Bitcoin Forum
May 05, 2024, 02:39:44 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How divisible are bitcoins - the technical side  (Read 2256 times)
nelisky (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001


View Profile
September 23, 2010, 05:35:35 PM
 #1

Hey,

So there is another thread asking about bc and decimal places. It is stated that the client(s) only show 2 decimal places, but there are 8 in total. Now, working on stuff, I find that it would be nice if I could transfer at least 4 decimals precision, but the full 8 would be great.

Looking at the code it seems simple enough to remove the rounding from bitcoind, but what about the receiving side? If it's a non UI client, then it will show everything, but would I be making things overly confusing for GUI clients?

Is there any shortcoming in me patching my client to handle full precision?
1714919984
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714919984

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714919984
Reply with quote  #2

1714919984
Report to moderator
1714919984
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714919984

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714919984
Reply with quote  #2

1714919984
Report to moderator
Unlike traditional banking where clients have only a few account numbers, with Bitcoin people can create an unlimited number of accounts (addresses). This can be used to easily track payments, and it improves anonymity.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
FreeMoney
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1014


Strength in numbers


View Profile WWW
September 23, 2010, 06:01:27 PM
 #2

Won't transaction fees make that pointless?

If you are trying to give accurate payouts from the sportsbook I don't think anyone will mind having it rounded off at .01 for now. That is only $0.0006 after all.

Play Bitcoin Poker at sealswithclubs.eu. We're active and open to everyone.
nelisky (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001


View Profile
September 23, 2010, 06:10:35 PM
 #3

Won't transaction fees make that pointless?

If you are trying to give accurate payouts from the sportsbook I don't think anyone will mind having it rounded off at .01 for now. That is only $0.0006 after all.

Will transaction fees be applied to transfers above 0.01, but with more precision? I wasn't aware of it being that way.

And yes, I am rounding for now, but I like things clean, and I can either allow withdrawal of higher precision amounts, or I can round to 2 decimals the prize handout, I just rather do the former, that's all.

And no, it's not *only* for the sportsbook. I have plans... Smiley
satoshi
Founder
Sr. Member
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 6723


View Profile
September 23, 2010, 06:39:56 PM
Merited by stwenhao (1)
 #4

I would not encourage using the extra decimal places.  They're only intended for future use.

You are correct that above 0.01 can still have additional precision, but the recipient won't be able to see it.  The UI will show it rounded down.
FreeMoney
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1014


Strength in numbers


View Profile WWW
September 23, 2010, 06:50:09 PM
 #5

Won't transaction fees make that pointless?

If you are trying to give accurate payouts from the sportsbook I don't think anyone will mind having it rounded off at .01 for now. That is only $0.0006 after all.

Will transaction fees be applied to transfers above 0.01, but with more precision? I wasn't aware of it being that way.

And yes, I am rounding for now, but I like things clean, and I can either allow withdrawal of higher precision amounts, or I can round to 2 decimals the prize handout, I just rather do the former, that's all.

And no, it's not *only* for the sportsbook. I have plans... Smiley

You are a busy dude!

Did I hear something about the change being charged a fee? Oh oh, that was the block with the tiny fee in it. So 50.00001 sending 50 had a change of .00001 and therefore a fee, but usually no fee because 70.00001 = 50 + 20.00001 change = no fee. But this was fixed to only charge the tiny bit as fee anyhow.

Play Bitcoin Poker at sealswithclubs.eu. We're active and open to everyone.
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5194
Merit: 12972


View Profile
September 23, 2010, 06:50:54 PM
 #6

If you wanted to do that, it'd probably be best to modify rpc.cpp and deal with nValue directly.

The recipient doesn't need to do anything special to receive the coins, though they'll probably end up throwing away most of the additional (sub-0.01) bitcoins. You'll also be throwing away coins, but probably more frequently -- you might lose a lot of them this way.

You could eliminate losses from dealing in sub-0.01 bitcoins (for yourself) by improving the way Bitcoin chooses which coins to send. It currently doesn't try to avoid the "dust change" situation, so it happens randomly.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
purplezky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
April 14, 2011, 07:59:02 PM
 #7

Can anyone confirm that in the existing client it still is a bad idea to do transaction with more than 2 decimals precision ?
Does this "dust change" situation still happen when the transaction is less than 0.01 bitcoins ?
Because it's ease to change rpc.cpp to round to 4 decimals precision, and i imagine a lot of people would like this to be the case.
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5194
Merit: 12972


View Profile
April 14, 2011, 08:02:09 PM
 #8

Does this "dust change" situation still happen when the transaction is less than 0.01 bitcoins ?

It does.

Another decimal of allowed precision might be added soon.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
BitterTea
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 14, 2011, 08:08:28 PM
 #9

It does.

Another decimal of allowed precision might be added soon.

Why do it incrementally instead of allowing the client to handle the full 8 decimals of precision?
Gavin Andresen
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 2216


Chief Scientist


View Profile WWW
April 15, 2011, 01:52:57 AM
 #10

Why do it incrementally instead of allowing the client to handle the full 8 decimals of precision?

As of version 0.3.20, the GUI and JSON-RPC both allow full-precision values for sends.  So you can send 1.00123456 BTC if you like.

And the GUI will display full-precision wallet balances/etc (it truncates trailing zeros past .00, so you won't notice unless you have sub-cent BTC in your wallet).

The 'dust spam' rules are still in, so you're expected to pay a fee if you are sending less than 0.01 BTC-- that is, if you try to send 0.00001 BTC it will trigger the fee (sending 1.00001 would not trigger the fee).

How often do you get the chance to work on a potentially world-changing project?
khal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 540
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
April 15, 2011, 04:47:10 PM
Last edit: April 15, 2011, 05:15:35 PM by khal
 #11

Version 32002 allow full precision in RPC, but not the GUI (0.3.20.2 BETA). Linux version, 64bits.

[edit]
Transaction amount has been rounded... (with RPC)
Code:
~/bitcoin/bitcoin-0.3.20.2/bin/64/bitcoind sendtoaddress 1B3Lbed1DdthF1LEoPrAoJvbX2SqXY1TGx 1.00123456
801cb30169228441d1a8632a5b3d6b7880947c71e7db696818ac74d26edd3734
Code:
    {
        "account" : "",
        "address" : "1B3Lbed1DdthF1LEoPrAoJvbX2SqXY1TGx",
        "category" : "send",
        "amount" : -1.00000000,
        "fee" : 0.00000000,
        "confirmations" : 0,
        "txid" : "801cb30169228441d1a8632a5b3d6b7880947c71e7db696818ac74d26edd3734",
        "time" : 1302885826
    }
Gavin Andresen
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 2216


Chief Scientist


View Profile WWW
April 15, 2011, 05:20:44 PM
 #12

You're right-- full-precision is in git-head, but wasn't in 0.3.20.  It will be in 0.3.21.

How often do you get the chance to work on a potentially world-changing project?
khal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 540
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
April 15, 2011, 05:28:42 PM
 #13

Thanks, i prefer this rather than a bug.
purplezky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
April 15, 2011, 05:33:55 PM
 #14

Which Git branch is supposed to be 0.3.21
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!