my first rig. And just to make sure want to ask. Is that possible to buy mobo with one PCI-E x 16 and with expanders make 4 pcie slots, so I can plug 4 cards. And as I understand it is not important what bandwith got pci-e for mining, so expande PCI-E x 1 should be ok for mining?
1582537147
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582537147

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582537147
Reply with quote  #2

1582537147
Report to moderator
1582537147
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582537147

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582537147
Reply with quote  #2

1582537147
Report to moderator
Bitcoin Poker 3.0
The Largest Bitcoin Poker Site
Bad Beat Jackpot Available
No Limit Texas Hold'em Cash Games And Tournaments
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1582537147
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582537147

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582537147
Reply with quote  #2

1582537147
Report to moderator
1582537147
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582537147

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582537147
Reply with quote  #2

1582537147
Report to moderator
M4v3R
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 607
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 05, 2011, 09:09:33 PM
 #2

Yes. You can use x1 slots if you have expanders. It will work just fine (for mining).
datguywhowanders
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10



View Profile
June 05, 2011, 09:12:29 PM
 #3

Where does one acquire these expanders?

Donations Welcome: 163id7T8KZ6MevqT86DjrBF2kfCPrQsfZE
rhuian
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 09:17:56 PM
 #4

Right here:

https://cablesaurus.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=10&zenid=47c6e3266649159c76fc0aa2e46d5e2b
Chris Acheson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 09:26:35 PM
 #5

Where does one acquire these expanders?

I have some extras that I'm selling for a bit under Cablesaurus' prices: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=10927.0
grue
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1209



View Profile
June 05, 2011, 09:28:25 PM
 #6

or you can buy them on ebay for $4, and cut them yourself.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Adblock for annoying signature ads | Enhanced Merit UI
teknohog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510
Merit: 252


555


View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 09:32:18 PM
 #7

It seems a lot of posters are misunderstanding the question. While 1x slots with extenders are fine for mining, you cannot make a number of 1x slots from one 16x slot.

world famous math art | masternodes are bad, mmmkay?
Treat your coins with respect. Only "pump and dump" people.
datguywhowanders
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10



View Profile
June 05, 2011, 09:54:39 PM
 #8

Oh I got the idea right... I have two extra, currently empty, x1 slots on my motherboard...

@rhuian: I checked your post and clicked on the link, but the site said no items were found. Did you already finish selling off all of them?

Donations Welcome: 163id7T8KZ6MevqT86DjrBF2kfCPrQsfZE
MZZM
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 10:10:00 PM
 #9

It seems a lot of posters are misunderstanding the question. While 1x slots with extenders are fine for mining, you cannot make a number of 1x slots from one 16x slot.

Are you sure? Because I though this thing http://www.logicsupply.com/images/photos/adapters/DualPCI-BM_big.jpg will allow me to do it. Or only one slot on this raiser will work?
Genrobo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 10:16:09 PM
 #10

It seems a lot of posters are misunderstanding the question. While 1x slots with extenders are fine for mining, you cannot make a number of 1x slots from one 16x slot.

Are you sure? Because I though this thing http://www.logicsupply.com/images/photos/adapters/DualPCI-BM_big.jpg will allow me to do it. Or only one slot on this raiser will work?

That's a regular PCI slot...
Chris Acheson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 01:34:34 AM
 #11

or you can buy them on ebay for $4, and cut them yourself.

Then you have to wait 3 weeks for shipping from China.  Not worth it if you're trying to get more mining capacity on line as soon as possible.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!