Bitcoin Forum
June 25, 2024, 06:18:53 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Solo Mining Altcoins With Stand alone miners like Antminer [Easy Tutorial] [Win]  (Read 8688 times)
anonymousx (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 431
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 16, 2015, 02:46:22 AM
 #1

Some people find it hard to solo mine altcoins using antminer such as S3, S4, C1, S5, S7 and others, generally I speak of miners which have Ethernet port or wifi and doesn't require to be connected to a PC to work, because they have their own rasberry pie or chip inside with CGminer or BFGminer.

This tutorial should apply for any altcoin SHA256 and ASIC miner.

I am writing this because I was trying to find a way to solo mine [ANTI] the first community maintained altcoin with no real owner or organization.

And my contribution to mining is the following.

You will need
- BFGminer.
- Your wallet running on pc.
- You and the miner should be at the same network "both connected to the same router doesn't matter Wifi or lan".
- a windows PC but if you use Linux or mac the only difference is the location of "altcoinname.conf" where altcoin name could be any altcoin.


First of all know what RPC ports your wallet use, google "coin name RPC port" if you don't know, for ANTI it should be 11655.

Now you will need to open your AppData it's located in C:\Users\YOURUSER\AppData\Roaming\AntiBitcoin this is ANTI example for other altcoins should be different in the last folder which is the altcoin name.

Make a new text file and paste the following:
Code:
server=1
rpcuser=XXXXX
rpcpassword=x
rpcport=11655
daemon=1
gen=0

Rename it to your altcoiname.conf should be named as the folder in my case AntiBitcoin.conf

Replace XXXXX with some user name like user1
the password recommended to choose a hard one instead of the x, something like 16 letters and numbers capital and small just don't use dots special characters and stuff because I don't know what they might cause, for example PaSSW0rdStr0Ng is good for now.
Replace RPC port with your wallet RPC port, as 11655 is for ANTI, you can have a custom port number if you want just remember that you will need it later, and it's recommended to use the one from altcoin specs just to not conflict.

so after you setup this exit the wallet and than run it again, your wallet now is running in server mode


Now you need to download BFGminer, we will use it as a stratum proxy, because your miner can't speak with RPC directly and solo mine, you need a proxy to translate between the wallet and the stratum based or http based miner.

download BFGminer from here http://bfgminer.org/ or compile from source doesn't matter do what suites you.

now extract BFGminer lets say to c:\ drive in a folder like c:\bfgminer\

Create a text file as the same location and put this inside:
Code:
bfgminer -o localhost:11655 -u XXXXXX -p x --stratum-port=3333
pause
Name it start-pool.bat

The above should work on all antminer but if you have a problem replace "stratum" with "http" is for compatibility.

You need to replace the port 11655 with the port you choose in your altcoin.conf the port 3333 leave it it's the port you will connect to from your miner.


now fire up the start-pool.bat you should see that everything is ready and no errors, it will display a speed of 0.

now go to command line by running CMD and write "ipconfig", find your local ip address for example 192.168.1.4

Go inside your miner web interface and change the first pool to "192.168.1.4:3333" without the replace the IP with the one you found from ipconfig but keep the port to 3333 since we used it in the BFGminer file.

save settings of your miner, and wait, you should see now that hash rate going up on the bfgminer window.

Your wallet will have the coins when it mine, you don't need to use your address as username or anything, RPC will handle it with the wallet, you might also find a new address in your wallet with label BFGminer, that will hold your mined coins, but depend on wallet.

I have tested this with ANTI wallet, so please backup your wallet.dat before you try, I know that many know this information but I share it because I didn't find it online, I had to learn it by my self, and therefore I don't want people to have to learn it all the way alone like I did.

Feel free to add or fix on this tutorial, share and distribute as you wish, and if you want to be free join ANTI team, you can be the dev, the representative or be proud and tell everyone you own this coin, ANTI is the first community based altcoin, made by the community with no owner or central dev, we all work and contribute.

Brought to you by ANTI - any skills are welcome, this is your coin
http://www.antibitcoin.site/
Indianacoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 252


View Profile
January 10, 2016, 10:23:38 PM
 #2

Thanks for this nice tutorial. I downloaded AntiBitcoin wallet to try out solo mining for the first time. I have a few questions as well as need some help regarding this....




now extract BFGminer lets say to c:\ drive in a folder like c:\bfgminer\

Create a text file as the same location and put this inside:
Code:
bfgminer -o localhost:11655 -u [b]XXXXXX[/b] -p [b]x[/b] --stratum-port=3333
pause
Name it start-pool.bat

Do I have to write the same username and password from AntiBitcoin.conf file in place of XXXXXX and x?



so after you setup this exit the wallet and than run it again, your wallet now is running in server mode.

