Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 10:09:39 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Solo mining question  (Read 2823 times)
rothnic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 10:26:10 PM
 #1

I'm sorry if the information is out there but I have done some searching and was unable to find it.

I am trying to setup a solo mining operation between my two computers and my friends 3 computers. I understand that I need to run one of my machines as a server and have the other connect as a client.

My question is, do I need to setup a different rpcuser/rpcpassword for each machine or will they all use the same rpcuser/rpcpassword that I create in the config file? So, only one rpcuser/rpcpassword will exist in bitcoin.conf.

I am using the guiminer if that is needed for any instruction.

Thank you for your time.
1481450979
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450979

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450979
Reply with quote  #2

1481450979
Report to moderator
1481450979
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450979

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450979
Reply with quote  #2

1481450979
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2011, 10:34:20 PM
 #2

I'm sorry if the information is out there but I have done some searching and was unable to find it.

I am trying to setup a solo mining operation between my two computers and my friends 3 computers. I understand that I need to run one of my machines as a server and have the other connect as a client.

My question is, do I need to setup a different rpcuser/rpcpassword for each machine or will they all use the same rpcuser/rpcpassword that I create in the config file? So, only one rpcuser/rpcpassword will exist in bitcoin.conf.

I am using the guiminer if that is needed for any instruction.

Thank you for your time.
Just use the same user/password for all of them, allow access to the RPC server for your local subnet's IP range, and point the miners to the IP of the server.

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
rothnic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 10:41:51 PM
 #3

I'm sorry if the information is out there but I have done some searching and was unable to find it.

I am trying to setup a solo mining operation between my two computers and my friends 3 computers. I understand that I need to run one of my machines as a server and have the other connect as a client.

My question is, do I need to setup a different rpcuser/rpcpassword for each machine or will they all use the same rpcuser/rpcpassword that I create in the config file? So, only one rpcuser/rpcpassword will exist in bitcoin.conf.

I am using the guiminer if that is needed for any instruction.

Thank you for your time.
Just use the same user/password for all of them, allow access to the RPC server for your local subnet's IP range, and point the miners to the IP of the server.


Ok so I will have all the machines using the same rpcuser/rpcpassword and point to the IP of the computer that has the server running. Thank you.

When the server is operational and you can see the Mhash/s in the bottom right, will you be able to see the combined Mhash/s of all the computers (to validate you have mutliple machines contributing) or do you just have to know it's working because you set it up properly?

Thanks again!
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2011, 10:48:45 PM
 #4

The server has no way to know the actual MH/s rate, it is only known by the workers. The server (or mining pool) can only try to estimate it by averaging the time the worker takes to find a share.
Generally speaking: If the workers don't complain about not getting any work, you can usually assume that everything is working correctly.

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
June 07, 2011, 11:02:36 PM
 #5

don't bother solo mining, at this difficulty level, you're probably not going to see a block in over a year.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2011, 11:05:25 PM
 #6

don't bother solo mining, at this difficulty level, you're probably not going to see a block in over a year.
Even with five rigs? Assuming they're decent ones?

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
martok
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 12:05:29 AM
 #7

don't bother solo mining, at this difficulty level, you're probably not going to see a block in over a year.
Even with five rigs? Assuming they're decent ones?
Hmm, I'm not sure what that reply was implying since you didn't post your hashrate. With multiple rigs, there is no reason not to solo mine.
innervisi0nn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Tutorials, guidelines, optimizations for all!


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 12:17:09 AM
 #8

don't bother solo mining, at this difficulty level, you're probably not going to see a block in over a year.

That was uncalled for. How do you know what setup he has?

Hey, right before we hit difficulty 560k, I did 50.05 coins in 5:59 hours. What kind of rigs are you using?
It all depends on your setup my friend.

bcpokey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 12:25:11 AM
 #9

Indeed, uncalled for. I approve of this thread as it is one of few.

There is no real rule for when to go solo, but it seems like it makes sense if you have the Hash to average 1 block < 10 days on average (I'm using 10 days as the close to average time for difficulty increases lately). You may get lucky and find a buncha blocks, you may get unlucky and not find any and be sad, but you should on average find at least 1. And get a big 50 bitcoin surprise!
str4wm4n
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1290


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 01:20:52 AM
 #10

is there a tutorial of how to setup solo with multiple rigs somewhere?
i would really appreciate it!
martok
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 02:38:33 AM
 #11

is there a tutorial of how to setup solo with multiple rigs somewhere?
i would really appreciate it!
Not that I know of. Just pointing miners at your bitcoind will work fine though. For a bit of extra work though, you could make things a touch more efficient. Setup pushpool, create a database and run blkmond on the server. For solo, that gets you long-polling which AFAIK is not present in the current bitcoind server so there is a small window where your miners can be working on stale blocks.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!