Bitcoin Forum
May 04, 2024, 01:05:22 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin dev IRC meeting in layman's terms (2015-11-26)  (Read 316 times)
G1lius (OP)

Activity: 14
Merit: 4

View Profile
November 30, 2015, 04:23:40 PM

Once again my attempt to summarize and explain the weekly bitcoin developer meeting in layman's terms. 
Link to last weeks summarization   

Disclaimer

Please bear in mind I'm not a developer and I'd have problems coding "hello world!", so some things might be incorrect or plain wrong. 
Like any other write-up it likely contains personal biases, although I try to stay as neutral as I can. 
There are no decisions being made in these meetings, so if I say "everyone agrees" this means everyone present in the meeting, that's not consensus, but since a fair amount of devs are present it's a good representation. 
The dev IRC and mailinglist are for bitcoin development purposes. If you have not contributed actual code to a bitcoin-implementation, this is probably not the place you want to reach out to. There are many places to discuss things that the developers read, including this forum.

link to this week logs 
Meeting minutes by meetbot 

Main topics discussed where: 

CLTV activation 
BIP68/BIP112 implementation 
Replace-by-fee

Short topics/notes 

It was an American holiday (thanksgiving), so there weren't a lot of people in the meeting, which started later as well.

Personal note: My weekly posts are being read by more people than I ever anticipated and people are expecting these to come weekly.   
Next year Mid-February I'll be on vacation for a month, so that's 4 or 5 meetings I won't be able to do.   
If there's anyone who's up for the challenge to take over during those weeks (or maybe just 1 week and share the load with others) feel free to pm me.