Bitcoin Forum
August 19, 2018, 01:41:45 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: can a scrypt "asic" miner using icarus boards be reprogrammed for other algo?  (Read 387 times)
tickershuffle
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 20, 2016, 03:39:54 AM
 #1

My scrypt miner is not effecient enough to profit anymore so i was wondering if the cards inside, icarus fpga boards, can be instructed to run another algo through modifications to the cgminer software.

Thanks for any suggestions.
1534686105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534686105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534686105
Reply with quote  #2

1534686105
Report to moderator
1534686105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534686105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534686105
Reply with quote  #2

1534686105
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1022


View Profile
January 20, 2016, 11:38:08 AM
 #2

In theory, probably yes.

 In practice, most post-Scrypt algorythms seem to require more RAM than FPGAs have available.

 It would take modification to the FIRMWARE IN THE FPGA ITSELF, not just modification to cgminer, to do so.

I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
tickershuffle
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 22, 2016, 01:14:04 AM
 #3

Thanks for your reply. Thats what i figured, but was not sure.

Peace
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!