Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 06:28:57 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is it possible to use 4 X 6990's?  (Read 2473 times)
jakkeyter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 11:48:08 AM
 #1

Why does almost everybody only use 3 6990's?  Is there any limitation that would prevent four?

I have the following rig in mind.  Please advise if this will do or am I missing something.

4 X HD 6990
MSI 890FXA-GD70
2 X Corsair TX750V2
AMD Athlon II X3 450
Lian-li pc-V2010
2Gb DDR3

I believe under Windows this won't work, but it should in Linux?
1481437737
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437737

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437737
Reply with quote  #2

1481437737
Report to moderator
1481437737
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437737

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437737
Reply with quote  #2

1481437737
Report to moderator
1481437737
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437737

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437737
Reply with quote  #2

1481437737
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 12:10:25 PM
 #2

Should do, just be careful you don't run the power from the same line as the rest of your house, ie toaster, oven etc.

You MIGHT need 2 1000v PSU's, I don't have a 6990 but i know they drain alot of juice.
itsagas
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 12:13:29 PM
 #3

and 4 of those suckers in one rig is HOT, with a capital H. 

Be prepared to cool them.
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 12:21:01 PM
 #4

and 4 of those suckers in one rig is HOT, with a capital H. 

Be prepared to cool them.

Yeah, If I were him i'd get PCI extenders and stick waterblocks (+ like 10 fans) on each one.
jakkeyter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 12:29:17 PM
 #5

Thanks

So except for heat there are no other limitations, eg. O/S (Linux will be able to run these?)

BTW, whats the biggest single slot Card available?
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 12:32:15 PM
 #6

Thanks

So except for heat there are no other limitations, eg. O/S (Linux will be able to run these?)

BTW, whats the biggest single slot Card available?


Yes, linux can, but windows won't be able to.
piggybank
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48

www.solidi.co - UK GBP P2P Exchange


View Profile WWW
June 06, 2011, 12:34:00 PM
 #7

BTW, whats the biggest single slot Card available?

Don't know which is the biggest single slot card, but does it really matter? The heat output of any decent card is so high that you really cannot slot them onto the board without getting crazy high temperatures.... even with lots of additional fans!

Much better to use risers/extenders and then just place your cards further apart... in which case single or double slot, it doesn't really matter.

Solidi Digital Currency Exchange - https://www.solidi.co - Buy & Sell Bitcoins in GBP in under a minute.
eazolan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 12:38:44 PM
 #8

I'm curious to see who else is planning on venting their mining rig to the outdoors.

According to the wiki page, that's a max of 375w per card. 1500w just to power the cards.

That's converting 1500w of electricity to heat, 24/7. It's like turning on a blow dryer and just letting it sit there.

Water cooling them will just move the heat from the cards to the radiator. (water pumps also require power and generate heat.)
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 12:45:17 PM
 #9

I'm curious to see who else is planning on venting their mining rig to the outdoors.

According to the wiki page, that's a max of 375w per card. 1500w just to power the cards.

That's converting 1500w of electricity to heat, 24/7. It's like turning on a blow dryer and just letting it sit there.

Water cooling them will just move the heat from the cards to the radiator. (water pumps also require power and generate heat.)


Yes, but water cooling is alot more effective and efficient for something like this, sit your computer outside your bathroom or something and then it can heat that up Tongue
Danijel Habek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 189



View Profile
June 07, 2011, 11:39:09 PM
 #10

One could always try to plug those water blocks to the floor heating system, and save some radiators and water heaters...

Quote from: TraderTimm
For me, bitcoin is freedom that I never thought I'd see in my lifetime.
bcpokey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 11:57:27 PM
 #11

I'm curious to see who else is planning on venting their mining rig to the outdoors.

According to the wiki page, that's a max of 375w per card. 1500w just to power the cards.

That's converting 1500w of electricity to heat, 24/7. It's like turning on a blow dryer and just letting it sit there.

Water cooling them will just move the heat from the cards to the radiator. (water pumps also require power and generate heat.)


Well the stock TDP is 375Watts, you will get terrible hashing rates stock though. Overclocked it can do even more wattage. In fact the ATX design limit is 375Watts to the card (75 + 150 + 150) which is closer to 450Watts from the wall per card (max).

Just dig a hole in the ground and throw your PC in there. Best cooling solution Tongue
twitcoins
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 12:02:41 AM
 #12

> sit your computer outside your bathroom or something and then it can heat that up

I think you'd rapidly find that a 1500w load would turn a bathroom into a sauna.  Plus, you know, all that moisture.
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
June 08, 2011, 12:26:37 AM
 #13


Yes you can. But you will need to separate the cards somehow to stop the "stack" building up too much heat on the GPUs in the center.

Also you will need to re-route power bypass around the mobo rails or else you will start frying mobo power rails and connectors.

Lucky there is a solution!

https://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=6128.0

These PCIe ribbons lets you move cards away from each other to run cooler and also has option with power cores broken out to connect straight to molex power connector .... it bypasses around the mobo power rails ... you'll be safe now.

dingus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 08, 2011, 12:28:42 AM
 #14

One could always try to plug those water blocks to the floor heating system, and save some radiators and water heaters...

Someone already has done this. Search the forums.

edit: Here is the post I am referring to. http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=3707.msg53879#msg53879

ding·us/ˈdiNGgəs/
Noun: Used to refer to something whose name the speaker cannot remember, is unsure of, or is humorously or euphemistically omitting
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!