Bitcoin Forum
February 23, 2017, 06:40:34 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Question about graphic card power connector  (Read 960 times)
kr105
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2011, 03:51:17 AM
 #1

Hello,
Today i bought a new hd5850 (EAH5850, the Asus one) and i was planning to add it to my minning rig. I noticed that on my PSU only left one free 6 pin PCIe power connector and some free molex, but the problem/question is:

The graphic card needs a 6pin connector and a 8pin connector at the same time, but currently i have one 6pin connector and one molex to 6pin connector, both connectors fit in the card but the second one leave 2 unused "pins" that the 8pins connector should provide. I turned on the computer and it went fine, but i'm worried about the 2 free pins.

I need to buy the 8 pin connector or i can feel safe with the current config?


Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1487875234
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487875234

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487875234
Reply with quote  #2

1487875234
Report to moderator
1487875234
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487875234

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487875234
Reply with quote  #2

1487875234
Report to moderator
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 07, 2011, 03:55:22 AM
 #2

.... run it at spec, if the card manufacturer decided the card needed 8+6 pins then that is likely the best way to run the card.

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2011, 04:34:27 AM
 #3

.... run it at spec, if the card manufacturer decided the card needed 8+6 pins then that is likely the best way to run the card.

True, but if you underclock the ram to 300Mhz and undervolt a bit, like I did, I guess it doesn't really matter.
If it works, it works...
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!