Bitcoin Forum
April 19, 2014, 05:02:37 PM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Error loading blkindex.dat  (Read 4765 times)
Zyphix
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile

Ignore
June 08, 2011, 02:31:09 PM
 #1

Hi I'm new to Bitcoins. After downloading Bitcoin 0.3.22 for Windows yesterday, I had no issues with opening it. However, now when trying to open it, I get the following error in Dutch (I'm Dutch): 'Fout bij laden van bestand blkindex.dat'. The literal translation is 'Error with loading of file blkindex.dat'. How do I fix this?

Thanks in advance,

Zyphix
Buy a Blade, Get a 5-Chip Free!
Start Mining with GAWMiners.com
24/7 Live Phone & Tech Support
Free Hosting & Electricity for 1 Year!

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1397926957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397926957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397926957
Reply with quote  #2

1397926957
Report to moderator
OldChap
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile

Ignore
June 08, 2011, 05:01:47 PM
 #2

I am new too and have this exact same issue.

Answers eagerly awaited

Ok some progress here... c:\users\appdata\roaming\bitcoin deleted and then prog reinstalled allows this to start up...now working on another issue.

finnthecelt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile

Ignore
June 09, 2011, 12:08:32 AM
 #3

I'm having the same issue. I also reinstalled but only to have it do it again. This is the third time now...... I'm using Kiv's gui miner......
finnthecelt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile

Ignore
June 09, 2011, 01:31:21 PM
 #4

Here's what I've discovered with this problem and some of it is speculation.....

My understanding of the blkindex.dat file is that it is a data file that builds upon itself as hash's are solved.

If the process gets interfered with it seems the blkindex file gets deleted, corrupted, or becomes invalid.

I tried uninstalling and reinstalling bitcoin only to have it reproduce itself.

What I noticed was in my power settings I had never changed the defaults. The hard drive was set to shut off after 20 minutes. I am suspecting that is what caused the disconnect between the miner and the dat file.

I changed the power settings to Never shut off the display and Never shut off the hard disks......

Haven't had the problem since but it's only been a day. Considering it happened twice in an hour and it's not now, I'm hopeful.

Hope that helps.
blogospheroid
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 129



View Profile

Ignore
July 03, 2011, 03:01:15 AM
 #5

Hi,

I'm facing the same issue. Have I lost my old bitcoins?

warm regards,
Prakash
Pieter Wuille
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile WWW

Ignore
July 03, 2011, 12:40:21 PM
 #6

blkidex.dat and blk0001.dat only contain the block chain.

If something happens to those files, you can regenerate them from the network itself. Just delete all files in your bitcoin directory except wallet.dat (make a backup though), and restart the client.

aka sipa, core dev team

Tips and donations: 1KwDYMJMS4xq3ZEWYfdBRwYG2fHwhZsipa
Forp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


View Profile

Ignore
July 03, 2011, 01:01:26 PM
 #7

...you can regenerate them from the network itself. Just delete all files in your bitcoin directory except wallet.dat (make a backup though), and restart the client.

Nope. We need a fix for this. It happens to often. "You can..." at the present stage of the project is not very encouraging for new adopters.

It does not seem to be a noobie error. I can reproduce the error on three different windows machines. Since I am hacking my own variant of the reference client on Linux I did not care too much about it but with the activity this thread gets here we need a quick fix. I do not have a working bitcoin compliation environment for windows at present, so I cannot check the reason of this or make a patch myself - but I think the matter is urgent.

rizzn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106



View Profile WWW

Ignore
July 13, 2011, 09:54:06 PM
 #8

...you can regenerate them from the network itself. Just delete all files in your bitcoin directory except wallet.dat (make a backup though), and restart the client.

Nope. We need a fix for this. It happens to often. "You can..." at the present stage of the project is not very encouraging for new adopters.

It does not seem to be a noobie error. I can reproduce the error on three different windows machines. Since I am hacking my own variant of the reference client on Linux I did not care too much about it but with the activity this thread gets here we need a quick fix. I do not have a working bitcoin compliation environment for windows at present, so I cannot check the reason of this or make a patch myself - but I think the matter is urgent.



"You will be able to" sound better?

This seems like a simple fix to code into the program itself, especially since you can easily regenerate your wallet transactions from the network.

If blkindex.dat == "corrupt" then { BackUpTheFile(); DeleteOriginal(); RestartBTC(); }

done. Someone throw that into the repository.  Grin

founding editor for the SiliconANGLE network.
Forp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


View Profile

Ignore
July 13, 2011, 10:35:49 PM
 #9

"You will be able to" sound better?

No.  Sad

"The user does not see it since the system takes care of it automagically" sounds better.  Smiley

done. Someone throw that into the repository.  Grin

Gr8. Exactly. Yes. Please. Ahhhhhh. Deeper!  Wink

Thank you. Sry, would've done it if I had a windows compilation env to check it.



Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!