Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2017, 08:16:26 AM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: i0coin UPDATES  (Read 9086 times)
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848



View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 09:29:05 AM
 #41

I merged-mine lots of chains, all using the same merged-mining patch I think, though I am not sure if i0coin also uses the same patch. (I think it does though.)

Could it be that i0coin tries to validate blocks even before reaching the most-recent checkpoint?

I don't know if older versions of bitcoin did not skip over all the blocks up to the last checkpoint, only checking that the block-hashes of the checkpointed blocks matched its list, and only doing real validation of blocks more recent than the most-recent checkpoint.

Another weird thing about i0coin is it dies from failure to do a DNS lookup, I think it tries to look up a timeserver for some reason, and uses DNS instead of IP address to do so, and thus dies when my connection is congested or flakes out or whatever, causing DNS to fail. No other coin (and I have run a lot of types of coin) has ever done that as far as I recall.

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
1493194586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493194586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493194586
Reply with quote  #2

1493194586
Report to moderator
1493194586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493194586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493194586
Reply with quote  #2

1493194586
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493194586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493194586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493194586
Reply with quote  #2

1493194586
Report to moderator
1493194586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493194586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493194586
Reply with quote  #2

1493194586
Report to moderator
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
March 13, 2013, 05:44:19 PM
 #42

Is i0coin completely dead? Can you trade it anywhere?
I'm trying to update it and after it downloaded around 6.67GB of blockchain (around 500K blocks so far) it just crashes everytime with the following error:




Also it uses way too much RAM: 1.9GB which is weird.
Also how many blocks are there? I updated IXCoin and it only has around 121K blocks, but i0coin has more, but how many exactly?

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
tiker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 459



View Profile WWW
March 14, 2013, 05:16:14 PM
 #43

Sounds like the same problem I had with GeistGeld.  The 32-bit version on Windows crashed once the memory consumption reached 2gig.  I haven't run my i0coin client recently but I will check it tonight.
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
March 14, 2013, 08:09:40 PM
 #44

Sounds like the same problem I had with GeistGeld.  The 32-bit version on Windows crashed once the memory consumption reached 2gig.  I haven't run my i0coin client recently but I will check it tonight.

My Windows is 64bit and I got 6GB of RAM.

Anyway my main question was if i0coin is completely dead in terms of trading?

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848



View Profile WWW
March 15, 2013, 12:17:33 AM
 #45

Anyway my main question was if i0coin is completely dead in terms of trading?

http://galaxies.mygamesonline.org/digitalisassets.html

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=53329.0

In short, no, but, currently it seems one needs Open Transactions in order to access the markets.

At some point it should become possible to make a Ripple gateway for it, so that it can be traded on Ripple in the same gateway-enabled way that bitcoins can be, but apparently the sample gateway source code the Ripple team provided is not intended for production use and so far the gateways that are in production have not seen fit, as far as I am aware, to realease the production-grade software they are using. (If they actually even are; one can hope, but absent their source code who knows...)

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
lightlord
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792


★Bitvest.io★ Play Plinko or Invest!


View Profile WWW
April 05, 2013, 04:52:18 PM
 #46

Bumping this month old thread because I got a reply from someone that wants to offer a bounty.
Seems more interest is pouring into i0coin. Perhaps its a non-premined currency.
More worthy over ixcoin, as ixcoin is premined.

It should be i0coins that are worth more then ixcoin.

Lets get this problem fixed. Even though its been hogging around for a year.
It can be brought back up, its possible. As people we can make a community
based currency, made from many different ones. Anyone can contribute.



.
.BITVEST DICE.
HAS BEEN RELEASED!


▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
██████████▀▀██████████
█████████░░░░█████████
██████████▄▄██████████
███████▀▀████▀▀███████
██████░░░░██░░░░██████
███████▄▄████▄▄███████
████▀▀████▀▀████▀▀████
███░░░░██░░░░██░░░░███
████▄▄████▄▄████▄▄████
██████████████████████

▀████████████████████▀
▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
█████▀▀█▀▀▀▀▀▀██▀▀████
█████░░░░░░░░░░░░░████
█████░░░░░░░░░░░░▄████
█████░░▄███▄░░░░██████
█████▄▄███▀░░░░▄██████
█████████░░░░░░███████
████████░░░░░░░███████
███████░░░░░░░░███████
███████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███████

██████████████████████
▀████████████████████▀
▄████████████████████▄
███████████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███████████▀▀▄▄█░░░░░█
█████████▀░░█████░░░░█
███████▀░░░░░████▀░░░▀
██████░░░░░░░░▀▄▄█████
█████░▄░░░░░▄██████▀▀█
████░████▄░███████░░░░
███░█████░█████████░░█
███░░░▀█░██████████░░█
███░░░░░░████▀▀██▀░░░░
███░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░

██░▄▄▄▄░████▄▄██▄░░░░
████████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██
█████████████░█▀▀▀█░███
██████████▀▀░█▀░░░▀█░▀▀
███████▀░▄▄█░█░░░░░█░█▄
████▀░▄▄████░▀█░░░█▀░██
███░▄████▀▀░▄░▀█░█▀░▄░▀
█▀░███▀▀▀░░███░▀█▀░███░
▀░███▀░░░░░████▄░▄████░
░███▀░░░░░░░█████████░░
░███░░░░░░░░░███████░░░
███▀░██░░░░░░▀░▄▄▄░▀░░░
███░██████▄▄░▄█████▄░▄▄

██░████████░███████░█
▄████████████████████▄
████████▀▀░░░▀▀███████
███▀▀░░░░░▄▄▄░░░░▀▀▀██
██░▀▀▄▄░░░▀▀▀░░░▄▄▀▀██
██░▄▄░░▀▀▄▄░▄▄▀▀░░░░██
██░▀▀░░░░░░█░░░░░██░██
██░░░▄▄░░░░█░██░░░░░██
██░░░▀▀░░░░█░░░░░░░░██
██░░░░░▄▄░░█░░░░░██░██
██▄░░░░▀▀░░█░██░░░░░██
█████▄▄░░░░█░░░░▄▄████
█████████▄▄█▄▄████████

▀████████████████████▀




Rainbot
Daily Quests
Faucet
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
April 05, 2013, 10:15:18 PM
 #47

Tried the client but it crashes at 2GB...

I'm not a programmer... Too bad...
Could someone give it a try?  Smiley
dreamwatcher
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064


View Profile WWW
April 05, 2013, 10:29:26 PM
 #48

I0coin is still on the list of projects, it has just fallen down a "few" rungs.

If somebody does not fix it before I can get to it, I promise to take another look at it.

Offering a bounty may encourage somebody to take up the cause, especially with the value of alt-coins sky rocketing now, and get the client patched before I can get to it again.  Grin
Jambi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
April 07, 2013, 05:56:11 PM
 #49

I0coin is still on the list of projects, it has just fallen down a "few" rungs.

If somebody does not fix it before I can get to it, I promise to take another look at it.

I the mean time, if someone could post a 64 bit executable for i0coin v0.3.25.9 it would allow more miners to keep it alive!  I had to stop mining once the 32 bit version died.

MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
April 07, 2013, 07:33:40 PM
 #50

I0coin is still on the list of projects, it has just fallen down a "few" rungs.

If somebody does not fix it before I can get to it, I promise to take another look at it.

I the mean time, if someone could post a 64 bit executable for i0coin v0.3.25.9 it would allow more miners to keep it alive!  I had to stop mining once the 32 bit version died.


That would be great  Smiley
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1339


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
April 07, 2013, 09:12:08 PM
 #51

1st that memory issue should be fixed. It is NOT possible that ANY daemon eat so much RAM.
64bit exe will not fix it.