How do I know that my wallet is running in server mode? Will there be an indication to that? I mean, will my wallet's interface show something like "Running in server mode" on its status bar?



Will I need to enter same username and password again on my miner's web interface?



I tried to follow every step but I faced this error everytime! Huh



I need some help regarding this error.
notabeliever
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 724
Merit: 504


View Profile
January 11, 2016, 01:19:16 AM
 #3

Thanks for this nice tutorial. I downloaded AntiBitcoin wallet to try out solo mining for the first time. I have a few questions as well as need some help regarding this....




now extract BFGminer lets say to c:\ drive in a folder like c:\bfgminer\

Create a text file as the same location and put this inside:
Code:
bfgminer -o localhost:11655 -u [b]XXXXXX[/b] -p [b]x[/b] --stratum-port=3333
pause
Name it start-pool.bat

Do I have to write the same username and password from AntiBitcoin.conf file in place of XXXXXX and x?



so after you setup this exit the wallet and than run it again, your wallet now is running in server mode.

How do I know that my wallet is running in server mode? Will there be an indication to that? I mean, will my wallet's interface show something like "Running in server mode" on its status bar?



Will I need to enter same username and password again on my miner's web interface?



I tried to follow every step but I faced this error everytime! Huh



I need some help regarding this error.
if you are using rcpport=11655 in your conf file the your url should be
192.168.1.4:11655 or 127.0.0.1:11655

your conf file should include
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcallowip=192.168.1.*
Indianacoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 252


View Profile
January 11, 2016, 11:27:21 AM
 #4

if you are using rcpport=11655 in your conf file the your url should be
192.168.1.4:11655 or 127.0.0.1:11655

Still showing dead. Huh I tried changing stratum to http in my start-pool.bat file but still did not work!

your conf file should include
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcallowip=192.168.1.*

Where should I insert those two lines in the conf file? Will it work like this?

server=1
rpcuser=XXXXX
rpcpassword=x
rpcport=11655
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcallowip=192.168.1.*

daemon=1
gen=0

Also my local IP is 192.168.1.4 not 127.0.0.1 So do I need to add 127.0.0.1 also in the conf file?
madmartyk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2688
Merit: 1030


Yes I am a pirate, 300 years too late!


View Profile
January 11, 2016, 01:42:27 PM
 #5

If you are using a device with a Pi interface how do you handle that it puts Http:// in front of the command?

Indianacoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 252


View Profile
January 11, 2016, 02:12:30 PM
 #6

If you are using a device with a Pi interface how do you handle that it puts Http:// in front of the command?


I used both : stratum and http one by one for trying out if anyone of them works but I got no luck. Sad

Anyways can you help me where did I go wrong during setup process?

Is the conf file alright?

I hope for op to come back and help me out with this mess. Huh
moroz00
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 11, 2016, 03:43:09 PM
 #7

If you are using a device with a Pi interface how do you handle that it puts Http:// in front of the command?


I used both : stratum and http one by one for trying out if anyone of them works but I got no luck. Sad

Anyways can you help me where did I go wrong during setup process?

Is the conf file alright?

I hope for op to come back and help me out with this mess. Huh

I have the same problem(((
madmartyk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2688
Merit: 1030


Yes I am a pirate, 300 years too late!


View Profile
January 11, 2016, 03:59:58 PM
 #8

From everything I have tried you can solo mine if your device has a Pi.  Not without setting up a proxie server.  If your device plugs into a computer via USB you can solo mine.

moroz00
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 11, 2016, 04:33:16 PM
Last edit: January 11, 2016, 07:34:31 PM by moroz00
 #9

It seems to me to resolve the problem,

http://storage4.static.itmages.ru/i/16/0111/h_1452532425_3074622_ff9f430218.png

but throws HW (antminer s1)

http://storage2.static.itmages.ru/i/16/0111/h_1452529947_4072649_aaf35ea4df.png
Indianacoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 252


View Profile
January 11, 2016, 05:13:16 PM
Last edit: January 11, 2016, 09:55:24 PM by Indianacoin
 #10

From everything I have tried you can solo mine if your device has a Pi.  Not without setting up a proxie server.  If your device plugs into a computer via USB you can solo mine.

