Bitcoin Forum
September 24, 2018, 04:40:26 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin 0.12 release  (Read 11008 times)
mmortal03
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1732
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 12, 2016, 02:31:55 AM
 #61

So when we expect this 0.12.0 release to be officially available?

Meanwhile classic gained ground, now they are 14% (830 nodes) of the total number of nodes.


RC4 or RC5 will be out soon, some additional bugs were discovered and taken care of.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537764026
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537764026

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537764026
Reply with quote  #2

1537764026
Report to moderator
1537764026
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537764026

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537764026
Reply with quote  #2

1537764026
Report to moderator
1537764026
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537764026

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537764026
Reply with quote  #2

1537764026
Report to moderator
mmortal03
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1732
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 12, 2016, 02:32:51 AM
 #62

Does it make any sense at all to think about paying folks running full nodes (with or without all old blocks) even if they aren't mining?

So, running a full node is the only way to use Bitcoin in its most trustless form. But there's nothing stopping people from, say, running a full client to achieve this trustlessness, but still turning off the accepting of incoming connections so save bandwidth; well, that is, until *everyone* else decides to do the same, and then there isn't anyone left running an archival node from which to download the blockchain.

Full nodes enforce the consensus rules.  But even miners aren't directly incentivized to run their own full nodes. However, miners and businesses may rely on particular behavior from custom full node features that they may want to make use of, so they will often be incentivized to run their own full nodes for this purpose.
Jet Cash
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1008
Merit: 1216


I don't merit Spambies


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2016, 11:03:51 AM
 #63

The two disadvantages to running a full node seem to be storage and bandwidth (unless you run some cpu intensive programs). Storage isn't really a problem with modern hard drives. So bandwidth seems to be the big disincentive. At the moment I'm running a full node for around eight hours a day with no inbound connections. This is part of my mobile computing research. Hopefully, this is of some samll benefit to the Bitcoin system.

TierNolan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1001


View Profile
February 12, 2016, 03:04:34 PM
 #64

No, only 0.12+ because the sendHeaders message does not exist prior to 0.12.

It should fallback to inv messages in that case.  Is there a reason for not doing that?

1LxbG5cKXzTwZg9mjL3gaRE835uNQEteWF
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1654


3F1Y9yquzvY6RWvKbw2n2zeo9V5mvBhADU


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2016, 03:15:14 PM
 #65

No, only 0.12+ because the sendHeaders message does not exist prior to 0.12.

It should fallback to inv messages in that case.  Is there a reason for not doing that?
Not sure. That is just what I understood from the release notes and the bip. I suppose a more definitive answer could be gotten by looking at the code.

TierNolan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1001


View Profile
February 12, 2016, 03:25:41 PM
 #66

Not sure. That is just what I understood from the release notes and the bip. I suppose a more definitive answer could be gotten by looking at the code.

It could just be that they assume that most will update reasonably quickly.  Once most people are using 0.12, pruning nodes will be connected to 0.12 nodes anyway.

It looks like they have a "revert to inv" flag which is set if the node doesn't prefer headers.

https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/blob/master/src/main.cpp#L5411

The only thing the fPruneMode flag does is stop it going back to far when sending blocks.  So, I guess, nevermind then Smiley.

1LxbG5cKXzTwZg9mjL3gaRE835uNQEteWF
Karartma1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1063


Be Revolutionary Or Die Trying


View Profile WWW
February 13, 2016, 09:48:22 AM
 #67

This could be the greatest plus thing we need and then I would be more than happy in contributing again.
When you talk about future, how far is this future? thanks  Wink
I think it would be done now, if not for all the drama in the last year.

In 0.12 you can run a pruned node and you'll at least relay blocks on the tip.

I hope to see more sophistication maybe towards then end of the year; I'm hesitant to give any concrete numbers in the current climate.

In any case something like theymos said sound awesome to me, maybe because I first heard the word Bitcoin linked to Bittorrent (I don't even remember how and when).
Don't worry about giving some dates, no rush. Let the talking continue. Thanks

I am not interested in preserving the status quo; I want to overthrow it. Niccolò Machiavelli
watashi-kokoto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 253



View Profile
February 14, 2016, 01:26:42 PM
 #68

We tested rc5 on Debian. it seems to work ok
MedaR
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1021


Horizen Team


View Profile WWW
February 15, 2016, 07:30:19 AM
 #69

Can someone please post Bitcoin.conf? I'm not sure how this must look like now.
I'm interested for prune mode..I don't want synchronization 7 years..
as i understood this is gonna take about 2 gb space on hd, is this stable and safe?

