Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 08:31:01 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: BTConvert  (Read 7224 times)
Tritonio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 652


Vanity of vanities; all is vanity...


View Profile WWW
September 29, 2010, 12:09:36 PM
 #1

I don't think one existed so here it is!

BTConvert. A portable currency converter for BTC, USD, EUR, GBP, AUD, Linden$, Pecunix, RUB, CAD and PLN. It takes the exchange rates from the internet every 30 minutes. Nothing fancy, it just works. I think...

Click here to download it

AutoIt3 sources are included. If you don't need them just keep the executable.

Suggestions, tips etc are welcome as always.  Roll Eyes

Also if anybody has missed it I've made a portable wrapper for Bitcoin: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=944.0

Changes so far:
v1 Initial version.
v2 Added AUD.
   Added refresh button.
v3 Some timers changed.
   Added link to bitcoin.org when someone clicks on his label.
v4 Users that click refresh too often are asked if they are sure.
   Added Linden dollar and Pecunix.
   All labels are links to related pages.
v5 Changed Lindel dollar source.
   Fixed a bug with manual refresh warning.
   Limited the decimal digits to something sensible.
v6 Added RUB and CAD.
   Fixed the LD label link.
   No more beeps. Instead it will show a persistent message that something went wrong.
v7 Andrzej added PLN. Thanks for that Andrzej. :-)
   Stores the last update time in the INI so that exiting and running the program soon won't cause an update.
v8 Docks in tray.
   No longer asks if you refresh the rates very often.
v9 Support for the new Mt Gox ticker data.
v10 Fixed last version because it broke.
   Data for most currencies is taken from: http://openexchangerates.org/latest.json
   Changed BTC decimals to 4. (0.0001

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480840261
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480840261

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480840261
Reply with quote  #2

1480840261
Report to moderator
1480840261
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480840261

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480840261
Reply with quote  #2

1480840261
Report to moderator
1480840261
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480840261

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480840261
Reply with quote  #2

1480840261
Report to moderator
Tritonio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 652


Vanity of vanities; all is vanity...


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2010, 02:28:56 PM
 #2

I've added some more currencies: Pecunix and Linden dollars.

BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2010, 03:44:04 PM
 #3

nice work,
would be cool if you could change the L$ source from LindeX to VirWox,
cuz that's what all BitLex calculations are based on.

Drifter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 367


View Profile
October 09, 2010, 04:30:00 PM
 #4

Isn't working for me unfortunately. At first there is a loud beeping every couple seconds while saying "Failed to update USD/EUR". When I finally enter data (1000 BTC), it gives me this:

Tritonio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 652


Vanity of vanities; all is vanity...


View Profile WWW
October 10, 2010, 10:14:25 PM
 #5

Drifter that would happen if you couldn't connect to Google or if Google was sending back unrecognized data. I looks like the only rates that weren't updated was the ones that Google is queried for. Are you using any proxies with Internet Explorer?

BitLex you mean I should change where the converter get's it's data or just just change the source in the about dialog? I suppose you meant the former. I will do it in the next version. :-)

mpkomara
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 180



View Profile
October 11, 2010, 10:06:28 AM
 #6

can you reduce the precision of the exchange rate to only a few decimal places?  tip sent.
Tritonio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 652


Vanity of vanities; all is vanity...


View Profile WWW
October 11, 2010, 12:02:19 PM
 #7

mpkomara I will do it today after I finish work. I will put something sensible for each currency. Thank you very much for the tip. :-)


EDIT: I made the two requested changes. Download it using the same download link. Here is the changelog so far:
v1 Initial version.
v2 Added AUD.
   Added refresh button.
v3 Some timers changed.
   Added link to bitcoin.org when someone clicks on his label.
v4 Users that click refresh too often are asked if they are sure.
   Added Linden dollar and Pecunix.
   All labels are links to related pages.
v5 Changed Lindel dollar source.
   Fixed a bug with manual refresh warning.
   Limited the decimal digits to something sensible.

Tritonio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 652


Vanity of vanities; all is vanity...


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2010, 03:48:43 PM
 #8

I don't know if anyone else has noticed this but it often fails to update the BTC/$ rate. If you click refresh though it will update it normally.I guess it's Mt. Gox that delays to respond and some timeout expires. Anybody having this problem too?

LZ
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


Satoshi everywhere!


