Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 06:21:28 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: "Connecting" need help :/  (Read 1607 times)
PhoenixUK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 08:09:58 PM
 #1

I'm using the GUI miner and I'm sure everything is setup correctly, however, when I start it up it says " Starting " and soon after that it just goes to "Connecting" and stays there forever. I'm sure the password/login is correct unless I'm missing something? I can connect with the official bitcoin client and when I push there 'generate bitcoins' it works fine but this just says connecting forever and doesn't do anything.

Any ideas please?


Sorry if this was covered already but I couldn't find any info on it other than somebody forgetting the dot between username for login.

I tried slush pool and bitcoin.lc but both just hang on 'connecting'.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481437288
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437288

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437288
Reply with quote  #2

1481437288
Report to moderator
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 07, 2011, 08:10:56 PM
 #2

Is the blockchain still downloading?

It won't start till it is completely up to date.

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 07, 2011, 08:12:49 PM
 #3

If it is taking too long you can download the blockchain here http://sourceforge.net/projects/bitcoin/files/Bitcoin/blockchain/

Likely much faster than downloading via the client. You will still need to download blocks after 120000

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
PhoenixUK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 08:13:24 PM
 #4

Nope I finished that already, do I need to have the official client running at the same time as the other one tho ? If yes does it have to be with the -server bit for pooled mining or just normal?
MoonShadow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
June 07, 2011, 08:17:26 PM
 #5

Nope I finished that already, do I need to have the official client running at the same time as the other one tho ?

If you are trying to mine alone, then yes, you must have a client running.  If you are trying to mine in a pool, you don't even need the blockchain.

"The powers of financial capitalism had another far-reaching aim, nothing less than to create a world system of financial control in private hands able to dominate the political system of each country and the economy of the world as a whole. This system was to be controlled in a feudalist fashion by the central banks of the world acting in concert, by secret agreements arrived at in frequent meetings and conferences. The apex of the systems was to be the Bank for International Settlements in Basel, Switzerland, a private bank owned and controlled by the world's central banks which were themselves private corporations. Each central bank...sought to dominate its government by its ability to control Treasury loans, to manipulate foreign exchanges, to influence the level of economic activity in the country, and to influence cooperative politicians by subsequent economic rewards in the business world."

- Carroll Quigley, CFR member, mentor to Bill Clinton, from 'Tragedy And Hope'
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 07, 2011, 08:17:26 PM
 #6

You do need bitcoin running as server.

Since you are using guiminer, there is a dropdown menu option to specify the "bitcoin.exe" location, do that then select the menu option for "launch bitcoin as server" that should do it.

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
PhoenixUK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 08:22:04 PM
 #7

OK so once again, what do I need to run in which order for pooled mining (NOT solo) ?
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 07, 2011, 08:24:16 PM
 #8

OK so once again, what do I need to run in which order for pooled mining (NOT solo) ?


Whoops, sorry man. I am watching wayyy too many threads.

 No you do not need server running for pooled mining. Make sure you can ping the pool address, maybe your firewall is blocking requests?

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
PhoenixUK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 08:29:14 PM
 #9

All firewalls switched off and I can ping bitcoin.lc and also 81.200.64.50 just fine no problems.

PS. also running it as administrator on win7.
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 07, 2011, 08:30:42 PM
 #10

All firewalls switched off and I can ping bitcoin.lc and also 81.200.64.50 just fine no problems.

Do you have the proper port number?

Also what pool are you using?

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
ensign_lee
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 356


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 08:33:20 PM
 #11

What errors are you seeing in the "console" view of GUIminer. We need those error messages to tell you why you can't connect. Could be as simple as you not inputting the right usernames and passwords, or could be that you don't have interwebz, or could be that your firewall/antivirus is preventing GUIminer from running. We need more info.
PhoenixUK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 08:34:11 PM
 #12

https://www.bitcoins.lc/
and tried the slush pool that was in config already as well.

Have the correct port numbers and for the bitcoins.lc I've put all info as on their website and the username and pass that they gave me in my acc config.

I bet it's something silly that we're missing ...
PhoenixUK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 08:36:14 PM
 #13

2011-06-07 13:36:30: Running command: poclbm.exe --user=xxxxx --pass=xxxxxx -o bitcoin.lc -p 8080 -d0 --verbose
2011-06-07 13:36:30: Listener for "lc" started
2011-06-07 13:36:30: Listener for "lc": Wrong platform or more than one OpenCL platforms found, use --platform to select one of the following
2011-06-07 13:36:30: Listener for "lc":
  •    ATI Stream
2011-06-07 13:36:30: Listener for "lc": [1]   NVIDIA CUDA

edited user and pass.

--------------

EDIT2:

I've put the device number as it said and thats what I get now:

2011-06-07 13:39:25: Running command: poclbm.exe --user=xxxxxxxxxxxxx --pass=xxxxxxxx -o bitcoin.lc -p 8080 -d0 --verbose --platform 1
2011-06-07 13:39:25: Listener for "lc" started
2011-06-07 13:39:31: Listener for "lc": 07/06/2011 13:39:31, Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC
2011-06-07 13:39:34: Listener for "lc": 07/06/2011 13:39:34, Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC
2011-06-07 13:39:37: Listener for "lc": 07/06/2011 13:39:37, Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC
2011-06-07 13:39:41: Listener for "lc": 07/06/2011 13:39:41, Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC
2011-06-07 13:39:44: Listener for "lc": 07/06/2011 13:39:44, Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC
2011-06-07 13:39:47: Listener for "lc": 07/06/2011 13:39:47, Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC
2011-06-07 13:39:50: Listener for "lc": 07/06/2011 13:39:50, Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC
2011-06-07 13:39:54: Listener for "lc": 07/06/2011 13:39:54, Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC
2011-06-07 13:39:57: Listener for "lc": 07/06/2011 13:39:57, Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC
2011-06-07 13:40:00: Listener for "lc": 07/06/2011 13:40:00, Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC
PhoenixUK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 08:51:29 PM
 #14

OK, adding the device bit to slush pools seems to got it working and as website updated the estimated reward looks like it's all fine.
On the other hand it still doesn't connect to the other one, I'll stick to this one for now I guess. Thanks all for help !

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!