I have downloaded version for Windows , 32 bit.
https://bitcoin.org/bin/bitcoin-core-0.12.0/

H
                 
                    ░░░                 
            ░▒█████████████▓░           
          ▓███████████████████▓         
        ▓█████████▓▓▒▓▓▓████▓░         
      ▒███████▒           ░             
     ▓█████▓░                     ░▒   
    ▓█████▒    ░▓███████▓▒        ░▓▓▒ 
   ░█████░   ░█████████████▒    ▒▓▒▒▓░
   █████▒   ░███████████████▓    ▓▒▒▒▓  
   █████    █████████████████░   ▒▓▒▒▓░ 
  ░████▓   ░██████████▓▓▓▓▓███   ░▓▒▒▓░ 
  ▒████▓   ▒████▓▒░              ░▓▒▒▓░
   █████ ░███▓░   ░▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓    ▒▓▒▒▓░
   ████████▓  ▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▒▒▒▓▒▓▓░    ▓▒▒▓▓ 
   ░██████   ░▓█▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░    ▓▓▒▒▓░ 
    ▓███▒       ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒░     ▓▓▒▓▓▒   
     ▓█                      ▒▓▓▒▓▓▒   
              ░           ░▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▒     
           ░▒▓▓▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒       
          ░███▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒         
             ░▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒▒            
                         
R I Z E N
.......White Paper....... .......Node System and Sidechains....... .......Help Desk.......





 
   


   
 
   
7788bitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000


Presale Starting May 1st


View Profile
February 15, 2016, 08:02:08 AM
 #70

Can someone post please Bitcoin.conf? I'm not sure how this must look like now.
I'm interested for prune mode..I don't want synchronization 7 years..
as i understood this is gonna take about 2 gb space on hd, is this stable and safe?

I have downloaded version for Windows , 32 bit.
https://bitcoin.org/bin/bitcoin-core-0.12.0/


Just create a shortcut with the "Target" changed to "C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin-qt.exe -prune=8000" (as an example). Just adding the "-prune=8000" at the end. 8000 means 8GB.

By the way, you will still need to download the entire 50GB blockchain, and the software prune the chain as it is being downloaded.

     ▄▄██▄▄
 ▄▄██████████▄▄
████████████████
████████████████
█████▀▀  ▀▀█████
█▀▀          ▀▀█
     ▄▄██▄▄
 ▄▄██████████▄▄
████████████████
████████████████
████████████████
████████████████
████████████████
████████████████
████████████████
████████████████
████████████████
████████████████
 ▀▀██████████▀▀
     ▀▀██▀▀
INVESTA     ▄▄██▄▄
 ▄▄██████████▄▄
████████████████
████████████████
█████▀▀  ▀▀█████
█▀▀          ▀▀█
     ▄▄██▄▄
 ▄▄██████████▄▄
████████████████
████████████████
████████████████
████████████████
████████████████
████████████████
████████████████
████████████████
████████████████
████████████████
 ▀▀██████████▀▀
     ▀▀██▀▀
MedaR
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1021


Horizen Team


View Profile WWW
February 15, 2016, 08:57:14 AM
 #71

Can someone post please Bitcoin.conf? I'm not sure how this must look like now.
I'm interested for prune mode..I don't want synchronization 7 years..
as i understood this is gonna take about 2 gb space on hd, is this stable and safe?

I have downloaded version for Windows , 32 bit.
https://bitcoin.org/bin/bitcoin-core-0.12.0/


Just create a shortcut with the "Target" changed to "C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin-qt.exe -prune=8000" (as an example). Just adding the "-prune=8000" at the end. 8000 means 8GB.

By the way, you will still need to download the entire 50GB blockchain, and the software prune the chain as it is being downloaded.
The name  "C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin-qt.exe -prune=8000" specified in the Target box is not valid.Make sure..

But i also need to download entire blockchain so i have much time to figur it out. Very stupid from me.

H
                 
                    ░░░                 
            ░▒█████████████▓░           
          ▓███████████████████▓         
        ▓█████████▓▓▒▓▓▓████▓░         
      ▒███████▒           ░             
     ▓█████▓░                     ░▒   
    ▓█████▒    ░▓███████▓▒        ░▓▓▒ 
   ░█████░   ░█████████████▒    ▒▓▒▒▓░
   █████▒   ░███████████████▓    ▓▒▒▒▓  
   █████    █████████████████░   ▒▓▒▒▓░ 
  ░████▓   ░██████████▓▓▓▓▓███   ░▓▒▒▓░ 
  ▒████▓   ▒████▓▒░              ░▓▒▒▓░
   █████ ░███▓░   ░▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓    ▒▓▒▒▓░
   ████████▓  ▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▒▒▒▓▒▓▓░    ▓▒▒▓▓ 
   ░██████   ░▓█▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░    ▓▓▒▒▓░ 
    ▓███▒       ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒░     ▓▓▒▓▓▒   
     ▓█                      ▒▓▓▒▓▓▒   
              ░           ░▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▒     
           ░▒▓▓▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒       
          ░███▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒         
             ░▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒▒            
                         
R I Z E N
.......White Paper....... .......Node System and Sidechains....... .......Help Desk.......