View Profile WWW
October 29, 2010, 02:53:22 PM
 #9

I will be happy if it will also show RUB exchange rate. Wink

"Never invest unless you can afford to lose your entire investment." © S3052
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
October 29, 2010, 03:46:52 PM
 #10

thanks for switching to virwox-data, you missed the Func LDlabelClick() though, it still points to the LindeX Market, no big deal but might confuse people, cuz it shows different prices.

virwox got a json-api too, btw, you might want to check that instead of the main-website,
never used AutoIT myself, but this is what i do in php
Code:
#### VirWox - Data
$url = 'http://api.virwox.com/api/json.php';
$data = '{ "method": "getMarketDepth", "params": { "symbols": ["EUR\/SLL", "USD\/SLL"], "buyDepth": 1, "sellDepth": 1 }, "id":1 }';
  $ch = curl_init();
  curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_HTTPHEADER, array('Content-Type: application/json'));
  curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_RETURNTRANSFER, true);
  curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_POST, 1);
  curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_URL, $url);
  curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_POSTFIELDS, $data);
  $output = curl_exec($ch); 
  $obj = json_decode($output);
  curl_close($ch);
#echo $output."\n\r";


Tritonio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 652


Vanity of vanities; all is vanity...


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2010, 08:36:52 PM
 #11

I will be happy if it will also show RUB exchange rate. Wink

I will add it in the next version along with Canadian $. :-) But I will use Google for the $/RUB rate since ALL conversions in BTConvert go through US$.  Roll Eyes

Tritonio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 652


Vanity of vanities; all is vanity...


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2010, 08:38:54 PM
 #12

thanks for switching to virwox-data, you missed the Func LDlabelClick() though, it still points to the LindeX Market, no big deal but might confuse people, cuz it shows different prices.

virwox got a json-api too, btw, you might want to check that instead of the main-website,
never used AutoIT myself, but this is what i do in php
Code:
#### VirWox - Data
$url = 'http://api.virwox.com/api/json.php';
$data = '{ "method": "getMarketDepth", "params": { "symbols": ["EUR\/SLL", "USD\/SLL"], "buyDepth": 1, "sellDepth": 1 }, "id":1 }';
  $ch = curl_init();
  curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_HTTPHEADER, array('Content-Type: application/json'));
  curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_RETURNTRANSFER, true);
  curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_POST, 1);
  curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_URL, $url);
  curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_POSTFIELDS, $data);
  $output = curl_exec($ch); 
  $obj = json_decode($output);
  curl_close($ch);
#echo $output."\n\r";

OK Bitlex I'll use the json URL instead. It should be a little faster after all. Oh and I will change the label too... I thought I had. Smiley

I'll post the new version before Monday.

Tritonio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 652


Vanity of vanities; all is vanity...


View Profile WWW
November 01, 2010, 10:37:30 AM
 #13

Version 6 is out.
*Added RUB and CAD.
*Fixed the LD label link.
*No more beeps. Instead it will show a persistent message that something went wrong.

I didn't change the JSON thing yet...  Roll Eyes I was a bit bored.  Grin

Anonymous
Guest

November 01, 2010, 11:26:16 AM
 #14

Oh cool,you even have Aus dollars.
 Grin
Tritonio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 652


Vanity of vanities; all is vanity...


View Profile WWW
November 01, 2010, 02:30:02 PM
 #15

Glad you liked it. :-) BTW thanks to whoever sent some coins!  Wink

LZ
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


Satoshi everywhere!


View Profile WWW
November 03, 2010, 05:29:58 PM
 #16

Thanks for v6! I am happy now! Cheesy

"Never invest unless you can afford to lose your entire investment." © S3052
Anonymous
Guest

November 06, 2010, 01:35:48 PM
 #17

In a related thread I started a bounty to get a web based converter done.

http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1675.0

Some people dont like apps apparently  Roll Eyes

Tritonio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 652


Vanity of vanities; all is vanity...


View Profile WWW
March 29, 2011, 07:10:51 PM
 #18

Wow. Great work. I really like it. Keep it up. Smiley

Hey thank you! If you need anything added to the program just say it...  Cheesy

Garrett Burgwardt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
March 29, 2011, 08:43:24 PM
 #19

Wow. Great work. I really like it. Keep it up. Smiley

Hey thank you! If you need anything added to the program just say it...  Cheesy

Sorry to say that that is a spambot... forum has had some problems with them lately :/
Tritonio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 652


Vanity of vanities; all is vanity...


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2011, 12:54:53 PM
 #20

Wow. Great work. I really like it. Keep it up. Smiley
Hey thank you! If you need anything added to the program just say it...  Cheesy
Sorry to say that that is a spambot... forum has had some problems with them lately :/

Haha really? In any case I released version 7.
Changelog:
  • Andrzej added PLN. Thanks for that Andrzej. :-)
  • Stores the last update time in the INI so that exiting and running the program soon won't cause an update.

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!