Bitcoin Forum
September 23, 2018, 03:30:10 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: HP 1000W with s5 and s3+ running = FAIL  (Read 622 times)
onefastgsr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 12, 2015, 10:27:15 PM
 #1

Well guys I originally had 2 s3+'s and was running them off a HP 1000W server PSU, Obviously great combo, I obtained an S5, I been running a s3+ and a s5 on the PSU for 3 days now without any problems, Until about 30 minutes ago. Everything shut off at once. Power supply really hot, I knew I was at the limits of the power supply, running 950W advertised power, Not sure what it was actually using. I let it all cool down I put a huge fan on all the stuff. Replugged in the power supply, Everything started up and powered up, I unplugged the ethernet cables to just let the fans run. I plugged in the ethernet cable to the S3+ and it started running perfectly fine, 453 +- GH/s. I was happy about that and didn't get ruined. I unplugged the ethernet cable and plugged up the s5's ethernet cable, thankfully it loaded up and is running again. I'm going to factory reset the s3+ and get rid of it. I'm just going to run my single s5 because I don't got anymore power atm, Lesson learned don't try to push power supplies to the limit. I thought I was about to be out of alot of money, So thankful everything is still working properly... Going to try to save up some money and maybe bitmain will have a good deal on a S7 batch I might be able to pick up.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537673410
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537673410

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537673410
Reply with quote  #2

1537673410
Report to moderator
1537673410
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537673410

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537673410
Reply with quote  #2

1537673410
Report to moderator
1537673410
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537673410

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537673410
Reply with quote  #2

1537673410
Report to moderator
jermwerty
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 12, 2015, 10:37:37 PM
 #2

Dude.  Buy a KILLAWATT meter at harbor fright or something!  You have to know wall watts if you load it that close to the max!

Depending on the efficiency of that PSU you could have been drawing 620W for the S5 and 380W for the S3 for a total of 1100W (@ the wall)!

I always try to shoot for at least 10% LESS from the wall than the PSU ratings, if its a good supply. (ie 1200W wall draw on a quality 1300W PSU would be the maximum I would go, 1300W max should be the DC number before conversion so theoretically you could go 1400W+ from the wall but 100% loading 24/7 is a great way to blow out a PSU as you just found!

onefastgsr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 12, 2015, 11:20:29 PM
 #3

Yessir lesson learned! I looked up the kill-a-watt meter is about $20 or so. Definitely will be getting one if I do any future changes, For now I will only be running 1 S5 on this 1000W supply, Luckily no miners died or the power supply. I'm going to sell the s3+ and then just sit on the money and continue mining with the s5 until I decide what to do with my setup next. I've heard that if you pre-order a unit from bitmain, It normally always ROI and than makes some. So I might save up money and hopefully get a new batch miner in the future. Maybe s7 or whatever they have next.
PassThePopcorn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 193
Merit: 101


View Profile
November 12, 2015, 11:36:29 PM
 #4

I've heard that if you pre-order a unit from bitmain, It normally always ROI and than makes some. So I might save up money and hopefully get a new batch miner in the future. Maybe s7 or whatever they have next.
This is not always true, there is always a risk when purchasing a miner that you won't ROI. And if there was no risk everyone would be doing it, basically only put in money you can afford to loose.
Finksy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 13, 2015, 03:07:06 AM
 #5

Dude.  Buy a KILLAWATT meter at harbor fright or something!  You have to know wall watts if you load it that close to the max!

Depending on the efficiency of that PSU you could have been drawing 620W for the S5 and 380W for the S3 for a total of 1100W (@ the wall)!

I always try to shoot for at least 10% LESS from the wall than the PSU ratings, if its a good supply. (ie 1200W wall draw on a quality 1300W PSU would be the maximum I would go, 1300W max should be the DC number before conversion so theoretically you could go 1400W+ from the wall but 100% loading 24/7 is a great way to blow out a PSU as you just found!

Knowing the wattage at the wall does not necessarily tell you what the miners are drawing in DC from the PSU.  PSU efficiency varies by model, by individual PSU, by input AC voltage and by load.  Here is the 80+ Rating chart to show you the variation:



Manufacturers like Bitmain are usually pretty accurate on their miner's efficiency ratings IME.  Most of them factor a PSU efficiency of 90% when giving their ATW rating, except for the S7 which uses 93% as their ATW rating.  An s3+ draws ~325W DC, and an S5 draws ~530-550W DC, for a total of <900W.  The nice thing about server PSU's is that they typically have good thermal shut-offs, and usually come back to life after tripping them.  So, if in your ambient temperature that specific load isn't working for you, start downclocking the S3+ until it stays alive.  My experience has been that 90% DC load is a good maximum when dealing with Server PSU's, depending on the model and the ambient temperature in your mining area.

IBM 2880W PSU Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=966135 IBM 4K PSU Breakout Boards & Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1308296 
Server PSU-powered GPU rig solutions! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1864539  Wallet address: 1GWQYCv22cAikgTgT1zFuAmsJ9fFqq9TXf 
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1086



View Profile
November 13, 2015, 03:59:58 AM
 #6

You were pretty much using 950W from a 1000W PSU.

Generally not a good idea to run a PSU at 95% load however since this seems like a server PSU it should of handled it no problem.


.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
quakefiend420
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 13, 2015, 04:27:09 PM
 #7

You could pick up a platinum server supply from the link in my sig.  Should have no issues running both of those.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!