Bitcoin Forum
September 19, 2018, 11:37:29 PM *
News: ♦♦ Bitcoin Core users must update to 0.16.3 [Torrent]. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Should i upgrade firmware?  (Read 2425 times)
BannedDK
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 08, 2016, 05:05:03 PM
 #1

as the subject says, should i upgrade the firmware of all my miners or is it pointless if they run smooth?

Im no pro with cgminer or anything. just plug and play. I joined the mining fun about 6 month ago.

3 x S3 old firmware



tried to search for an answer but to many post to go through with the words "upgrade firmware" Huh



/BannedDk
1537400249
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537400249

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537400249
Reply with quote  #2

1537400249
Report to moderator
1537400249
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537400249

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537400249
Reply with quote  #2

1537400249
Report to moderator
1537400249
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537400249

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537400249
Reply with quote  #2

1537400249
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
January 09, 2016, 03:14:02 AM
 #2

AS a rules never upgrade the firm ware unless there is some thing new in the upgrade or you are having issue that the new firm ware might fix and the Warning is do it at your risk .

but if your like me i do it if it needs it or not @ my own risk , i have this thing about all my PC's etc and keeping them  updated with all software they use including the firmware, on any thing i own .

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
OneInchWonder
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 09, 2016, 04:04:22 AM
 #3

If it was we. No. If there is nothing wrong then why go change things.

I have a dead S3 do to fail update.

get.uber.com/drive/?invite_code=brianp6308ue
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1053


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 09, 2016, 04:17:10 AM
 #4

If it's an S3, do my update.
Faster miner, lower load average, better web display, all known Bitmain bugs not present, newer version of cgminer with all related enhancements ... etc etc

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS3

Generic rules don't apply Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
OneInchWonder
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 09, 2016, 05:22:54 AM
 #5

If it's an S3, do my update.
Faster miner, lower load average, better web display, all known Bitmain bugs not present, newer version of cgminer with all related enhancements ... etc etc

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS3

Generic rules don't apply Smiley

I will give it try.
Is your update for S3, S3+ or both because i have both.

get.uber.com/drive/?invite_code=brianp6308ue
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1053


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 09, 2016, 11:07:09 AM
 #6

If it's an S3, do my update.
Faster miner, lower load average, better web display, all known Bitmain bugs not present, newer version of cgminer with all related enhancements ... etc etc

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS3

Generic rules don't apply Smiley

I will give it try.
Is your update for S3, S3+ or both because i have both.
Both, but it wont fix a broken miner.
My post was to the OP, not to fixing miners that are broken.
Put it on the un-broken ones Smiley

My update can't kill a miner, it's not a flash.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
BannedDK
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 09, 2016, 02:46:01 PM
 #7

If it's an S3, do my update.
Faster miner, lower load average, better web display, all known Bitmain bugs not present, newer version of cgminer with all related enhancements ... etc etc

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS3

Generic rules don't apply Smiley


thanks alot, ill try it out on the s3´s when i got the time. a faster miner is always welcome  Grin
OneInchWonder
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 09, 2016, 05:32:43 PM
 #8

If it's an S3, do my update.
Faster miner, lower load average, better web display, all known Bitmain bugs not present, newer version of cgminer with all related enhancements ... etc etc

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS3

Generic rules don't apply Smiley

I will give it try.
Is your update for S3, S3+ or both because i have both.
Both, but it wont fix a broken miner.
My post was to the OP, not to fixing miners that are broken.
Put it on the un-broken ones Smiley

My update can't kill a miner, it's not a flash.

Thanks for the info. The broken one is shiped out to Pinhead to look at.

get.uber.com/drive/?invite_code=brianp6308ue
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1053


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 09, 2016, 08:39:46 PM
 #9

If it's an S3, do my update.
Faster miner, lower load average, better web display, all known Bitmain bugs not present, newer version of cgminer with all related enhancements ... etc etc

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS3

Generic rules don't apply Smiley


thanks alot, ill try it out on the s3´s when i got the time. a faster miner is always welcome  Grin
Oh there might be some misunderstanding there ...
It wont hash GHs noticeably faster - you wont get an obvious hash rate increase Smiley
You will expect a minor improvement there though.

The miner code itself is optimised to use way less CPU so it will be faster at processing incoming work, processing shares and sending them out.
So everything runs way smoother and way less internal latency in the miner.
You'll notice it obviously on the web page itself, it will usually update much faster.
... and of course as I mentioned, you'll see the Load Average much lower (in the top left)

I also allow the internal work diff to be higher, closer to the pool value, so that also reduces the amount of internal processing, but shows higher variance on the miner display.
That won't, however, change the amount of shares sent to the pool at all, it's an internal performance improvement.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
OneInchWonder
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 09, 2016, 09:04:17 PM
 #10

Updated both S3 and S3+. Had no problems.
I can tell miner is running way better. I looked at the numbers on the top left and they way down from 2.70+ to under .5 most of the time.
Also over clocking the S3 is just like S3+ now.

Thanks.

My broken miner had this on it. It was my first miner and wanted to see what this mining is about.

get.uber.com/drive/?invite_code=brianp6308ue
BannedDK
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 09, 2016, 10:02:42 PM
 #11

If it's an S3, do my update.
Faster miner, lower load average, better web display, all known Bitmain bugs not present, newer version of cgminer with all related enhancements ... etc etc

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS3

Generic rules don't apply Smiley


thanks alot, ill try it out on the s3´s when i got the time. a faster miner is always welcome  Grin
Oh there might be some misunderstanding there ...
It wont hash GHs noticeably faster - you wont get an obvious hash rate increase Smiley
You will expect a minor improvement there though.

The miner code itself is optimised to use way less CPU so it will be faster at processing incoming work, processing shares and sending them out.
So everything runs way smoother and way less internal latency in the miner.
You'll notice it obviously on the web page itself, it will usually update much faster.
... and of course as I mentioned, you'll see the Load Average much lower (in the top left)

I also allow the internal work diff to be higher, closer to the pool value, so that also reduces the amount of internal processing, but shows higher variance on the miner display.
That won't, however, change the amount of shares sent to the pool at all, it's an internal performance improvement.


i know it wont be Hashing faster, but just perform faster  Cheesy

2 of them are really slow, takes ages to log in and see stats and so on, so a upgrade might be usefull
rkinnin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 316
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 12, 2016, 01:04:45 AM
 #12

If it's an S3, do my update.
Faster miner, lower load average, better web display, all known Bitmain bugs not present, newer version of cgminer with all related enhancements ... etc etc

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS3

Generic rules don't apply Smiley

do you have anything for c1's?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1053


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 12, 2016, 04:33:37 AM
 #13

If it's an S3, do my update.
Faster miner, lower load average, better web display, all known Bitmain bugs not present, newer version of cgminer with all related enhancements ... etc etc

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS3

Generic rules don't apply Smiley

do you have anything for c1's?
No.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
quadriple7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 07, 2016, 02:36:49 PM
 #14

yes in my opinion you should do that becouse it will work much better .
redukt
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
February 21, 2016, 04:43:18 AM
 #15

If it's an S3, do my update.
Faster miner, lower load average, better web display, all known Bitmain bugs not present, newer version of cgminer with all related enhancements ... etc etc

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS3

Generic rules don't apply Smiley

do you have anything for c1's?

User smit1237 had an update for the C1 which at the very least made the stats page more useful. The site I pulled the update from appears to be offline now however.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!