Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 04:54:06 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Some Avalon6 safety news. (How not to burn a board)  (Read 1255 times)
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
January 21, 2016, 02:47:57 PM
 #1

This thread got sidetracked  So I started a new one.

Let me state for the record.  I misread the wiki posting and believed that a gui under 12.8 was good.

It is bad thus I burned up a board.



Okay  so I like to think I am smart.   Wink

But I certainly found out I am not as smart as I like to think I am.

WHEN I got my first set of Avalon6's from kilo17  I read the wiki and saw the no greater then 12.8 volts allowed info that I highlight below

So I got myself a finksy/j4bberwock dual 2000/4000 psu set it at high with a reading of 12.73 volts
below the 12.8 mentioned by avalon6 wiki as the max input voltage.


I did not research it much more then that.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon6

2015-11-24
Version 601511-f4f59c70
Update Core test check rules
Update Input voltage check rules (Input voltage should not >= 12.8V)  >   I was under this number 12.73
Fix result when run test scripts

Do not input at this level!!   Go lower then 12.73 volts



If you go to the avalon6 sales page below it mentions the 11.8 to 12.2 volts see blue highlights


Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
1513356846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513356846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513356846
Reply with quote  #2

1513356846
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513356846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513356846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513356846
Reply with quote  #2

1513356846
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
January 21, 2016, 03:01:51 PM
 #2

The high setting on the dual 2000/4000 psu is about 12.75 volts and reads 12.5 or 12.4 in the gui
The setting above burned a board



So the middle setting on the dual 2000/4000 psu is about 12.5 volts  and it reads 12.2 or 12.1 in the gui.



https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon6

if you look here   above  12.2  in the gui is bad.





here is the ½ avalon6 set to low volts 11.8 which reads 11.7   the  hash ing is 1450 and the temps reveal 

1 board at 31 f
1 board at 75 f

hashrate at the pool is 1450



Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
hawkfish007
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 740


View Profile
January 21, 2016, 03:14:47 PM
 #3

I am curious about BlockC's warranty process for high voltage burns, please share your experience.

For quality risers, splitters or 133 CFM fans, please visit my eBay listings,
http://www.ebay.com/sch/hawkfish007/m.html?_ipg=50&_sop=12&_rdc=1
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
January 21, 2016, 03:22:35 PM
 #4

I am curious about BlockC's warranty process for high voltage burns, please share your experience.

well I will  I just pm'd


I also wrote this up for two reasons.

1) I am hoping for a break in the replacement price

2) I WANT IT TO BE CLEAR WHAT A SAFE VOLTAGE IS!!!!


The wiki had under 12.80 volts in one spot  

The wiki had 12.2 volts or under in another spot.

Not clear enough.


SO CLEAR IS :      THE GUI NUMBER NEEDS TO BE 12.2 VOLTS OR LESS


If you look at all the write ups I did on the finksy/j4bberwock dual 2000/4000  

 I wrote time and time again how the avalon6 would do 3900gh on high volts  which was 12.73 volts to 12.75 volts  from the psu  and 12.5 12.4 on the gui.


  So people need to know the high setting on the finksy/j4bberwock  is too high  and any input setting of 12.7 volts   can result in a gui reading of 12.3 or 12.4 or 12.5 volts  which in turn can burn a board out.





Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
PassThePopcorn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 179


View Profile
January 21, 2016, 04:12:02 PM
 #5

I am curious about BlockC's warranty process for high voltage burns, please share your experience.

well I will  I just pm'd


I also wrote this up for two reasons.

1) I am hoping for a break in the replacement price

2) I WANT IT TO BE CLEAR WHAT A SAFE VOLTAGE IS!!!!


The wiki had under 12.80 volts in one spot  

The wiki had 12.2 volts or under in another spot.

Not clear enough.


SO CLEAR IS :      THE GUI NUMBER NEEDS TO BE 12.2 VOLTS OR LESS


If you look at all the write ups I did on the finksy/j4bberwock dual 2000/4000  

 I wrote time and time again how the avalon6 would do 3900gh on high volts  which was 12.73 volts to 12.75 volts  from the psu  and 12.5 12.4 on the gui.


  So people need to know the high setting on the finksy/j4bberwock  is too high  and any input setting of 12.7 volts   can result in a gui reading of 12.3 or 12.4 or 12.5 volts  which in turn can burn a board out.





Taken directly from the wiki under PSU requirements
Quote
PSU requirements:
    Minimum 1100W output, recommend to use high-quality PSU for server
with more than 1200W output and high quality power cable.
    Input voltage no lower than 11.7V and no higher than 12.2V (numbers
take from the controller)
    Lower voltage leads to lower hashrate and higher voltage leads to
possible device burning down.
    NOTICE: Poor quality cable may result in low voltage.

This piece here from the MM update changelog means that they implemented a check to determine if the input voltage equals or exceeds 12.8V. I think there were a few people who posted screenshots of their ui's where the input voltage was 12.8 or 12.9 with no errors.
Quote
Update Input voltage check rules (Input voltage should not >= 12.8V)
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
January 21, 2016, 04:31:34 PM
 #6

I am curious about BlockC's warranty process for high voltage burns, please share your experience.

well I will  I just pm'd


I also wrote this up for two reasons.

1) I am hoping for a break in the replacement price

2) I WANT IT TO BE CLEAR WHAT A SAFE VOLTAGE IS!!!!


The wiki had under 12.80 volts in one spot  

The wiki had 12.2 volts or under in another spot.

