Bitcoin Forum
May 04, 2024, 11:26:05 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to install Armory on Raspberry pi 2 (Raspbian)?  (Read 2218 times)
harm12312 (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 22, 2016, 10:31:59 AM
 #1

Dear all, I have tried to install Armory on my Raspberry pi to keep it as an offline wallet but I have not succeeded and I am in need of help. I am new to bitcoins and would rate myself a "beginner" linux user. So the question is simple: how do I get Armory to run on my Raspberry pi 2 running Raspbian, from SCRATCH?

This is what i did, summarized in 10 steps:

1. I downloaded the tar.gz file (armory_0.93.2_raspbian-armhf.tar.gz). And I unpacked it.
2. I unpacked the contents to their correct paths (/usr/bin, /usr/lib/ usr/share).
3. Ah, I saw it already has a binary, i thought: "nice". So I go to /usr/bin, and run execute it: $ ./armory
4. This gives a python error: the package "PSUtil" is missing.
5. So i installed it first running $ sudo apt-get install build-essential python-dev python-pip, then: $ sudo pip install psutil, then i checked it: $ sudo python -c "import psutil". This gave no warnings or errors.
6. I retried to run it, then I get this new error message:

pi@raspberrypi /usr/bin $ ./armory
(ERROR) ArmoryUtils.py:1174 - Error getting system details:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/armory/armoryengine/ArmoryUtils.py", line 1172, in <module>
    SystemSpecs = GetSystemDetails()
  File "/usr/lib/armory/armoryengine/ArmoryUtils.py", line 1167, in GetSystemDetails
    out.HddAvailB = getHddSize(BTC_HOME_DIR)    / (1024**3)
  File "/usr/lib/armory/armoryengine/ArmoryUtils.py", line 1164, in getHddSize
    s = os.statvfs(adir)
OSError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/home/pi/.bitcoin/'
(ERROR) ArmoryUtils.py:1175 - Skipping.
(ERROR) Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/armory/ArmoryQt.py", line 7140, in <module>
    import qt4reactor
ImportError: No module named qt4reactor

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/armory/ArmoryQt.py", line 7140, in <module>
    import qt4reactor
ImportError: No module named qt4reactor

7. When I execute it as sudo, I get a shorter and different error log:

pi@raspberrypi /usr/bin $ sudo ./armory
(ERROR) ArmoryUtils.py:1174 - Error getting system details:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/armory/armoryengine/ArmoryUtils.py", line 1172, in <module>
    SystemSpecs = GetSystemDetails()
  File "/usr/lib/armory/armoryengine/ArmoryUtils.py", line 1167, in GetSystemDetails
    out.HddAvailB = getHddSize(BTC_HOME_DIR)    / (1024**3)
  File "/usr/lib/armory/armoryengine/ArmoryUtils.py", line 1164, in getHddSize
    s = os.statvfs(adir)
OSError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/root/.bitcoin/'
(ERROR) ArmoryUtils.py:1175 - Skipping.
Client is not authorized to connect to ServerArmoryQt.py: cannot connect to X server :2

8. I am now stuck, there is already a qt4reactor.py in /usr/lib/armory/. Just to try, I also manually installed ALL the dependencies:

G++: sudo apt-get install g++: done (already on it)
Crypto++: sudo apt-get install libcrypto++-dev: done
SWIG: sudo apt-get install swig: done
Python: sudo apt-get install python-dev: done (needed to run sudo apt-get update first!)
Python Twisted: sudo apt-get install python-twisted: done
PyQt4:
sudo apt-get install libqtcore4: done (already on it)
sudo apt-get install libqt4-dev: done
sudo apt-get install python-qt4: done
sudo apt-get install pyqt4-dev-tools: done

9. This didnt change anything since I am not building from source i guess? But i gave it a try anyways.

10. So, am I on the right track here? Any solutions? There is little help on the website for people like me, and its a bit odd i run into problems like this?.....

Thank you so much for all the help.
1714865165
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714865165

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714865165
Reply with quote  #2

1714865165
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
Carlton Banks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3430
Merit: 3071



View Profile
January 22, 2016, 11:47:29 AM
 #2

You've covered all the dependency issues that typically come up on Debian with steps 5 & 8, but the ARM build might have different/other typical issues.

