Bitcoin Forum
January 17, 2019, 08:09:26 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 4 S7 on order 1st try  (Read 701 times)
j_nathan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 22, 2015, 06:11:29 AM
 #1

If I may...

I have come to appreciate "alternative media" in 2015. From goldbug rants to conspiracy toxicity the steep learning curve (for me) has been eventful, frustrating and rewarding.

Coming (what I truly hope) full circle to my former IT Roots, crypto currency just edifies my need to invest in something I can plan and attack while wrestling new challenges and not getting screwed over. So tomorrow goodbye closet Fiat presidents and hello power chomping hash monsters. My home and children will never be the same.

Honestly I'm on a high from absorbing so many interesting web personas while ingesting the tech so this is a respectful hello from the dark and a couple of simple questions regarding my buy in.

I'm pretty sure the new rig will suffice but in your opinion is 9thash enough to munch on the scrypt the next 6mths before the next round of halfing and next release of 14/16nm chipsets, for me to get a solid foot before upgrades in mid 2016.


I plan to budget another $500+ for home rewiring but could really use experienced recommendations towards wiring (2) paired  S7 or what dedicated breaker per pair is recommended.

8-10 S7 by spring is my plan (don't tell wife). But I hope the new models are out by then and we can piggyback off this buyin set to flirt with 100terahash (new chipset) by years end.

No matter what thank you for being a community worth joining and I look forward to what lies ahead with so many ridiculous variables in the markets and world alike.

They're just not ready for this.


1547712566
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547712566

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547712566
Reply with quote  #2

1547712566
Report to moderator
1547712566
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547712566

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547712566
Reply with quote  #2

1547712566
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1547712566
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547712566

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547712566
Reply with quote  #2

1547712566
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1475


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
December 22, 2015, 06:16:39 AM
 #2

the s7 is about 4.6 th do not order 4 if you live in the usa order 2.

consider getting a 30 amp 240 volt circuit

consider getting a 30 amp pdu.


this will run  4 s-7's


lastly
read this thread on psu's

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1284563.0

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
j_nathan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 22, 2015, 06:29:46 AM
 #3

Got it Philip (I frequent Data Centers, network engi)

Regarding the 2 USA not 4?
Is it a network delay issue or node saturation?

tee
eye
A
rockyforever
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 427
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
December 22, 2015, 06:37:26 AM
 #4

Tripp Lite PDU1230 Power Distribution Unit PDU 1U 20 Outlets 208/240V 30 Amp is the PDU I run. I got it for less than $100 plus shipping on ebay brand new.

I run on a 240v 30 amp. I had to get an adapter for the outlet (old dryer outlet) to connect the PDU. Than I got Finsky's 2880 package deal for 2 S7s. I am waiting for the 4000W one he is putting together that Phil linked and will add another 2 S7s

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1475


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
December 22, 2015, 01:31:31 PM
 #5

Got it Philip (I frequent Data Centers, network engi)

Regarding the 2 USA not 4?
Is it a network delay issue or node saturation?

tee
eye
A


Shipping issues and fees are bigger orders.

Most of us order from bitmaintech and use ups.

I do every order as a single unit I have purchased 5 or 6 so far 1 at a time and never had an issue.

If you read threads people getting 3  or 4  at a time have had issue.

If you want 4 do separate orders on the same day

I did 2 on one day 2 times

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1160


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
December 23, 2015, 03:07:00 AM
 #6

Got it Philip (I frequent Data Centers, network engi)

Regarding the 2 USA not 4?
Is it a network delay issue or node saturation?

tee
eye
A

No, it's a matter of Customs Duty and fees. Believe they kick in at $2500 so you need to split the orders to stay under that.

As for PSU's so far I'm very happy with the 6 I've gotten from Bitmain. At a rated 1600w they put a s7 load right around the 80% max load sweetspot. Also have scads of the IBM DPS200 PSU's.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!