Not clear enough.


SO CLEAR IS :      THE GUI NUMBER NEEDS TO BE 12.2 VOLTS OR LESS


If you look at all the write ups I did on the finksy/j4bberwock dual 2000/4000  

 I wrote time and time again how the avalon6 would do 3900gh on high volts  which was 12.73 volts to 12.75 volts  from the psu  and 12.5 12.4 on the gui.


  So people need to know the high setting on the finksy/j4bberwock  is too high  and any input setting of 12.7 volts   can result in a gui reading of 12.3 or 12.4 or 12.5 volts  which in turn can burn a board out.





Taken directly from the wiki under PSU requirements
Quote
PSU requirements:
    Minimum 1100W output, recommend to use high-quality PSU for server
with more than 1200W output and high quality power cable.
    Input voltage no lower than 11.7V and no higher than 12.2V (numbers
take from the controller)
    Lower voltage leads to lower hashrate and higher voltage leads to
possible device burning down.
    NOTICE: Poor quality cable may result in low voltage.

This piece here from the MM update changelog means that they implemented a check to determine if the input voltage equals or exceeds 12.8V. I think there were a few people who posted screenshots of their ui's where the input voltage was 12.8 or 12.9 with no errors.
Quote
Update Input voltage check rules (Input voltage should not >= 12.8V)




  and that is the lack of clarity   oh my input is 12.73 I am good ,  is not true  if you have 15 awg wires   as you do not drop to a gui of 12.2


 which was my case 12.73 from the psu dropped to 12.5 on the gui = burned board

I will be the first to say if read really closely  I could have picked up the  inconsistent issue.  


But I missed that   under 12.8 is only good if the gui drops to 12.2  which is what they meant to say.,


anyway still waiting on a rma answer from block_c

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
PassThePopcorn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 179


View Profile
January 21, 2016, 04:42:16 PM
 #7



  and that is the lack of clarity   oh my input is 12.73 I am good ,  is not true  if you have 15 awg wires   as you do not drop to a gui of 12.2


 which was my case 12.73 from the psu dropped to 12.5 on the gui = burned board

I will be the first to say if read really closely  I could have picked up the  inconsistent issue.  


But I missed that   under 12.8 is only good if the gui drops to 12.2  which is what they meant to say.,


anyway still waiting on a rma answer from block_c
I am not saying what they will or will not do, hopefully they can work something out for a reduced cost or out of warranty replacement for the damaged board. I am just stating it was very clear on the wiki under the PSU requirements

Input voltage no lower than 11.7V and no higher than 12.2V (numbers
take from the controller) Lower voltage leads to lower hashrate and higher voltage leads to possible device burning down.


The part that I might have not mentioned was this
Follow up on under volt. The gear will run as low as 9.6 volts .

The problem is smart speed it comes enabled so  no matter what you set volts at smart speed  lowers the hash rate to make no hardware errors.

Some one with good ssh skills will need to get in and figure out how to turn off smart speed.


the gear does over clock if you set your psu to 13 volts it does over 4000gh

Thanks for sharing!  What does watts used look like when hitting 4000 GH, that is a decent OC from 3.5.

That is a 14 percent overclock.  So better then a lot of machines as far as OC with your nice PSU.

13 volts let me do 4000gh  all via smartspeed  which means  it overrides the 500 freq max.
I read somewhere you said you did over volt the unit past 12.8, which is why I thought you were way too high.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
January 21, 2016, 06:20:51 PM
 #8



  and that is the lack of clarity   oh my input is 12.73 I am good ,  is not true  if you have 15 awg wires   as you do not drop to a gui of 12.2


 which was my case 12.73 from the psu dropped to 12.5 on the gui = burned board

I will be the first to say if read really closely  I could have picked up the  inconsistent issue.  


But I missed that   under 12.8 is only good if the gui drops to 12.2  which is what they meant to say.,


anyway still waiting on a rma answer from block_c
I am not saying what they will or will not do, hopefully they can work something out for a reduced cost or out of warranty replacement for the damaged board. I am just stating it was very clear on the wiki under the PSU requirements

Input voltage no lower than 11.7V and no higher than 12.2V (numbers
take from the controller) Lower voltage leads to lower hashrate and higher voltage leads to possible device burning down.


The part that I might have not mentioned was this
Follow up on under volt. The gear will run as low as 9.6 volts .

The problem is smart speed it comes enabled so  no matter what you set volts at smart speed  lowers the hash rate to make no hardware errors.

Some one with good ssh skills will need to get in and figure out how to turn off smart speed.


the gear does over clock if you set your psu to 13 volts it does over 4000gh

Thanks for sharing!  What does watts used look like when hitting 4000 GH, that is a decent OC from 3.5.

That is a 14 percent overclock.  So better then a lot of machines as far as OC with your nice PSU.

13 volts let me do 4000gh  all via smartspeed  which means  it overrides the 500 freq max.
I read somewhere you said you did over volt the unit past 12.8, which is why I thought you were way too high.

I am not sure why I put 13 but if you go to the actual tests thread and do not use the notlist3d thread you can see I mention the 12.8 and not the 13 I also mention testing at the fast speeds.

I was doing that set of tests with the mean well 1500 psu and may have had issues reading voltages it was able to be set to 13.1 or so. But the tests did show gui of under 12.8

The gui under 12.3 shows up in later wiki info.

All besides the point of the thread.  Which is how not to burn your avalon6 boards.

Simple make sure the gui reads under 12.3 volts

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!