Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 02:18:07 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [SOLVED] electrum server stuck and running at 100% CPU  (Read 495 times)
torusJKL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 623


View Profile
December 30, 2015, 01:52:19 PM
 #1

I have installed electrum server according to the guide at https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum-server/blob/master/HOWTO.md
I downloaded electrum-fulltree-10000-2015-12-29.tar.gz and checked the md5sum.
bitcoind is running.

When I start electrum server I get the following
Code:
[30/12/2015-15:06:38] Starting Electrum server on localhost
[30/12/2015-15:06:41] Database version 3.
[30/12/2015-15:06:41] Pruning limit for spent outputs is 10000.
[30/12/2015-15:06:41] Blockchain height 390710
[30/12/2015-15:06:41] UTXO tree root hash: b4c35e623ac12d85a92062fe39dd4a10dc9c0c0d160164828c2891450a3a73da
[30/12/2015-15:06:41] Coins in database: 1501495740711105
[30/12/2015-15:06:41] TCP server started on [::1]:50001
[30/12/2015-15:06:41] block 390711 (1 0.24s) ae52a703a35f1c5b32060998d4b8b2c5eabec0bf3543b9ecc327e8e074b035dd (4.14tx/s, 0.24s/block) (eta 1min, 254 blocks)
But it will not continue.

If I execute any ohter electrum-server command (e.g. stop, status, getinfo) then electrum will use 100% CPU but will be stuck.
The only way to stop it is to kill the process.

If I start it again I see the following in the log
Code:
[30/12/2015-15:40:11] Starting Electrum server on localhost
[30/12/2015-15:40:11] Database version 3.
[30/12/2015-15:40:11] Pruning limit for spent outputs is 10000.
[30/12/2015-15:40:11] Blockchain height 390711
[30/12/2015-15:40:11] UTXO tree root hash: ae52a703a35f1c5b32060998d4b8b2c5eabec0bf3543b9ecc327e8e074b035dd
[30/12/2015-15:40:11] Coins in database: 1501498240711105
[30/12/2015-15:40:11] catching up missing headers: 390710 390711
[30/12/2015-15:40:12] TCP server started on [::1]:50001

Any ideas?
Thanks.

If you find my post useful send some BTC: 167XM1Za8aG9CdbYuHFMpL2kvPsw6uC8da
Bitrated || bitcoin-otc || Moon Bitcoin Faucet
1511014687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511014687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511014687
Reply with quote  #2

1511014687
Report to moderator
1511014687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511014687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511014687
Reply with quote  #2

1511014687
Report to moderator
Visit and contribute to reddit.com/r/Bitcoin
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511014687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511014687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511014687
Reply with quote  #2

1511014687
Report to moderator
1511014687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511014687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511014687
Reply with quote  #2

1511014687
Report to moderator
1511014687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511014687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511014687
Reply with quote  #2

1511014687
Report to moderator
dan91
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile WWW
December 30, 2015, 02:57:03 PM
 #2

I noticed your transactions / second looks quite slow. How long did you leave it at 100% to make sure it was not calculating the next block.

Mine looked like this (same blocks as you)

Code:
30/12/2015-04:33:39] Starting Electrum server on localhost
[30/12/2015-04:33:39] Database version 3.
[30/12/2015-04:33:39] Pruning limit for spent outputs is 10000.
[30/12/2015-04:33:39] Blockchain height 390710
[30/12/2015-04:33:39] UTXO tree root hash: b4c35e623ac12d85a92062fe39dd4a10dc9c0c0d160164828c2891450a3a73da
[30/12/2015-04:33:39] Coins in database: 1501495740711105
[30/12/2015-04:33:39] TCP server started on [::1]:50001
[30/12/2015-04:33:39] SSL server started on [::1]:50002
[30/12/2015-04:33:39] block 390711 (1 0.02s) ae52a703a35f1c5b32060998d4b8b2c5eabec0bf3543b9ecc327e8e074b035dd (51.39tx/s, 0.02s/block) (eta 0min, 198 blocks)
[30/12/2015-04:34:27] block 390712 (918 47.29s) 2ac22a5951ea00357174f14aed0f6f0ca02276a054b4bb902a01f6df6acd7ae1 (19.43tx/s, 23.89s/block) (eta 81min, 197 blocks)
[30/12/2015-04:34:52] block 390713 (602 25.19s) 6237340e7e1aa842283ec871c9c02dbd969e1e6869e64330e1e916623fee8193 (21.00tx/s, 24.33s/block) (eta 82min, 196 blocks)
[30/12/2015-04:35:43] block 390714 (470 50.44s) f407705342ac0cd4493cfef7775ef26d557af4d2b4ec8c9b7cf91c091b2804c4 (16.11tx/s, 31.06s/block) (eta 107min, 196 blocks)
[30/12/2015-04:37:16] block 390715 (2240 92.62s) 3dc1fe0bf414708dbf8481648c8cba9ba598fc213dc26c7a83283f05654a0697 (19.66tx/s, 43.86s/block) (eta 154min, 196 blocks)

1Dan91q5KzP6w1RAzbwpiV5X2kMU3X9sFA
torusJKL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 623


View Profile
December 30, 2015, 03:22:36 PM
 #3

If I only start electrum-server and don't do any other command then it actually runs with around 0.3%-0.7% CPU

Code:
  PID USER      PR  NI    VIRT    RES    SHR S  %CPU %MEM     TIME+ COMMAND
  988 bitcoin   20   0 1470944 184652  11984 S   1.0  9.0   0:33.96 bitcoind
 1722 electrum  20   0 2316988 144540  46044 S   0.3  7.1   0:02.66 run_electrum_se

Only if I execute the electrum-server command a second time than it goes up to 100%.

I think I waited around 30minutes before I killed the process.

If you find my post useful send some BTC: 167XM1Za8aG9CdbYuHFMpL2kvPsw6uC8da
Bitrated || bitcoin-otc || Moon Bitcoin Faucet
dan91
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile WWW
December 30, 2015, 03:25:36 PM
 #4

If you open the log with it running (without running a new process) does it just say the same thing?

By killing the process you might have corrupted it?

Id head over to the electrum IRC someone more knowledgeable might help you Smiley

is freenode server #electrum

1Dan91q5KzP6w1RAzbwpiV5X2kMU3X9sFA
torusJKL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 623


View Profile
December 31, 2015, 01:10:13 PM
 #5

I run the electrum-server under a different user than bitcoind.
Thus when I set the ulimit for bitcoin (as described in the howto) it had no impact and I had to set it for the user that runs electrum.

If you find my post useful send some BTC: 167XM1Za8aG9CdbYuHFMpL2kvPsw6uC8da
Bitrated || bitcoin-otc || Moon Bitcoin Faucet
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!