Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 05:27:01 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to setup 6 cards on one machine?  (Read 920 times)
trueimage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 07:46:01 PM
 #1

Can someone give me some tips on running 6 cards on this motherboard:
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R


What are the "extension" cables I'd need? Anyone got a similar setup? what type of case / test bench do you use?

Looking to start with 6x 5830 / 5850 / 5870 mixed in and run a linux miner

so, assuming 5830 = 165w x 6 = 990, I'd need about 1200w worth of psu, any tips on that would be great too
1481347621
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481347621

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481347621
Reply with quote  #2

1481347621
Report to moderator
1481347621
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481347621

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481347621
Reply with quote  #2

1481347621
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
MiningBuddy
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1058


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 07:47:49 PM
 #2

Get some 1x -> 16x adaptors, or make do with 1x adaptors and cut the backs.

I wouldn't suggest 6 cards on one mobo, you run a high risk of melting your FSB.

trueimage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 07:53:18 PM
 #3

Thanks. What is the "safe" limit? 4? or should I just plug 3 straight in and do it that way?

i guess I'm also wondering how people are setting up having cards on extenders - where are they mounted?
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 07, 2011, 08:20:34 PM
 #4

Thanks. What is the "safe" limit? 4? or should I just plug 3 straight in and do it that way?

i guess I'm also wondering how people are setting up having cards on extenders - where are they mounted?

I'd just go with 3 cards as intended, but 4 certainly isn't unsafe as long as you have enough wattage.

People are just making their own mounts out of cardboard.. wood.. whatever they can.

Here is a cheap extension cable: http://www.camera2000.com/en/pci-e-1x-riser-pci-express-card-extender-cable-adapter.html

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
dingus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 07, 2011, 09:13:09 PM
 #5

I think the safest way is to go with 5970s (assuming you can find 3 of them). Since 5970s are dual gpu you can do 6 gpus that way (with linux), otherwise you will be hard pressed to get it working with 6 1-gpu cards.

ding·us/ˈdiNGgəs/
Noun: Used to refer to something whose name the speaker cannot remember, is unsure of, or is humorously or euphemistically omitting
trueimage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 09:53:19 PM
 #6

just like everyone else at this point, I'm buying what is available. That seems to be 5830s for the most part right now. There are a few 5970s on the used market from time to time, but the store price for 5850, 5870 and 5970 makes the 5830 @ $110 the most cost effecting solution for now.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!