Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 01:44:31 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't seem to get second card working using x1 extender  (Read 1169 times)
wbros11
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 11:35:43 PM
 #1

Hey all,

I've been mining for over a month or so now with only a single XFX 5770 on my general purpose dell desktop.  I recently picked up another card on the cheap from a friend (Sapphire 5770) and ordered an x1 extender (with the slot cut in the end) from cablesaurus.com.  For the life of me I can't get the two card setup to work.  

I'm connecting one card to the x16 slot on the mobo, and using the x1 extender on other available x1 slot.  I have attempted to use the jumper method by shorting the pins on the x1 slot that I've seen posted several times and have both cards hooked up to monitors through DVI.  I'm fairly certain I have sufficient power for these two cards (500W with Intel Q6600, single HD, nothing special really).  I'm running Windows 7 64 bit.  Both cards work when plugged into the x16 slot directly.  

When I boot the system with the x1 extender on one card, the fan on the card starts spinning, which seems to indicate the extender cable is working I think. However, I can't find any indication that Windows, Guiminer, GPU Caps Viewer, or Catalyst is finding it.  Is there a reason maybe my craptastic motherboard (whatever came with the Dell system when I ordered it) won't work with this even with the x1 pins shorted?

I have scoured the forums for solutions.  Is there some other trick I am missing? Or simply faulty extender cable?

Thanks for your time.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480772671
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772671

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772671
Reply with quote  #2

1480772671
Report to moderator
1480772671
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772671

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772671
Reply with quote  #2

1480772671
Report to moderator
1480772671
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772671

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772671
Reply with quote  #2

1480772671
Report to moderator
kr105
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 11:43:05 PM
 #2

Have you tried booting *only* with the card on the x1 slot attached? I mean, disconnect your main card and plug your monitor on the x1 card.
If you don't get image on the BIOS boot process, maybe you have some connection wrong or your extender is damaged.
wbros11
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 12:12:39 AM
 #3

Have you tried booting *only* with the card on the x1 slot attached? I mean, disconnect your main card and plug your monitor on the x1 card.
If you don't get image on the BIOS boot process, maybe you have some connection wrong or your extender is damaged.

Thanks.  I did not try this...I thought of it, but never followed through.  I will give this a shot when I get home later tonight and see if it works out.
wbros11
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 04:23:46 AM
 #4

Ok, so I tried the suggested boot up with only the card plugged into the x1 extender and monitor plugged into it using DVI cord. (no card in x16 slot)  When I power on the machine, it does a succession of 4 beeps then a pause, then 4 more beeps then pause and keeps repeating that, but will never boot up.  I tried this with and without the jumper as shown in: http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=42 to no avail.

Any other ideas?
thundertoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 930



View Profile WWW
June 06, 2011, 04:36:54 AM
 #5

now try the new card in the x16 slot to make sure card is not dead. if it works try old card in x1 slot.

http://TEKcoin.org https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=320404.0  https://twitter.com/TEKcoins   Cryptsy Screwed me recovery fund btc: 114EfeskR7RR9Lkankm6SrYUpy4ExTAxh8
wbros11
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 04:38:53 AM
 #6

now try the new card in the x16 slot to make sure card is not dead. if it works try old card in x1 slot.


I have tried both cards in the x16 slot.  They both work fine.  I have also tried both cards on the x1 extender, neither works.
bsd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 05:14:03 AM
 #7

Obviously it is possible that the cable is defective. Try the cable on a different motherboard (friend's).
thundertoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 930



View Profile WWW
June 06, 2011, 05:41:53 AM
 #8

the beeps are a diagnostic code google your motherboard and the beep pattern. possibly check the cable with a voltmeter if another mobo isnt a option.

http://TEKcoin.org https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=320404.0  https://twitter.com/TEKcoins   Cryptsy Screwed me recovery fund btc: 114EfeskR7RR9Lkankm6SrYUpy4ExTAxh8
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!