Bitcoin Forum
June 23, 2017, 05:57:08 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Newb Backup Question  (Read 925 times)
Juntow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 05:16:57 PM
 #1

If I have an encrypted wallet backup, I understand that I should re-do the backup before the next 100 transactions. Sorry for the stupid question, but when I update the backup, do I just need to load the wallet.dat back up, or should I send the coins to a brand new wallet and back that up?

Thanks
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1498240628
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498240628

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498240628
Reply with quote  #2

1498240628
Report to moderator
1498240628
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498240628

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498240628
Reply with quote  #2

1498240628
Report to moderator
1498240628
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498240628

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498240628
Reply with quote  #2

1498240628
Report to moderator
Maged
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 05:24:12 PM
 #2

To update a backup, you just need to copy over your current wallet.dat. We also recommend exiting out of bitcoin before doing so.

Juntow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 05:28:34 PM
 #3

So if I have a backup and a spending wallet, all I have to do is remove the spending wallet for a minute, copy the backup back into the location, load bitcoin, exit, back it up again and then restore my spending wallet?

if thats the case thats what I was thinking. thanks!  Smiley
Maged
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 06:45:59 PM
 #4

So if I have a backup and a spending wallet, all I have to do is remove the spending wallet for a minute, copy the backup back into the location, load bitcoin, exit, back it up again and then restore my spending wallet?

if thats the case thats what I was thinking. thanks!  Smiley
I'm confused. Are you just trying to backup your spending wallet or are you trying to create a savings wallet?

Juntow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 06:49:57 PM
 #5

I have spending and savings wallet. I want to update the savings wallet backup.
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198



View Profile
June 07, 2011, 06:51:08 PM
 #6

If at any time the only copy of a wallet is on your "backup" media, then you don't have a backup you only have a single copy stored elsewhere than on your computer.

There are multiple approaches to keeping backups, including having a "savings" and a separate "checking" wallet as you describe.  Those are good practices when the amount of bitcoins becomes more than pocket change.

Incidentally, here's a guide from the Bitcoin wiki on the subject:
  - http://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Securing_your_wallet#Backup


Juntow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 07:04:11 PM
 #7

Ok I understand now! No need to update savings backup because it is a different wallet from my spending.

Thank you!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!