One error is the complaint about a lack of a /.bitcoin in the home directory of the executing user, possibly creating that directory might yield more details in subsequent error messages? Also, see if you can get Armory Offline working.

Vires in numeris
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3668
Merit: 1345

Armory Developer


View Profile
January 22, 2016, 07:01:37 PM
 #3

Do not run Armory as su.

You're missing Python twisted dependencies, most likely zope.interface. You're also possibly missing some PyQt4 dependency too.


AussieHash
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 23, 2016, 08:21:28 AM
 #4

https://github.com/aussiehash/Bitcoin-for-SBC/blob/master/start.sh#L134
harm12312 (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 23, 2016, 08:01:24 PM
 #5

Dear all

Thank you for your helpful suggestions and comments. I am currently working on it, I will let you know.

I just ran the script from AussieHash on a fresh install of Raspbian Jessie (the raspbian versions since November 2015). But either I don't know what to do afterwards, or something went wrong, because I DO NOT see Armory in my software list........ I do see Electrum though

I will be back with more info on my progress soon
harm12312 (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 23, 2016, 11:02:27 PM
 #6

Dear AussieHash,

Unfortunately, your script did not help me. I installed a fresh Raspbian Jessie on an 8 GB SD card. I enabled SSH and tightVNCserver to access my Pi via my network (no keyboard/monitor attached). Might that be the problem??

Then I ran your script. First I selected option 1 (upgrade/update), then option 5 (Armory). The script resulted in errors and Armory was NOT installed. There is no '/usr/lib/armory' folder. Here is the response I get in the terminal. To shorten it, I skip text with writing ".., .., ..".

TERMINAL RESPONSE: ==================================================================================================

Enter selection: 1

..
..
..

Enter selection: 5

Installing armory Raspberry Pi bundle
--2016-01-23 22:02:11--
Resolving s3.amazonaws.com (s3.amazonaws.com)... 54.231.17.248
Connecting to s3.amazonaws.com (s3.amazonaws.com)|54.231.17.248|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 22970522 (22M) [application/x-tar]
Saving to: ‘armory_0.93.3_rpi_bundle.tar.gz’

armory_0.93.3_rpi_bundle.tar.g 100%[====================================================>]  21.91M   639KB/s   in 25s   

2016-01-23 22:02:37 (883 KB/s) - 'armory_0.93.3_rpi_bundle.tar.gz' saved [22970522/22970522]

..
..
..

Untar.gz
Executing: "gksudo dpkg -i *.deb"
Client is not authorized to connect to Server
(gksudo:10134): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: :2.0
Executing: "gksudo "tar -zxf armory_0.93.3_raspbian-armhf.tar.gz -C /""
Client is not authorized to connect to Server
(gksudo:10136): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: :2.0
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "Install_DblClick_RunInTerminal.py", line 33, in <module>
    open(deskfile,'w').write("""
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/root/Desktop/armory.desktop'
Reading package lists... Done

..
..
..

Correcting privileges for ODROID C1/ubuntu 14.04
chmod: cannot access '/usr/lib/armory/qt4reactor.py': No such file or directory

Press Enter to continue
AussieHash
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 24, 2016, 02:59:42 AM
Last edit: January 24, 2016, 06:29:34 AM by AussieHash
 #7

Dear AussieHash,

Unfortunately, your script did not help me. I installed a fresh Raspbian Jessie on an 8 GB SD card. I enabled SSH and tightVNCserver to access my Pi via my network (no keyboard/monitor attached). Might that be the problem??

I think so, plug in a HDMI monitor and USB keyboard/mouse and try again.

*edit : 8GB will probably not have enough space to build / install everything on the script. Building libraries lke cython take quite a bit of space.
harm12312 (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 24, 2016, 10:19:42 AM
 #8

Thank you for the fast response. Interesting! I will try again with a keyboard and monitor directly attached to the Raspberry Pi.

I also found out I can find Armory and Electrum directly with apt-get. When I do that, Armory installs correctly..... Although it then installs version 0.92 instead of the latest 0.93.

$ sudo apt-get install armory
(and $ sudo apt-get install electrum)

Thank you for the help
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!