Bitcoin Forum
September 24, 2017, 07:35:24 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Connections top out at 8  (Read 1165 times)
dingus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 07, 2011, 10:48:59 PM
 #1

Do I need to forward specific ports other than 8332 in order to get > 8 connections on the bitcoin client? Also, does having more than 8 connections really matter?

ding·us/ˈdiNGgəs/
Noun: Used to refer to something whose name the speaker cannot remember, is unsure of, or is humorously or euphemistically omitting
1506281724
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506281724

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506281724
Reply with quote  #2

1506281724
Report to moderator
1506281724
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506281724

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506281724
Reply with quote  #2

1506281724
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1506281724
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506281724

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506281724
Reply with quote  #2

1506281724
Report to moderator
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 11:56:10 PM
 #2

Yes it does. You are helping the network as other nodes can connect to your client and update their blockchains
Open/forward port 8333
dingus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 08, 2011, 03:50:43 AM
 #3

Interesting...just checked up on my forwarded ports and I've had 8333 open this whole time. Huh

ding·us/ˈdiNGgəs/
Noun: Used to refer to something whose name the speaker cannot remember, is unsure of, or is humorously or euphemistically omitting
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 04:07:33 AM
 #4

Is it forwarding that port to the right(your) IP? If you haven't set a static IP it changes everytime you reboot your computer
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!