Bitcoin Forum
May 12, 2024, 06:25:45 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Looking to display Bitcoin price plus extra % that i will set  (Read 1694 times)
pamamolf (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119
Merit: 10

My passion in life is to help people.


View Profile
November 27, 2015, 11:09:06 PM
 #1

Hi

I am looking for someone that can write a few lines of code (maybe use an API) so i can display the current bitcoin price plus an extra % that i will be able to set on a site.

Maybe use a div so it will be easy to use the code in any place on my page.

Thank you
1715538345
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715538345

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715538345
Reply with quote  #2

1715538345
Report to moderator
1715538345
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715538345

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715538345
Reply with quote  #2

1715538345
Report to moderator
In order to achieve higher forum ranks, you need both activity points and merit points.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715538345
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715538345

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715538345
Reply with quote  #2

1715538345
Report to moderator
coinableS
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442
Merit: 1179



View Profile WWW
November 28, 2015, 03:34:25 AM
 #2

Here's a simple one I created in PHPfiddle:  http://phpfiddle.org/lite/code/9mbw-iu5v

http://btcthreads.com/how-to-get-the-current-bitcoin-price/

Code:
$url = "https://coinbase.com/api/v1/prices/spot_rate";
$json = json_decode(file_get_contents($url), true);
$price = $json["amount"];
$addP = $price * 1.05; //add 5% to the current exchange rate
echo $addP;

batesresearch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2424
Merit: 1148


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2015, 12:04:10 PM
 #3

Here's a simple one I created in PHPfiddle:  http://phpfiddle.org/lite/code/9mbw-iu5v

http://btcthreads.com/how-to-get-the-current-bitcoin-price/

Code:
$url = "https://coinbase.com/api/v1/prices/spot_rate";
$json = json_decode(file_get_contents($url), true);
$price = $json["amount"];
$addP = $price * 1.05; //add 5% to the current exchange rate
echo $addP;

Nice little script, good work.

Visit Satoshi's Place, a Bitcoin Hub based in Bury, Manchester, UK.
Website: https://satoshisplace.co.uk
Goals: Educate & Onboard users in to Bitcoin. Lightning network⚡️
pamamolf (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119
Merit: 10

My passion in life is to help people.


View Profile
November 28, 2015, 11:01:54 PM
 #4

Great THANKS Smiley

But can you add a few lines of ajax so it can auto refresh?
batesresearch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2424
Merit: 1148


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2015, 11:31:25 PM
 #5

You can add

header("refresh: 240;"); on the next line after the <?php

^ That's a 240 refresh second, just watch the amount of times your pulling from the API don't exceed the limit

Visit Satoshi's Place, a Bitcoin Hub based in Bury, Manchester, UK.
Website: https://satoshisplace.co.uk
Goals: Educate & Onboard users in to Bitcoin. Lightning network⚡️
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2856
Merit: 3071


https://bit.ly/387FXHi lightning theory


View Profile
November 28, 2015, 11:34:32 PM
 #6

Here's a simple one I created in PHPfiddle:  http://phpfiddle.org/lite/code/9mbw-iu5v

http://btcthreads.com/how-to-get-the-current-bitcoin-price/

Code:
$url = "https://coinbase.com/api/v1/prices/spot_rate";
$json = json_decode(file_get_contents($url), true);
$price = $json["amount"];
$addP = $price * 1.05; //add 5% to the current exchange rate
echo $addP;

.php code file
Code:
$k = 0
do {
$url = "https://coinbase.com/api/v1/prices/spot_rate";
$json = json_decode(file_get_contents($url), true);
$price = $json["amount"];
$addP = $price * 1.05; //add 5% to the current exchange rate
echo $addP;
popen("pythonfile.py"); //apparently this works!
} while ($k > 1);

pythonfile.py
Code:
 
import time
time.sleep(5)

SORRY! for using a previous person's content, i think this should work! If the content owner is unhappy with this, I will remove it (please pm if unhappy)!
I would suggest that you use the preev.com api (it refreshes faster!)

█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
or this!
.php code file
Code:
$k = 0
do {
header("refresh: 240;");
$url = "https://coinbase.com/api/v1/prices/spot_rate";
$json = json_decode(file_get_contents($url), true);
$price = $json["amount"];
$addP = $price * 1.05; //add 5% to the current exchange rate
echo $addP;
} while ($k > 1);
pamamolf (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119
Merit: 10

My passion in life is to help people.


View Profile
November 28, 2015, 11:49:02 PM
 #7

preev.com is cool but no idea how to use the api of them Sad
coinableS
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442
Merit: 1179



View Profile WWW
November 29, 2015, 03:37:46 AM
 #8

Great THANKS Smiley

But can you add a few lines of ajax so it can auto refresh?

Not a good idea, you'll get banned for hitting the API too many times, but here you go.


HTML:
index.html
Code:
<script src="ajax.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">
refreshdiv();
</script>
<div id="pricediv"></div>

AJAX:
ajax.js
Code:


var seconds = 5;
var divid = "pricediv";
var url = "price.php";

function refreshdiv(){
var xmlHttp;
try{
xmlHttp=new XMLHttpRequest(); // Firefox, Opera 8.0+, Safari
}
catch (e){
try{
xmlHttp=new ActiveXObject("Msxml2.XMLHTTP"); // Internet Explorer
}
catch (e){
try{
xmlHttp=new ActiveXObject("Microsoft.XMLHTTP");
}
catch (e){
alert("Your browser does not support AJAX.");
return false;
}
}
}

fetch_unix_timestamp = function()
{
return parseInt(new Date().getTime().toString().substring(0, 10))
}

var timestamp = fetch_unix_timestamp();
var nocacheurl = url+"?t="+timestamp;

xmlHttp.onreadystatechange=function(){
if(xmlHttp.readyState==4){
document.getElementById(divid).innerHTML=xmlHttp.responseText;
setTimeout('refreshdiv()',seconds*1000);
}
}
xmlHttp.open("GET",nocacheurl,true);
xmlHttp.send(null);
}

var seconds;
window.onload = function startrefresh(){
setTimeout('refreshdiv()',seconds*1000);
}

PHP
price.php
Code:
$url = "https://coinbase.com/api/v1/prices/spot_rate";
$json = json_decode(file_get_contents($url), true);
$price = $json["amount"];
$addP = $price * 1.05; //add 5% to the current exchange rate
echo $addP;

pamamolf (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119
Merit: 10

My passion in life is to help people.


View Profile
November 29, 2015, 09:22:05 PM
 #9

Great thanks !!!

But:

Quote
Not a good idea, you'll get banned for hitting the API too many times, but here you go.

Is there any other way to make it work like preev (auto refresh)  ?
coinableS
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442
Merit: 1179



View Profile WWW
November 30, 2015, 12:09:55 AM
 #10

Great thanks !!!

But:

Quote
Not a good idea, you'll get banned for hitting the API too many times, but here you go.

Is there any other way to make it work like preev (auto refresh)  ?

Yes, the way I do it is to set up a database to store the price/market value. Then set a cron job to run every N minutes to update the database with the updated rate.  This way you could have a million visitors and still never exceed the API limits, because you are just querying your own DB instead of hitting them with an API call for every visitor.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!