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
twobits
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336

Firstbits: 1a6taw


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 11:05:27 PM
 #52

I may take a stab at this, but then the conditions on the bounty seem to make it far less interesting.  I would have no control on if Vircurex reenables its support of the chain.  So the bounties would have to be changes to just being for the technical end that I can control.

doublec
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 11:45:47 PM
 #53

I may take a stab at this, but then the conditions on the bounty seem to make it far less interesting.  I would have no control on if Vircurex reenables its support of the chain.  So the bounties would have to be changes to just being for the technical end that I can control.
If you can resolve the memory issues I'd be willing to add it to the merge mining pool. I agree conditions involving third parties make the bounty less attractive.
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848



View Profile WWW
May 02, 2013, 01:29:08 PM
 #54

I0Coind right now is eating 4.9 gig and GeistGeld typically eats about four gig.

What kills I0Coind though is boost craps out trying to do a DNS lookup.

It is the only coin I have that problem with, I have no idea why it even does DNS lookups once it is up and running, but it dies every day or two or less from this and has to be restarted.

We need a github repo where a recent copy of bitcoin with the merged mining patches, and ONLY the merged mining patches, applied.

Once that is in place, all the merged mined coins can be updated at leisure.

Without that, each time any one of the coins gets updated the whole work of getting the merged mining patches to apply to a new version of bitcoin ends up having to be duplicated for each coin, which is just a total waste of developer-time.

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
Hazard
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


Internet Celebrity


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2013, 04:22:54 PM
 #55

I am currently in the process of reviving i0coin. To that end, I need beta testers for the new client. PM if you're interested (and have the i0coin blockchain already).

Also, merged mining support would not be available in the initial release, but the door is open for it to be added later.

markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848



View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 08:23:45 AM
 #56

I am currently in the process of reviving i0coin. To that end, I need beta testers for the new client. PM if you're interested (and have the i0coin blockchain already).

Also, merged mining support would not be available in the initial release, but the door is open for it to be added later.

You need to use -testnet then so you don't screw up the real net.

Even better would be to help get the merged mining patch to apply cleanly to current bitcoin, so a proper update all the way to recent code can be done.

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
Smoovious
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504

Scattering my bits around the net since 1980


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:09:39 PM
 #57

I am currently in the process of reviving i0coin. To that end, I need beta testers for the new client. PM if you're interested (and have the i0coin blockchain already).

Also, merged mining support would not be available in the initial release, but the door is open for it to be added later.

You need to use -testnet then so you don't screw up the real net.

Even better would be to help get the merged mining patch to apply cleanly to current bitcoin, so a proper update all the way to recent code can be done.

-MarkM-

Using -testnet wouldn't let us test against the current blockchain to make sure it is being reloaded properly with all of the past forks and changes to the chain being followed properly.

It wouldn't screw up the real net unless there was more hashpower than the non-testing people have, and we're not hashing at this point, just trying to validate the current chain.

Could really use a block explorer right now tho... anyone still have an i0c block explorer up?

-- Smoov
dreamwatcher
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 04:40:02 PM
 #58

I would be willing to put up a block explorer, when an i0coin  daemon (testing or release) is given to me that uses a reasonable amount of memory.

The state of the client/daemon now would require too much VPS memory for me to put on CCE.

Smoovious
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504

Scattering my bits around the net since 1980


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 05:52:09 PM
 #59

I would be willing to put up a block explorer, when an i0coin  daemon (testing or release) is given to me that uses a reasonable amount of memory.

The state of the client/daemon now would require too much VPS memory for me to put on CCE.


Yeah, that's the thing... by that time, I wouldn't need one anymore. I'm trying to find out where a fork occurs in my blk0001.dat file. We're past one of the fork points which Hazard was able to find, since it happened at a specific block, but there is another fork (or a couple) before the merge-mining fork at 160000.

I can currently follow the bad fork (since I didn't update at the time until after I found myself forked off, so still have the orphaned blocks in my chain) but can't backtrack to find where it happened.

I had thought about taking the trimmed blk0001.dat file from the testing build, and re-importing it into the old daemon, to see how far it gets before it rejects my supposed-to-be-orphaned blocks, but it doesn't import well, and have had no success.

(Hazard is handling the code, I'm just doing testing)

-- Smoov
steelhouse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 712


View Profile
June 06, 2013, 03:00:37 AM
 #60

I have an old blk0001.dat from 10-3-2012. doublec might have later blk and latest client.

http://i0coin.bitparking.com/



Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!