I am trying to solo mine with my Antminer S3. I think it has a Pi integrated within the device because it works as standalone. No it does not need to connect to my computer via USB. See here for more info --- https://bitmaintech.com/productDetail.htm?pid=00020140630025130637RV8OhOwt06BC

It seems to me to resolve the problem,

http://itmages.ru/image/view/3391041/3c730df1

but throws HW



Omg that's amazing. At least it worked out for you buddy Shocked Mine is still stuck with no device found! Also when I press M and + at the same time it shows me with a blank screen! Cry

Can you pm me with the detailed instructions you followed step by step?
moroz00
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 11, 2016, 05:19:39 PM
Last edit: January 11, 2016, 07:51:36 PM by moroz00
 #11

From everything I have tried you can solo mine if your device has a Pi.  Not without setting up a proxie server.  If your device plugs into a computer via USB you can solo mine.

I am trying to solo mine with my Antminer U3. I think it has a Pi integrated within the device because it works as standalone. No it does not need to connect to my computer via USB. See here for more info --- https://bitmaintech.com/productDetail.htm?pid=00020140630025130637RV8OhOwt06BC


Omg that's amazing. At least it worked out for you buddy Shocked Mine is still stuck with no device found!

Can you pm me with the detailed instructions you followed step by step?

U3 works without problems (bfgminer -o 127.0.0.1:11655 -u xxxxxx -p x --http-port=3333
pause), but s3 and s5 can not get.
moroz00
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 11, 2016, 05:35:28 PM
 #12

S5 also turned to run, but the rate of ((((


http://prntscr.com/9otqer
Indianacoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 252


View Profile
January 11, 2016, 10:00:28 PM
 #13


U3 works without problems (bfgminer -o 127.0.0.1:11655 -u xxxxxx -p x --http-port=3333
pause), but s3 and s5 can not get.

Sorry that's S3 not U3. Typing error.

So I cannot mine on S3? Sad

Why is it not able to communicate with stratum server?

S5 also turned to run, but the rate of ((((


http://prntscr.com/9otqer

Then how did you turn on your S5? I think S3 and S5 are equal. The only difference is the hashrate. Btw that is not a problem though because ANTIBitcoin's network hashrate is low. So your miner needs to cope up with the network.
moroz00
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 11, 2016, 10:23:25 PM
 #14


U3 works without problems (bfgminer -o 127.0.0.1:11655 -u xxxxxx -p x --http-port=3333
pause), but s3 and s5 can not get.

Sorry that's S3 not U3. Typing error.

So I cannot mine on S3? Sad

Why is it not able to communicate with stratum server?

S5 also turned to run, but the rate of ((((


http://prntscr.com/9otqer

Then how did you turn on your S5? I think S3 and S5 are equal. The only difference is the hashrate. Btw that is not a problem though because ANTIBitcoin's network hashrate is low. So your miner needs to cope up with the network.

Why do you connect to 192.168.1.4 :3333? CMD and write "ipconfig"

http://storage8.static.itmages.ru/i/16/0111/h_1452550974_8786005_28041c2327.png
anonymousx (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 431
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 10, 2016, 07:51:18 PM
 #15

You can mine on any ASIC miner using my instructions, I did it with C1 which is just 4 S3's stuck together on a case.
Protocol73
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
June 27, 2016, 03:24:08 PM
 #16

Quote
http://i67.tinypic.com/xg9jye.png

I need some help regarding this error.

How do I fix (bfgminer) : No usable 2D Work upstream

I tried multiple SHA-256 Coins , & Double checked checked allowed ips

Please Help
aarons6
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1006


View Profile
June 28, 2016, 12:53:47 PM
 #17

i just tried this with peercoin on my s5. same error about 2D work..
i changed from stratum to http and after a few minutes its alive.. but very slow.. like 3ghs..

i dont think it will work.
ErikW79
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 15, 2016, 09:35:51 PM
 #18

I was able to get my antminer to work with wallet, but soon as it starts mining, allmost all chips show as X. Any clue what it means?
Thanks for any tip.

BTC_ISTANBUL
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 331
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 16, 2016, 05:44:43 AM
 #19

The more important thing is, 'is it profitable?'.
lovecodelc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 2


View Profile
November 11, 2016, 12:03:55 PM
 #20

Some people find it hard to solo mine altcoins using antminer such as S3, S4, C1, S5, S7 and others, generally I speak of miners which have Ethernet port or wifi and doesn't require to be connected to a PC to work, because they have their own rasberry pie or chip inside with CGminer or BFGminer.

This tutorial should apply for any altcoin SHA256 and ASIC miner.

I am writing this because I was trying to find a way to solo mine [ANTI] the first community maintained altcoin with no real owner or organization.

And my contribution to mining is the following.