 
   


   
 
   
Thura
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 15, 2016, 04:58:50 PM
 #72

Bitcoin Core 0.12.0 release candidate 5 binaries available:

http://lists.linuxfoundation.org/pipermail/bitcoin-dev/2016-February/012448.html
thejaytiesto
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1004


View Profile
February 15, 2016, 06:05:26 PM
 #73

Bitcoin Core 0.12.0 release candidate 5 binaries available:

http://lists.linuxfoundation.org/pipermail/bitcoin-dev/2016-February/012448.html

Im very tempted to try it by myself because I can't wait to test the increased speed on the software, but I think right now it would be a waste of time for me and I would rather wait. They should be releasing it pretty soon. Hopefully this is the last RC version but I don't mind a bunch of RC versions as long as the final is as solid as possible.
mmortal03
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1732
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 18, 2016, 09:21:58 PM
 #74

Can someone please post Bitcoin.conf? I'm not sure how this must look like now.
I'm interested for prune mode..I don't want synchronization 7 years..
as i understood this is gonna take about 2 gb space on hd, is this stable and safe?

I have downloaded version for Windows , 32 bit.
https://bitcoin.org/bin/bitcoin-core-0.12.0/

You still have to synchronize the full 7 years with a pruned node.
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1654


3F1Y9yquzvY6RWvKbw2n2zeo9V5mvBhADU


View Profile WWW
February 18, 2016, 10:09:07 PM
 #75

Bitcoin 0.12.0 has finally been tagged. The official release should be in a day or two after all of the gitian builds are finished.

pereira4
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1052


View Profile
February 19, 2016, 02:42:46 PM
 #76

Bitcoin 0.12.0 has finally been tagged. The official release should be in a day or two after all of the gitian builds are finished.

I saw the news on reddit, I cant wait to see how fast it is compared to the current release thanks to the improvements.
Actually gmaxwell said that it's done and that version is the final one and that if there is any problems, they will fix it on 0.12.1

https://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/46f67s/bitcoin_v0120_has_been_tagged_for_release/d05hmkz

But I will wait until its listed here just in case:

https://bitcoin.org/en/bitcoin-core/

So please someone update the website soon.
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 3150
Merit: 3690


View Profile
February 19, 2016, 03:53:41 PM
 #77

But I will wait until its listed here just in case:

https://bitcoin.org/en/bitcoin-core/

So please someone update the website soon.

Bitcoin.org will probably update sometime between today and Monday - I'm not sure when.

If you're really itching to try 0.12.0, I uploaded the binaries here:
https://mega.nz/#F!Q9MUgQZD!Wq44qDAtHzGEvifAxQIZbA

Verify them against the available gitian sigs. (Ie. look at the out_manifest section of the assert files in the gitian.sigs repo, compare those hashes to the files you download, and also gpg-verify the signatures on the assert files.)

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
Watercooler
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 335
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 20, 2016, 09:05:13 AM
 #78

Looking forward upgrading to the final 0.12.0 version, been running the 0.12.0RC versions for several weeks now
without any problems  Smiley


███████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
████████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████▐████
███████████████████████
████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
DECENT
FOUNDATION



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██


[D]ecentralized application
[E]liminated third parties
[C]ontent distribution



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██


[E]ncrypted & secure
[N]o borders
[T]imeless reputation



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██


▓▓▓ BITMIXER.IO ▓▓▓▓▓▓ High Volume Bitcoin MIXER ▓▓▓
jmintuck1912
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 20, 2016, 11:13:11 PM
 #79

Core RC3 is good so far. I am synching right now, and I believe when I launched it, was 7 years and a few weeks behind. 10 minutes later, 5 years behind. SEEMS better at synching now than before.
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1654


3F1Y9yquzvY6RWvKbw2n2zeo9V5mvBhADU


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2016, 11:23:25 PM
 #80

Core RC3 is good so far. I am synching right now, and I believe when I launched it, was 7 years and a few weeks behind. 10 minutes later, 5 years behind. SEEMS better at synching now than before.
Use the latest official release, rc5, or grab a build of the final. You can use Theymos's posted above or use mine at https://github.com/achow101/bitcoin/releases/tag/v0.12.0. Make sure you verify the checksums against the sigs at https://github.com/bitcoin/gitian.sigs.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!