Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 12:58:03 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: britcoin gone?  (Read 3212 times)
barwench
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile WWW
June 08, 2011, 08:08:00 AM
 #1

did britcoin just drop off the net? I was using it this morning but its just turned into a parking page in the last few minutes...!
1481374683
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374683

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374683
Reply with quote  #2

1481374683
Report to moderator
1481374683
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374683

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374683
Reply with quote  #2

1481374683
Report to moderator
1481374683
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374683

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374683
Reply with quote  #2

1481374683
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481374683
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374683

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374683
Reply with quote  #2

1481374683
Report to moderator
1481374683
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374683

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374683
Reply with quote  #2

1481374683
Report to moderator
1481374683
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374683

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374683
Reply with quote  #2

1481374683
Report to moderator
piggybank
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48

www.solidi.co - UK GBP P2P Exchange


View Profile WWW
June 08, 2011, 08:23:32 AM
 #2

Yeap, I just saw that parking page too. The one with the girl with backpack.

It was up and down last night too. This is not looking good.

Solidi Digital Currency Exchange - https://www.solidi.co - Buy & Sell Bitcoins in GBP in under a minute.
Tunes0710
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29



View Profile
June 08, 2011, 08:38:33 AM
 #3

It could just be a routing issue

Pinging www.britcoin.co.uk [69.64.147.243] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 4.79.170.2: Destination net unreachable.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Or.. could be something has gone screwy with the DNS

 Relevant dates:
         Registered on: 17-Mar-2011
         Renewal date:  17-Mar-2013
         Last updated:  08-Jun-2011

Now registered to someone not in the UK? (I was sure that the owner of britcoin was uk based...)

Sultan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 214


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 08:59:21 AM
 #4

Britcoin IS UK-based as you can do an instant-bank transfer to top up your account.

Could this be a DDoS attack? Or simply because loads of people are accessing the site?

http://images.onbux.com/banner.gif
I then use the money to buy BitCoins. You can too!
noodles
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 09:13:05 AM
 #5

Sorry if this is the wrong place to ask but what's the best/easiest route for someone in the UK to get started with bitcoins?

I read about bitcoin when they were like $1 but never got into it because the whole buying process seemed shady & not UK-friendly... and now feel a bit of a fool. Wouldn't mind buying a few even now but still find the whole process pretty difficult.

I'm guessing this britcoin thing was/is the way to go? What are the alternatives? Is there a thread on this site somewhere with an FAQ or maybe just list of ways to buy easily from the UK?
realnowhereman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
June 08, 2011, 09:24:49 AM
 #6

The domain has been hijacked.  The server is still available, but you'll have to do a bit of work.  Here's a description of what I did, and what you should do to get in.

I went to netcraft and typed in britcoin.co.uk.  That got me the IP address as of an hour ago, 75.101.180.111

I wrote this in a (DOS line endings) file:

Code:
GET / HTTP/1.1
Host: britcoin.co.uk

And ran this:

Code:
$ nc 75.101.180.111 80 < request.txt

That got me a reasonable HTTP response, redirecting me to https://britcoin.co.uk.  Of course that redirect doesn't work because the domain is busted.  So, I went to https://75.101.180.111/ and got most of the Britcoin site.

I couldn't log in as yet, because Google's openID implementation gives back a different ID based on the referer address in the OpenID request.

It's all looking good then.  The solution is simply to fake the DNS record that you need.

Go to your /etc/hosts file and add this line:

Code:
75.101.180.111 britcoin.co.uk

Everything should then work as normal.

Getting you access to your coins and cash has got to be worth a tip right?  Wink  5% of what I saved you to the address below too cheeky?  Okay, let's call it a beer if we ever meet.

1AAZ4xBHbiCr96nsZJ8jtPkSzsg1CqhwDa
ptd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 09:29:23 AM
 #7

See the thread starting here for more details.
juilla
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 09:30:45 AM
 #8

does that hosts change work, realnowhereman?
because i have muchlots tied up in britcoin Sad
Caesium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 548


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 09:33:27 AM
 #9

Yes, it works, and the site is still fully functional.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
Bit_Happy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


A Great Time to Start Something!


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 09:35:06 AM
 #10

Strange days...

15DYJpWJe9H1YofsNQbP9JEWWNn7XPZgbS
realnowhereman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
June 08, 2011, 09:36:23 AM
 #11

does that hosts change work, realnowhereman?
because i have muchlots tied up in britcoin Sad

Yes.  I'm in and working as normal.

Looks like someone beat me to the solution over in that other thread though :-)

1AAZ4xBHbiCr96nsZJ8jtPkSzsg1CqhwDa
sortedmush
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


The geek shall inherit the earth.


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 09:39:13 AM
 #12

Could this fix be confusing things on genjix's end if he's trying to sort some problem out?
realnowhereman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
June 08, 2011, 09:47:34 AM
 #13

His problems are with his domain; there's not much can be done on the actual server hosting britcoin.

In fact, given how hard it is to get domains back, I suspect that britcoin.co.uk is going to be gone forever.  His best bet will be to register a new domain and get the word out fast.

And then take better care of it... like say writing "domain expires" in his diary.

1AAZ4xBHbiCr96nsZJ8jtPkSzsg1CqhwDa
thirdlight
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 281



View Profile
June 08, 2011, 09:51:21 AM
 #14

Domain was due to expire 17 March 2013. It's records have been "updated" today.

Someone has changed the nameservers associated with the domain, presumably fraudulently, presumably for their own gain.
realnowhereman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
June 08, 2011, 09:53:22 AM
 #15

Domain was due to expire 17 March 2013. It's records have been "updated" today.

Someone has changed the nameservers associated with the domain, presumably fraudulently, presumably for their own gain.

Well that's entirely forgiveable.  No one can be held responsible for that.

Best of luck to the owner getting his domain back.

Best thing we can all do now is tell everyone who might be a user of britcoin but not a member of these forums that there is nothing to panic about.  Their money is safe; the site will come back in time.

1AAZ4xBHbiCr96nsZJ8jtPkSzsg1CqhwDa
Sultan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 214


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 09:57:13 AM
 #16

Thanks to the dude who gave the ip address for the Britcoin site. It's worked well for me too.

http://images.onbux.com/banner.gif
I then use the money to buy BitCoins. You can too!
thirdlight
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 281



View Profile
June 08, 2011, 09:58:57 AM
 #17

Panic over...

See http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=4984.msg184343#msg184343
genjix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 12:43:39 PM
 #18

We are really sorry for these delays. We are working full time to get this fixed. We have just moved servers and in the future we will be moving bank accounts. Although we are having some delays now, these switches are all being done to increase site security and to be able to seemlessly scale with future volume.

Thank you for your patience.
hamdi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:34:30 PM
 #19

better switch to namecoin domains...

genjix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 10:21:29 PM
 #20

Britcoin is coming back up after a lot of testing. Also, the mininum transaction level will be siginifantly lowered in a matter of minutes. The bids will be matching imminently as well.

We will be daily processing withdaws and deposits from now on.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!