You will need
- BFGminer.
- Your wallet running on pc.
- You and the miner should be at the same network "both connected to the same router doesn't matter Wifi or lan".
- a windows PC but if you use Linux or mac the only difference is the location of "altcoinname.conf" where altcoin name could be any altcoin.


First of all know what RPC ports your wallet use, google "coin name RPC port" if you don't know, for ANTI it should be 11655.

Now you will need to open your AppData it's located in C:\Users\YOURUSER\AppData\Roaming\AntiBitcoin this is ANTI example for other altcoins should be different in the last folder which is the altcoin name.

Make a new text file and paste the following:
Code:
server=1
rpcuser=XXXXX
rpcpassword=x
rpcport=11655
daemon=1
gen=0

Rename it to your altcoiname.conf should be named as the folder in my case AntiBitcoin.conf

Replace XXXXX with some user name like user1
the password recommended to choose a hard one instead of the x, something like 16 letters and numbers capital and small just don't use dots special characters and stuff because I don't know what they might cause, for example PaSSW0rdStr0Ng is good for now.
Replace RPC port with your wallet RPC port, as 11655 is for ANTI, you can have a custom port number if you want just remember that you will need it later, and it's recommended to use the one from altcoin specs just to not conflict.

so after you setup this exit the wallet and than run it again, your wallet now is running in server mode


Now you need to download BFGminer, we will use it as a stratum proxy, because your miner can't speak with RPC directly and solo mine, you need a proxy to translate between the wallet and the stratum based or http based miner.

download BFGminer from here http://bfgminer.org/ or compile from source doesn't matter do what suites you.

now extract BFGminer lets say to c:\ drive in a folder like c:\bfgminer\

Create a text file as the same location and put this inside:
Code:
bfgminer -o localhost:11655 -u XXXXXX -p x --stratum-port=3333
pause
Name it start-pool.bat

The above should work on all antminer but if you have a problem replace "stratum" with "http" is for compatibility.

You need to replace the port 11655 with the port you choose in your altcoin.conf the port 3333 leave it it's the port you will connect to from your miner.


now fire up the start-pool.bat you should see that everything is ready and no errors, it will display a speed of 0.

now go to command line by running CMD and write "ipconfig", find your local ip address for example 192.168.1.4

Go inside your miner web interface and change the first pool to "192.168.1.4:3333" without the replace the IP with the one you found from ipconfig but keep the port to 3333 since we used it in the BFGminer file.

save settings of your miner, and wait, you should see now that hash rate going up on the bfgminer window.

Your wallet will have the coins when it mine, you don't need to use your address as username or anything, RPC will handle it with the wallet, you might also find a new address in your wallet with label BFGminer, that will hold your mined coins, but depend on wallet.

I have tested this with ANTI wallet, so please backup your wallet.dat before you try, I know that many know this information but I share it because I didn't find it online, I had to learn it by my self, and therefore I don't want people to have to learn it all the way alone like I did.

Feel free to add or fix on this tutorial, share and distribute as you wish, and if you want to be free join ANTI team, you can be the dev, the representative or be proud and tell everyone you own this coin, ANTI is the first community based altcoin, made by the community with no owner or central dev, we all work and contribute.

Brought to you by ANTI - any skills are welcome, this is your coin
http://www.antibitcoin.site/
https://ip.bitcointalk.org/?u=http%3A%2F%2Fs22.postimg.org%2F90md3fhk1%2Ffirst_anti_wallpaper_now_make_yours.jpg&t=559&c=DBo0QET_HyrXzg

hi, i have some questions about solo mine with antminer R1. i create my altcoin and run it as daemon on RedHat server(ip 192.168.1.1), i want to mine altcoin by antminer R1, i modify some configuration according to your tutorial.
for example, my window pc ip is 192.189.32.1(antminer R1 and the RedHat server are not at the same network)

i run bfgminer on window pc, start-pool.bat's configuration:
bfgminer -o 192.168.1.1:11655 -u test -p test --stratum-port=3333
pause

my altcoin configuration(ip 192.168.1.1):
server=1
rpcuser=test
rpcpassword=test
daemon=1
rpcport=11655
rpcallowipo=192.189.32.1
gen=0

antminier web first poo: "192.168.1.1:3333"

when i run start-pool.bat. it notices:
"pool 0 slow/down or url or credentials invlid.
no servers were found that could be used to get work from.
please check the details from the list below of the servers you have input.
most likely you have input the wrong url, forgotten to add a port , or have not set up workers."

is there any incorrect step?

you say "- Your wallet running on pc.", i have not running altcoin wallet because i can not create altcoin wallet, could you give some advices? thank you.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!