Bitcoin Forum
August 19, 2017, 09:07:00 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New GFX cards on old mobo/cpu?  (Read 772 times)
Xian
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7



View Profile
June 07, 2011, 05:20:34 PM
 #1

Hi guys, I'm new here.
I currently have a mule made of an old DFI LanParty nf4 SLI-DR (2 pci-e x16, 1 x4) and an opteron dual core 165. Let's say that I want to dedicate this machine to BTC mining only, could I use it with, for example 3 x 5830 graphic cards? Or the system is too old?
Also, if it works, what cards would you recommend me to get?
Thanks

KlondikeCoin - KDC - Join the Gold rush! NO PREMINE
1503133621
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503133621

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503133621
Reply with quote  #2

1503133621
Report to moderator
1503133621
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503133621

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503133621
Reply with quote  #2

1503133621
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503133621
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503133621

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503133621
Reply with quote  #2

1503133621
Report to moderator
xioros
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 06:48:03 PM
 #2

Hi ,
Frist : Good news:
It will run fine Smiley


The X4 slot , electric X4 , of physical?

If it's an electrical x4 , just plug in the card and it will run fine Smiley

If physical: Use an extender ( you should find the link on this forum...)


Happy mining and donate: 1L3GxCRZwXEh8VwpPAociZQdTkhSHKGMoY

Grtz

Xioros

Donate if I helped you :  1L3GxCRZwXEh8VwpPAociZQdTkhSHKGMoY
Xian
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7



View Profile
June 07, 2011, 09:04:06 PM
 #3

thanks xioros for your help.

Here is the layout of my mobo:
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/fc/PCIExpress.jpg

First slot is x4. I don't exactly know whether it's physical or electrical.

EDIT: I was wondering if my current 600W Silverstone PS could keep up with 3 5850 cards.

KlondikeCoin - KDC - Join the Gold rush! NO PREMINE
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2011, 09:10:17 PM
 #4

thanks xioros for your help.

Here is the layout of my mobo:
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/fc/PCIExpress.jpg

First slot is x4. I don't exactly know whether it's physical or electrical.
Those slots are (depending on a jumper setting) either:
x4 physical, x1 electrical
x16 physical, x16 electrical
x1 physical, x1 electrical
x16 physical, x2 electrical
or
x4 physical, x4 electrical
x16 physical, x8 electrical
x1 physical, NOT USABLE
x16 physical, x8 electrical

In theory you can use all four of them for GPUs with the first setting, the x1/x4 ones with extenders of course.

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!